We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cavan, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Historic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A lovely atmosphere in this hotel,makes you want to dress in period costume and swirl around!! Check in was fast friendly. So many beautiful things to admire and photograph. Very friendly staff,very willing to be of help. Kevin in the restaurant was so friendly and helpful, People like him actually make you want to come back. Had the best ever Steak here,cooked to perfection.i shall remember it for a long time, so good ! If I am ever back this way again I will certainly stay here. Very pleasant experience. Thanks all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service that we strive to give to all our guests.
We hope to see you return on another visit.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    138
    50
    28
    18
See reviews for
72
254
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have always wanted to stay at the Hassayampa Inn. I was born and raised in Arizona and finally took the opportunity during my recent visit to Prescott. I knew the hotel would be a wonderful place to stay and I was not disappointed. It was charming, historic, beautiful and the most fun I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: Room I stayed in faced the quaint street toward the downtown square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you June for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This historic hotel has tons of charm, excellent service, beds that are so comfortable and plush - we enjoyed everything about the hotel except for the other guests!

Sadly the walls are thin and our neighbors had TV too loud and argued until 1:00 am. Called the desk and they quieted them down but slamming doors and loud voices continued.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Your critical feedback helps us with continued improved service.
I was sorry to hear about the disturbance in your room. I would be happy to have you contact me at your convenience to discuss. Please feel free to contact me.

Thank you again for letting us know the areas in which we can improve. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Hassayampa Inn is a beautiful Victorian hotel in the heart of Prescott. Located near Whiskey Row, we were delighted with the bars, charming antique stores, ice cream parlors and hamburger joints. The Peacock Room offered delicious meals with impeccable service. The featured entertainment band on Friday night included a pretty blond singing Patsy Cline's "I Fall To Pieces" perfectly. Lots of bang for your buck. Order room service for breakfast, the lemon pancakes are luscious. Ask for extra raspberry sauce. All employees were exceedingly kind and courteous. I've read other reviews that made mention of the hotel being haunted. When we woke up Saturday morning, my husband told me that he didn't sleep a wink. Surprisingly, I didn't either. The ghosts from the past still hang around, I guess. But they're nice ghosts!! We'll be back...

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We were sorry to read that you didn't sleep as well as you could have. :) But are also glad to hear that you will be back.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Yes, this hotel cost's more, but the old gal was worth it. We have a corner room with a King Bed that was really comfortable. The room was nicely appointed with modern and nostalgic furnishings from the late twenties, when it first opened.

If you like a big bathroom, it won't happen in these rooms; remember, the hotel first opened in the 1920's. The vanity was in the room, with the toilet, bathtub/shower in a small closet. The floor and stairs creak, the doors make noise as you open them and the elevator must be run by the front desk. All of the features make the Hassayampa Inn what it is; a great place to drop yourself back nearly a century in time. We simply loved it.

You are with in walking distance to Whiskey Row and other main Prescott attractions. There are concerts every Saturday night in the park just outside the courthouse. You can stay in for dinner, or take that stroll down the main street of old town Prescott without worry.

We will defiantly be back for another stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the third floor and did not hear any street noise nor any noise from those n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the historic hotel. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Imaging entering an 87-year old Victorian Inn in the heart of Prescott, AZ. The music of the 40's
greets you as you feel yourself being transported to another time. You see the beautiful lobby, unspoiled by decades past.
A friendly face welcomes you and you are checked in. But wait, you are on the 4th floor and
you have lots of stuff. A staff member says hello and guides you to a 1920's style, manually ~ operated elevator! Your room is like something from a Bogart film with all the amenities of home. I took my wife there for the "Romance Package". Check it out online. You won't have a better, relaxing, romantic experience. Newly rennovated, they have managed to retain the Victorian charm of this historic treasure. Have fun! By the way, check out my review of the Peacock (dining) Room located in the Inn.

Room Tip: We get Room 404 as it is larger with a sitting room and king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hassayampa Inn! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had such a lovely stay at this hotel! It's historic in every detail and beautifully restored from 1927. It's in the perfect location for enjoying downtown Prescott, and the service is truly first class.

The lobby is beautiful - lots of comfy seating and wonderful antiques: large leather couches and chairs, a cozy fireplace, truly old pianos, even the old switchboard.

The towels are soft, the beds are comfy, the pillows are nice, but this hotel maintains historical accuracy, so if you're a stickler for spacious rooms and marble, it's not going to be your favorite place. The bathrooms are remarkably tiny, the rooms are well-appointed but small, and the hallways are narrow. The elevator is from 1927, so it's wonderful! It does require an operator, so you might have to wait or carry your bags up the stairs.

Service, service service! Every single person seems delighted to be helping you (with a single exception of a rude lady with brown hair, bangs and glasses who worked the front desk in the afternoon on July 11th).

We'll definitely be back, and tell our friends, to boot! We were only sorry we couldn't stay an extra night because we had to get home for work.

What a delightful place to have a wedding! We came here to attend a wedding, which was beautiful! They had the ceremony on the roof of the historical building adjacent to the hotel (aquired by the hotel years ago for this purpose) and the reception inside. There's a nice little dance floor and a lovely patio. The food was wonderful (catered by the Peacock restaurant). There is even a lovely gazebo for photos.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate hearing your account of your stay. We use your valuable feedback to continue our training and raising our service standards.
We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Prescott
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#8 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.