We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripped off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Michael

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Michael to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Michael
205 W. Gurley St., Prescott, AZ 85301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Dewey, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My recent stay was a complete disaster. I celebrated my anneversary there only to come back to my room to find my bag had been stolen out of my room. later the next day my bag had been found in another storage closet of the hotel. Very sad to say this hotel has some very dishonost employees.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smikes, General Manager at Hotel St. Michael, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you feel your bag was removed from your room. It was reported to me that your bag had been found in a hallway, stored in a secure place and reported to front desk personnel who then contacted you and returned the bag to you. I heard of nothing missing from the bag. The Hotel St Michael takes great pride in the honesty of its employees. I truly hope this was just a mishap or misunderstanding and that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    25
    17
    24
See reviews for
25
51
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

You just cannot beat the location of this hotel.. But the fun part is the hotel itself. Yes it's an OLD hotel, So don't expect it to be like new "motel/hotels" . To start with there is the old Timey double door elevator . The rooms are small but very clean. The ceilings are approximately 12 feet high. The bathrooms are small and the showers are completely tiled. The water pressure in the shower is great. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. It's a wonderful place to stay while visiting old town Prescott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are fine, not overloaded with amenities, but clean comfortable and typically historically western. Authentic.

Staff was really nice (also typically western), the building was great (I'm a nut for historic preservation). Breakfast was funny, free for a basic plate or some amount off for anything else on the menu. We used our vouchers for basic plates for the kids and ordered our breakfasts from the menu. The food was excellent!

We'd stay here again, but weren't particularly impressed with Prescott....it's not what I remembered it being. The square seemed depressed and after dusk there were a few unsavory looking characters out. There didn't seem to be ny issues however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Old West History, elegant, and budget friendly. Hotel was rebuilt after a 1901 fire. High ceiling rooms with vintage furnishings. Ceiling fans and window A/C units. Walking distance to everything on the Courthouse Square--galleries, shops, restaurants. No high tech conveniences
except WIFI. Excellent breakfast included in the room price in the Bistro. Free parking in the Granite St Garage behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Square, ask when making reservations-it will cost a bit more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We usually just go with the flow. And that's what we did. This hotel is old, our room was small. It was clean, we had a Whiskey Row street view and was definitely convenient. Price was okay. I think we paid $80 for queen bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel St. Michael on New Years Eve and it was amazing! From the moment you walk through the door, it's like stepping back in time to the Old West! We had a king room with a city view and it was so nice! Even with it being New Years Eve and "The Bootdrop" going on outside, the room was quiet. They are quaint and historic rooms with early 1900's charm. The bed was comfortable, and the rooms are still heated by the boiler! We were cozy and comfortable all night. The original radiator is in the lobby and the old Otis elevetaor is kept to it's prime. We rode it and loved the old cage door! The staff is excellent and so warm and welcoming and extremely knowledgable about the history. You can tell they love to share it with the guests. They even use real room keys! The complimentary breakfast the next morning was to die for! The look and feel of the hotel definitely takes you back to the old west and what it must have been like as the Grande Dame of Whiskey Row. Especially the magnificant staircase! The ballroom is so beautiful. It even has the original tin ceiling! If your looking for the perfect place to spend the night in downtown Prescott, this is the place! The rates are awesome, and it's in the middle of everything! So much fun and a great historic experience!

Room Tip: If you can, be sure to get the Plaza View rooms or the City View Rooms! They are a beautiful view fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First, the good things need to be stated. The location is perfect and especially if you want to do some nighttime hard drinking because it is right by the bars on Whiskey Row in Prescott. It is an old hotel and the rooms are small with a cute dingy, seedy feel. The floors are average and the beds are clean. The bathrooms are sparse with lots of towels. The elevator is real old too. The cable TV works. You almost feel like you are in a Charles Bukowski poem, or a William Burroughs novel.

The soap is at a minimum, the cups are also cheap plastic, and if you want ice, you have to get it at the front desk. At night, a weird security guy patrols the main floor like as if it is a residential building for drunks and junkies. Again, if you like pulp fiction tales or Beat novels this is the place. Do not get the rooms over the bars, or you will not go to sleep until 4 a.m. The hotel offers free breakfasts for the guests from 7-9 a.m. at the Bistro. The egg-sausage-toast-hash brown breakfasts are good and they give lots of coffee. But if you arrive one minute after 9 a.m., you will pay the full expensive price. Get there at 8:30 so you avoid problems. You have to leave the tip even with the free breakfast.

I had a good time - until I received the final receipt. I first got there on a weekday, and I was told a price that seemed fair. I was not told that they raise the prices by 25% for the weekend nights of Friday and Saturday however. I guess these are wealthy drunk specials. This type of nickel and dining always leaves a bad leaving for the guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Michael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Michael

Address: 205 W. Gurley St., Prescott, AZ 85301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Michael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michael
St Michael Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Michael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.