We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent historic hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Save Saved
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent historic hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife had jury duty and she chose to stay here. I came to town and joined her for a night. The place was great. Definitely old and has that historic charm to it. That does mean that there is a hotel elevator that is only operated by hotel staff and you may well need to walk up 1-3 flights of stairs if you do not want to wait. The rooms were well done but small if you compare them to modern standards. Bed was comfortable. Not all rooms have bathtubs, so ask if you want to be sure to have one. My wife had to change rooms since she really did want a bathtub. We tried to get dessert and, while the restaurant had closed, the bar got us access to the dessert selection and a nice glass of port. We got a good deal on the room through an internet deal so that increased our value viewpoint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    115
    45
    28
    18
See reviews for
62
214
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It looks simple from the street but when you walk in the lobby it's amazing. The painted ceiling is beautiful, there's a warm cozy fire. Friendly front desk. They suggested a room on the back as it would be quieter with no street noise and it was perfect. Remember that this is an historic hotel -- don't expect large, ultramodern rooms. Our room was big enough, well-decorated and comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel but the facilities looked lovely. Location is within easy walking distance to the square, restaurants. We stayed 3 nights. It was a pleasant base for exploring the Verde Canyon area and Sedona.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator. Only staff can operate it. Although they are always available, you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very period hotel with the smell of wood patina everywhere. Original but clean and well maintained. Step back in time from the front door to all the furnishings. The restaurant was A1 and breakfast was surprisingly great for a small hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wowing lobby, lots of little framed and showcased pieces of history, very comfortable/updated room with looked like older/authentic furniture in good shape, happy staff...shower stall small was only complaint...very good value...forget the boring chains!...right in heart of downtown but not noisy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I go out of my way to stay here. Every detail is period perfect from the manual elevator, to the roaring fireplace in the lobby. The bar makes me feel like Humphrey Bogart might walk in with Lauren Bacall at any moment. Do not miss the restaurant. The service is always outstanding and the ambiance cannot be beat with etched glass on the doors, high ceilings and a view of life on a very historic street. If you value authentic historical preservation, there is no place like it. Be aware, it was posh in the 1800's, but missing a lot of modern amenities. I would not want it any other way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A visit to Prescott, Arizona, would not be complete without experiencing the Hassayampa Inn, a historical hotel located downtown that opened in 1927. While this is an old hotel, it is very well maintained and most importantly has complimentary wireless as well as a many channel cable television system.

I always enjoy entering the hotel because of the attractive lobby with large stone fireplace that was appreciated on the cold November day when we arrived. The check-in counter is always staffed with very professional and friendly people. Actually that goes for all the staff that we encountered during our recent two night stay.

We learned long ago not to book the standard double as the rooms are simply too small. Their Deluxe rooms offer much greater space, but this time we decided to book a two room suite. What a riot! The suites seem to be all different in their configuration and we enjoyed ours. When you enter Suite 207 you are in a hallway with what appeared to be closets on either side. One closet turned out to be the toilet and the other closet was the shower. I have never showered in a closet before! Our sitting room was separate from the bedroom and both were entered in from the front hallway.

The rooms were both comfortable and the king-size bed, along with the linens was excellent. Televisions were in both rooms. Nothing like opening the windows on a cold Saturday afternoon and enjoying football games in this historical setting.

The signature restaurant of the hotel is The Peacock Room. This is a beautiful dining room that brings one back to an earlier time and is enhanced with an excellent menu and service. We enjoyed both an early morning breakfast and a fun Saturday night dinner in this restaurant.

The only thing missing from this stay was ghosts. I always enjoy running into some spirits when I stay in old historical hotels, and could not find any in this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay away from the standard doubles....too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The customer service at this hotel is excellent but the noise was just too much. From the crazies yelling in the street at 2:30am to the people next door coming in around the same time and deciding it was time to party the noise level was just too much. We would pick a different location next time we go to Payson, not close to Whiskey Row.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Prescott
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#9 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.