We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Almost* average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Prescott

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Prescott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Prescott
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1225 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Long Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“*Almost* average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were in town for a few days and wanted an economical place to stay. The front desk guy was pleasant and regretfully informed us when we checked in that; 1.) the room we'd booked was unavailable due to plumbing problems; 2.) no cable or internet because local tree trimmers had cut the wires; and 3.) the ice machine was broken. This before we even saw the room! When we got to our room , it was clean, but there were only two rather thin pillows on a king size bed, and the (one) blanket had some small holes in it. The shower head didn't work right either. Basically it gave a single stream of water. However, there was plenty of hot water, no issues there, and the bathroom was clean. Also, the blackout curtains did keep out the light from the parking lot and the A/C and fan worked fine. Unfortunately the room next door had a family which included several small, noisy, screaming children who were up until close to midnight. This was not within the hotel's control of course, but it did affect our sleep that night and made us realize just how thin the walls are! We heard everything, including bathroom time :-\. The second and third nights we were moved to a type of room we had originally booked, and it was quieter, and the shower head worked better. Overall, a VERY no-frills place, next time if we stay more than one night we'll go to a higher quality place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    12
    13
    6
See reviews for
7
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Kevin was nice. He honored my request for a non-smoking room, even though when booked as an unpublished rate hotel, it's not guaranteed. Room was clean and sort of upgraded looking. Pretty shoddy contractor work...carpet was just short of the wall and frayed edge was visible, paint was fresh but no one bothered to tape it off so it looked like a kid slapped it on. Evidently, the mini fridge is unplugged after each guest, so when we went to use it we had to plug it in...this would have been no big deal, except there was food in it. Tuna and cheese. Honestly, could there have been worse things to be left in an unplugged fridge? It took someone 2 hours to come up and take care of it, and he didn't clean it, just took the food out. Gross. Also...Ice machine was broken, hallways not swept, cigarette butts everywhere. Sorry, Kevin, I wanted to give a good review, but I just couldn't. This place would work in a pinch, I guess. However, we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The price is right, but it may attract the wrong crowd with it. The sheets had cigarette burn holes in them, the bed sloped to one side and was really uncomfortable. The staff was great, helpful and friendly, but there were a lot of noisy guys in the parking lot at 2:30AM and we had to call the front desk asking them to get it handled. They did, thankfully, but needless to say we didn't get a good night's sleep. The cars zoom by loudly all night long, and due to the proximity of the hotel, you're not likely to sleep thru the noise. No in-room coffee maker sucked, we walked to Circle K instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

In comparison to the Econo Lodge we stayed at in Silver city this one has a lot to learn. The previous occupant left a pair of underwear on the floor in the closet that housekeeping overlooked as well as an empty cup on the floor by the night stand. No coffee pot in the room. One towel for each guest. The pool was empty and if you call coffee and Danish break feast. Well it is what it is and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sheldon street lodge is a nice place to stay. It provides a travel with the crucial amenities for budget accommodations; clean, well-appointed rooms, helpful staff, proximity to Prescott attractions. We have stayed here three times in the past year and have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or restraint on premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The econo lodge has new owners. They have a lot of stuff underway in regard to modernizing the facilities. They are really friendly and helpful. Just beware that the advertized continental breakfast is less than a basic continental breakfast: Something like Tang drink, coffee, toast and butter not even a packet of jam. I would suggest the owners put out the jam and some other real juices as a minimum. We changed room from other motel without breakfast, paid quite a bit more and still had to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel staff very nice-but I made the huge mistake of booking on a website's secret hotel deal- ended up with a smoking room and got an instant headache.
Place looks terrible from the street but isn't as bad as it looks.
Would probably have been OK in a nonsmoking room.
The main point of this review is to warn people not to book "secret hotel" (on a popular travel website) unless they don't mind a smoking room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Prescott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Prescott

Address: 1225 E Gurley St, Prescott, AZ 86301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Prescott 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Prescott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Prescott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.