We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at a charming old hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Save Saved
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Californis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice time at a charming old hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Sept. 17th. It is a charming old hotel with friendly service. No, the room wasn't large but it wasn't all that small either. When you stay in a hotel over eighty years old, why would you expect a large room? Hotels weren't built that way then. You stay here for the ambiance and appreciation of something old, unique and well preserved. If you want modern luxury you should pick a newer hotel. This hotel was comfortable and inviting with a beautifully authentic antique decor in the lobby.The room was clean, updated and charmingly decorated. The bathroom was small but adequate with all the right amentities Everything worked in the room and we had a decent night's sleep. The restaurant was lovely with great food and very friendly service. I couldn't ask for more, except maybe next time I would prefer not to stay in a room next to the front outdoor patio, since it was noisy outside our room until midnight. This hotel is a great location if you want to explore the downdown area and Whiskey Row a few blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    115
    45
    28
    18
See reviews for
62
214
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed there for one night the rooms were so very small and dark. Yes it is historic but we could hardly walk around the bed. The hallway had people coming and going all night had hardly any sleep. The lobby was beautiful, but once you climb the steps and get in the elevator to get to your room not pretty.
We had Christmas breakfast there it was VERY expensive, but good, not great, if you want historic and old and just want to sit by the fire and read a book or the paper this would be the place. STUFFY

Room Tip: Find a different hotel there are alot of really nice hotels in the area for ALOT less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Most of our guests find our historic rooms charming and cozy. I’m sorry that you found your room to be too small. We would have been more than happy to offer an alternative room type had we known of your discomfort. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a charming restored hotel that is on the list of historic hotels. The lobby was very attractive and the food in the dining room was delicious. There were a few steps from the lobby up to the first floor of rooms and then a manually operated elevator to the upper floors. We are not sure how people in wheelchairs would be able to reach the rooms. There may be a way that we did not notice. The staff was helpful in answering our needs. We do advice that you ask to look at your room first. We did not do that and were in a tiny room. It did have everything we needed but was small. Other rooms on our floor were larger as we noticed the next day. The hotel is conveniently placed for walking about the town and we really enjoyed our stay. Like another reviewer, we thought we had reservations for two nights but it was only one. This was our mistake as we booked through an on-line agency. However, the desk clerk (Spencer)was very accommodating in giving us another night when we all recognized the error. Enjoyed the place and the town very much and would like to return some time. By the way, breakfast is not included but the dining room has many choices.

Room Tip: See body of review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us at the Hassayampa Inn. Our historic property has various room types and the sizes of the rooms do vary. If we have availability, we are always happy to accommodate requests for alternative accommodations. Next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to ask! I’m glad that you enjoyed our charming property and your dining experience in our restaurant, The Peacock Room. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Got a room because of a great review by a couple we know. Room looks like it wasn't vacuumed, hair in the bath tub, toilet. Popcorn on floor under the bed. Will not be saying good things about our stay here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I’m sorry that your stay at the Inn did not live up to your expectations. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities, so I was disappointed to learn about the state of your guest room. We are always happy to respond immediately to any concerns regarding our property. We would have relocated you to a more suitable room had we been informed of the situation. I sincerely apologize. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that we have opportunity to welcome you back to the Hassayampa Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Prescott. I made reservations for 2 nights. I received a phone call on the afternoon of the second day from the front desk clerk. He was calling me to remind me that I had left my bags in the room. I informed him that was because I was booked for 2 nights. He said they only had me booked for one night. Upon returning to the hotel my wife asked what the issue was and was told by the front desk clerk ( Spencer ) that we had checked out and left our luggage. He claimed that people leave their luggage all the time. I then showed him my email confirmation for 2 nights and he stated that whom ever checked us in must have made a mistake. Ok not a huge deal but it was his condescending attitude that carried over to the next day when we checked out. Not sure if he knows the definition of customer service. Not once did he make eye contact or acknowledge us with any kind of courtesy. I realize the manager will answer this review with his staple answer and no we will not consider wasting our time nor money again ........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I sincerely apologize about the confusing circumstances surrounding your stay with us. We strive to offer professional service to each of our guests. I’m so sorry that you and your wife were not extended the warm, friendly service that we are typically known for. Thank you for your critical feedback and for taking the time to discuss these issues personally over the phone. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Inn, Everything was perfect: the room, the service, the food, all at a very reasonable price. Prescott is a wonderful, relaxing old west town to visit. Great restaurants, antique shops, hiking, and the Inn is the best location for it all.We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, was quiet and had a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hassayampa Inn— our convenient downtown location is ideal for travelers interested in exploring Prescott’s many activities. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from the Hassayampa Inn, and it was a wonderful, classy, historic hotel. Staff was superb, rooms were lovely and clean, food was delicious. Slightly disappointed that "Faith", the ghost in Room 426, didn't stop by in room 425, where we were. We brought family with us who were visiting from out of the country, and they said they'd like to return there every time they visit us in the future. Our rooms each had a king size bed, with wonderful bedding. Don't hesitate to stay there!

Room Tip: Room 425 is a corner room, king bed, quiet, sunny but has blackout curtains. Sink is in the room; sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Prescott
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#9 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.