We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassayampa Inn

Save Saved
You added Hassayampa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hassayampa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Arizona City, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed the Historic Hotel- the pictures really do depict the Hotel. I was charmed with the original hand operated Elevator, still in service. The Suite was modern and comfortable. I really enjoyed the Parlor room of our suite- I had a view of the square. We enjoyed the Romance package. My husband was completely surprised by the roses, Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries- yes I surprised HIM- he loved it even if it wasn't 'manly'. Breakfast in the Peacock Room was tasty- do try the Malted Belgium Waffles- yum, the service was excellent. The Hotel staff was attentive and freindly- One young man really stood out, Spenser was there to greet us- and recognized us each time we left and entered the hotel. Spenser is a great Ambassader for the hotel. We will visit again.

Room Tip: The suites have both a living area and a living room with a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I’m so glad that you and your husband had the opportunity to celebrate your anniversary with us. Thanks for providing such great feedback about your stay—I especially enjoyed the fact that you were able to surprise your husband with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. I’m sure that those details added to the memorable experience.

We always appreciate feedback about our employees, and I couldn’t agree with you more about Spenser. He is most definitely a valuable Ambassador for the Inn.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    110
    43
    28
    18
See reviews for
58
208
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My fiance and I have been going to the Hassayampa Inn for a few years now and it is such a fun trip. We always get the romance package because it is such a great deal. We were sad this year that it did not include dinner but it was such a nice trip none the less. I love teh atmosphere of this hotel and the friendly staff. I am amazed at some reviews saying the rooms are so small, I ask to them what do you expect from an older establishment? The charm of this hotel is amazing, the old elevator that is run by the staff, to the smells, and to the decor it is such an A+ establishment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent two wonderful nights at this hotel. We recommend everyone stay here when visiting Prescott. The staff is super friendly and extremely attentive. The bar is great (especially happy hour) and the restaurant is fantastic. I would like to send a shout out to Elizabeth and Dan the waiters at the Peacock Room and to Dustin the chef. We ate there both nights and the food was incredible. Their menu rivals anything we have experienced in Phoenix. We would also like to send a special Thank You to Vanessa behind the desk for your attention and friendly smile.... Next time desert is on us. You guys are great !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback – it’s always nice to receive affirmation about our fantastic staff – our team really works together and constantly seeks to provide positive guest experiences. I’m so glad that your time in the Peacock Room and throughout the hotel was pleasant. We look forward to hosting the two of you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent one night in the Hassayampa Inn on a business trip. I agree with many other reviewers who find the hotel charming and the staff exceptionally friendly. I especially appreciate the large, authentic lobby, the outside spaces, and the originality of the breakfast menu.

I would go back in a heartbeat with my spouse to enjoy Prescott. In fact, I am looking forward to it. The easy walk to downtown is a great attractor. However, the Hassayampa doesn't make it as a business hotel.

Having read several TA reviews I opted for a King room hoping it would be large. The room I was given had a king bed stuffed in it and not much else. There wasn't a single chair of any kind, so when I needed to work on my computer I resorted to moving the TV that occupied the bureau, perching my computer on top of the bureau and standing. Other unfavorable attributes were water temperature that couldn't be held constant and doors so thin the creaking floodway in the hall provided background music.

If you visit, and the weather agrees, don't miss the patio in front and the gazebo to one side ... both great places to relax.

Room Tip: Do what is necessary to get a larger room. The elevator can only be run by the hotel staff, so if s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Hassayampa Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I’m glad that overall you had a pleasant experience at the Inn. I was sorry to learn about your frustration with your accommodations, however. As a business traveler I understand how important it is to have a comfortable workspace, and I apologize for the lack of a proper desk and chair in your suite. Being a historic property we constantly try to balance the demand for large, comfortable beds with our space limitations. Our front desk staff is always happy to offer alternative room types, and I’m just sorry that we did not have the opportunity to relocate you while you were still with us. I do hope that you had the opportunity to explore our many meeting spaces, as we boast over 7500 square feet of event space, making the Inn an ideal destination for business functions.

Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Hassayampa Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The pillow top king size bed in our room was great as I prefer soft beds. The ride on the old elevator is historic. Lots of history all around. Would stay there again.....in the "haunted" room next time!!! lol

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love this old hotel. Built in 1927 it's on the National Historic Registry. It was brought back to life in 1985, (I was part of the re-opening team!). It has a lot of charm. It's location is great, directly across from the town square. Tin ceiling in the bar. Old plug telephone switchboard in the lobby. Elevator that has to be operated by a member of the staff. Rooms are small but clean. The walls are thin. The rooms are now equipped with wifi and a flat screen TV. The staff is friendly, befitting a small town. The Peacock Room Restaurant serves three meals a day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just enjoyed our 2nd stay at the Hassayampa Inn. It has become a new "tradition" for my husband and I to stay there when we celebrate our anniversary! The staff is always happy and pleasant and eager to please. Easy walk into the "downtown" area with much to do! Clean, and comfortable rooms and bed. The food was really wonderful, but the hash browns were a little too over done at breakfast. Everything else was superb!!

Room Tip: Room 206/207 is really one suite. Very unique and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hassayampa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassayampa Inn

Address: 122 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Prescott
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassayampa Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the Grand Dame of Prescott, the Hassayampa Inn was built as a luxury Hotel in 1927 to entice Phoenix tourists to flee the summer heat. Nostalgic elegance with a restored 1920's style lobby, little has changed since the Inn first opened its doors 81 years ago, but every modern amenity you'd expect a 21st century hotel to offer, including high speed wireless internet. Enjoy world class cuisine in the ultra-fashionable, yet comfortable, Peacock Dining Room. Live jazz is frequent in the leisurely Cowboy Bar. Prescott's world-famous Courthouse square is a mere block away with endless boutiques and antique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hassayampa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassayampa Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassayampa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.