We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smell of old wood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The smell of old wood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very period hotel with the smell of wood patina everywhere. Original but clean and well maintained. Step back in time from the front door to all the furnishings. The restaurant was A1 and breakfast was surprisingly great for a small hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    151
    55
    31
    19
See reviews for
78
277
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wowing lobby, lots of little framed and showcased pieces of history, very comfortable/updated room with looked like older/authentic furniture in good shape, happy staff...shower stall small was only complaint...very good value...forget the boring chains!...right in heart of downtown but not noisy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I go out of my way to stay here. Every detail is period perfect from the manual elevator, to the roaring fireplace in the lobby. The bar makes me feel like Humphrey Bogart might walk in with Lauren Bacall at any moment. Do not miss the restaurant. The service is always outstanding and the ambiance cannot be beat with etched glass on the doors, high ceilings and a view of life on a very historic street. If you value authentic historical preservation, there is no place like it. Be aware, it was posh in the 1800's, but missing a lot of modern amenities. I would not want it any other way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A visit to Prescott, Arizona, would not be complete without experiencing the Hassayampa Inn, a historical hotel located downtown that opened in 1927. While this is an old hotel, it is very well maintained and most importantly has complimentary wireless as well as a many channel cable television system.

I always enjoy entering the hotel because of the attractive lobby with large stone fireplace that was appreciated on the cold November day when we arrived. The check-in counter is always staffed with very professional and friendly people. Actually that goes for all the staff that we encountered during our recent two night stay.

We learned long ago not to book the standard double as the rooms are simply too small. Their Deluxe rooms offer much greater space, but this time we decided to book a two room suite. What a riot! The suites seem to be all different in their configuration and we enjoyed ours. When you enter Suite 207 you are in a hallway with what appeared to be closets on either side. One closet turned out to be the toilet and the other closet was the shower. I have never showered in a closet before! Our sitting room was separate from the bedroom and both were entered in from the front hallway.

The rooms were both comfortable and the king-size bed, along with the linens was excellent. Televisions were in both rooms. Nothing like opening the windows on a cold Saturday afternoon and enjoying football games in this historical setting.

The signature restaurant of the hotel is The Peacock Room. This is a beautiful dining room that brings one back to an earlier time and is enhanced with an excellent menu and service. We enjoyed both an early morning breakfast and a fun Saturday night dinner in this restaurant.

The only thing missing from this stay was ghosts. I always enjoy running into some spirits when I stay in old historical hotels, and could not find any in this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay away from the standard doubles....too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The customer service at this hotel is excellent but the noise was just too much. From the crazies yelling in the street at 2:30am to the people next door coming in around the same time and deciding it was time to party the noise level was just too much. We would pick a different location next time we go to Payson, not close to Whiskey Row.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great find in a great town. Desk staff was friendly and helpful-loved the ride in the historic elevator! Room was clean and comfy-the bed was soooo comfortable-best nights sleep of the trip. Very conveniently located to whiskey row and downtown shops. If history is your thing there is lots of historic furniture and photos from the decades to take in. We would stay again on a future visit. Happy travels!
Carpe' diem!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were decided to spoil ourselves and book this hotel on our drive through to Scottsdale. We weren't disappointed. This is a lovely old hotel with quaint rooms and a super comfy bed. The staff fell over themselves to assist us in any way they could. The old elevator can only be operated by a staff member, but we had no problems. There was always an eager, smiling face there when we needed to move our luggage upstairs. Everything in the room was clean and cosy. The hotel is only a short walk to Whiskey Row and shops. We ate dinner at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. Karen at the front desk happily took photo's of us in the beautiful old lobby before we left. Our stay was enjoyable and we would definately go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
3.9 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#17 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Prescott
Residence Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#12 of 22 in Prescott
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prescott
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#8 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.