We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't spell it....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Save Saved
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't spell it....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in town for one night, we have stayed in Prescott a number of times, but never at this hotel. We had 3 rooms and all were happy with the cleanliness and condition of the rooms. The only problem we had was during checkin one of the rooms reserved, and paid for, was for a double-double. They tried to give us a king. We pulled out a copy of the confirmation and they agreed to honor the original confirmation. Problem solved. We didn't have any problems with the AC nor street noises. The rooms were small but it's to be expected with the older hotels. We loved the look and feel of the lobby and the elevator. We ate breakfast at the Peacock, and although it took awhile in preparation, we were happy with the food and service. If we are ever there for an event we wouldn't mind staying here again. It is in downtown and everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    103
    37
    27
    18
See reviews for
56
194
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the location as it is close to the downtown square. We requested a quiet room and were placed on the 4th floor corner and the room was very nice. Yes, rooms are a little small but what do you expect for a historical hotel? Bed was comfy and air conditioner was central and quiet. There was live music on the patio in the evening and we heard the food is excellent but we decided to eat out. I tend to like rooms that I can open the window for some outside air but the window was nailed closed. It was fun to think about the haunted history of the place and we had a fun time getting spooked a couple of times. We called ahead and got a lot better rate than folks who did not. There is a lot of haunted info on Hassayampa on the internet to look up if your interested in that kind of thing.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got it on the 4th floor corner which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

my husband and i stayed here with our 2 small dogs for 2 nights over the holiday weekend. We went mainly for the art & craft show and to watch the Frontier Days parade. The hotel is in a great location for walking to the downtown area. they did not charge any fees for the pets, which is a huge plus, since this is the only hotel I've stayed in that didn't charge some sort of fee. We were on the fourth floor at the end and had a nice view, but I was disappointed that I did not get the king suite and instead had two queen beds, although it was still a suite. the beds were very comfy with down mattress covers, but the sheets didn't stay on very well. The lobby is very nice, and they always had cold lemon infused water on the bar, which i always needed after climbing the hill coming back to the hotel! If you have a disability requiring a wheelchair, I would strongly advise not to stay here, since you cannot even get to the elevator without first going up some stairs, and there is no ramp. I guess it being a historical building exempts it from being handi-capped accessible. But the oldness of the hotel is charming, and is carried throughout the hotel. the staff were all very friendly and helpful. the only problem i had, other than not getting the type of room i reserved, was one night my dog was on my bed with me and he was chewing on something, so i grabbed it out of his mouth and it was somebody's dental guard - i don't know if he found it on the floor or if it was in the bedding, which really kind of creeped me out thinking it was in the bedding all along after i had slept in it the night before. i didn't complain about it, maybe I should have, but figured there was nothing that could be done, it could happen anywhere, so i just threw it away. All in all it is a nice hotel, although I think it was overpriced at $309 a night (not sure if that was because of the holiday or if it is always high).

Room Tip: i would ask for a third floor room - since you have to ask a staff member to operate the old time e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

An especially good location for any events in the town square area. The hotel sits higher than the downtown street level, so the walk "downtown" is easy, about 2 blocks. The walk back is not quite so easy if you have had an active day for events in the square. The restaurant is dated, but has its own kind of charm if you're on the senior side of things. The menu is basic, and the service is good. I can't speak for the rooms as we have only been there for a special event, and several times for breakfast. This is an excellent location for any "downtown" activities.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been spending time in Arizona for many, many years, and while we have often visited Prescott, we have never spent the night. We and another couple planned a trip including a stay at the Hassayampa, and were very much looking forward to it. We knew that it was an older building, and hoped that this would imply history and charm.

History is there, particularly in the lovely lobby. We enjoyed the restaurant and bar, although both could use some refurbishments, especially the carpets.

The rooms, however, were not just small (expected), the were shabby and in the bathrooms, the floors were downright dirty. I don't think they had seen a bottle of bleach in at least 6 months. We have visited many historic properties all over the west, and have never had this experience, particulary at the prices charged for the rooms. We had hoped for an experience like the Arizona Inn, where the rooms are also modest and the bathrooms decidedly small. The Hassayampa didn't hold a candle.

And as other reviewers have noted, the AC system is like sleeping next to a train. The only good side to that was that it at least partially covered up the noise of other guests on our floor who seemed to have no knowledge that good parents don't let their children run up and down the hall in the middle of the night, or go out for french fries at midnight. We attempted to call the front desk about that situation, only to find that the phone in our room didn't work, and resorted to using our cell.

We would urge the owner of this property to make the investment that such an historic treasure deserves, and give it a major face lift. I would also urge greater staffing, since much of the time, it appeared that there was only one person on duty at the hotel.

I hope to hear that improvements are made, because we would like to visit again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Hassayampa Inn. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed in your room accommodations. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Your critical feedback helps us improve our service for future guests. Thanks, again for your review, and we hope to see you again in Prescott – and at the Hassayampa Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Several friend and myself stayed here while in Prescott and what a nice place. The rooms are somewhat small but are clean, flat screed TV and comfortable beds. The location is great at 2 blocks from whiskey row, just far enough for peace and quiet but easy walking distance. The lobby is stunning and the elevator is from the 30s and is very cool. Would diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was conducting a for the trade wine tasting and booked the Inn for the function rooms and guest rooms. Front desk and catering went out of their way to make the out of town folks feel welcome. Amore was great on the catering end and everything went very well. Judges liked the rooms, food and location, ringht in town so it was easy to get out and walk around with their free time. Rooms have recently been upgraded, the food was good, the lobby is fabulous vintage 1920s SW decor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott
Hassayampa Hotel
Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#6 Business Hotel in Prescott
#10 Family Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.