We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Well Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Well Ranch
5425 N Tonto Rd., Prescott, AZ 86304   |  
Hotel amenities
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't expect much!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The photos on the website are deceiving. While we did not stay here and glad we didn't, the place was booked over the weekend for a family reunion, this place is defintely off the beaten path. Road into the valley is unimproved, very bumpy. Horses boarded here, so lots of flies. "Wedding/party" area is nice, but we could not find a bathroom, Grandson had to use a tree. Place could definitely use some TLC. Owner seemed nice and invited us to taste some wine, but we declined. Seems like a big undertaking going on her, but not with much succcess. Will check back in a couple of years and hopefully things will have improved. Good Luck!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, Owner at Juniper Well Ranch, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for driving to our secluded ranch to check it out. (yes the county maintained dirt road can be challenging). We do encourage you to call ahead so we can adequately show you around. Bathrooms are available to our guests and visitors. Our ranch is run by the owners and is off the beaten path which is part of the charm for many. Each season is different and we are continually maintaining and improving the look of the ranch for our guest's enjoyment. We hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix,AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

was looking for a new vacation destination for my family.I emailed them to ask a question but did not yet specify travel dates. The reply was "sorry we're full". I emailed back to mentioned that our vacation was in mid Sept (not a big tourism month). No reply.I checked their availability, they had 2 units available on our dates.They were just being snarky. Wouldn't recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, Owner at Juniper Well Ranch, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
As small business owners we appreciate every email request about reservations. Your request was received on July 2nd with no date mentioned. We erroneously thought you were asking about a cabin for July 4th, our busiest time of the year,when we answered with, not available. We hope you will consider trying us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We've stayed here twice, once in the Monet and just in the Adobe cabin. Love the owners, they feel like friends. Secluded little rustic cabins with all needed amenities. Showers are great, beds are comfortable, and all the kitchen you need for the perfect little getaway. Cabins are clean and welcoming. Last time the fire was lit for us (in February) and this time, the light was left on. Just like coming home. Great place, we want to be adopted so we could stay forever. If you like a little rustic and great place to start a hike or horseride, check this place out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I cannot say enough about the hospitality and accomodations at Juniper Well Ranch. Fabulous tubs with full kitchens. Comfy beds and more stars than you can imagine.
Our cabin had Ralph Lauren bedding and plenty of towels. No Tv, no phones and acres to walk to explore. We really like that the cabins are spaced far apart so you have privacy.
It was terrific to be able to let our 5 year old son feed the chickens and just run as far as his legs would take him without worrying about cars or strangers. I don't like to camp, but love cowboy cooking over fire, seeing a billion stars and enjoying the outdoors. Then spending the evening sipping a glass wine after a long hot shower.
Close enough to downtown Prescott we can visit the local markets and still have time to play in the dirt. Romantic and family friendly.
We will definately be back. This is our new Northern Arizona spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Friends of ours had gone to Juniper Well Ranch several times, They suggested that my husband and I should go stay at Juniper Well Ranch. I surprised my husband for his birthday, he wasn't so sure about it, but once we got there....he was a happy birthday boy. We arrived on Friday evening August 28th 2009, to a very nice cabin (The Monet) awaiting our arrival. It was a little hot that weekend, so we were happy to arrive to air conditioning and ceiling fans cooling the cabin. Needless to say we were so pleased. The website had suggested that we bring everything (food) that you would need for our weekend stay. I am so glad we did, because once we got there we didn't want to leave. I am originally from Washington State so I am always happiest when there is trees, and greenery. (Oh I was happy that weekend). We have read the review before this one and are not sure we were at the same place. Everything, was perfect for a cabin on a ranch. Everything was just so nice and relaxing. Linda & Dave were the perfect host. We didn't see them unless we needed them, and they didn't see us much either.

Oh, as for not having a TV...my husband wasn't really sure that would work for a whole weekend, but he did learn that he does just fine without the TV, his cell phone, and conversation with anyone else other than me. We highly recommend Juniper Well Ranch if you enjoy a Trillion Star Place...just look up into the dark-star-filled-sky which takes your breath away, a place where you relax and enjoy what was created for us to enjoy and appreciate for free! Great walking around to see the scenery of the Ranch, and listening to the Trains go by a couple times a day. I love the sound of the train in a distance.

One of the highlights was reading the journals that contain enteries from previous guest, and the binder that includes the Bio of Frank Bonham, who was an author and Dave's Father. Even a few books by Mr. Frank Bonham can be found in a cabin to read.

P.S. If you don't like this type of get-away it won't hurt anyones feelings, it just leaves more time for those of us who love this place to get reservations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Mouse dropping in all the kitchen drawers and bathroom cabinets.
You could hardly see through the windows, they were so spotted
with dirt and insect spots. Dust everywhere, it is of course a ranch
so the dust was expected to an extent.....Thought that there
would be a winery...no organization

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We have stayed here twice. You get a real ranch feel when your here. Many happy and beautiful horses are boarded here. The cabins are rustic in feel with all the modern ammenities to make it super comfy. You can hike for miles, or ride! The only sounds you'll hear are crickets, horses whinnying for the am feed, a cow bellowing in the distance, and if you are lucky you will hear and see the train coming by through the valley behind the property. Oh, and if you like stargazing WOW!
We brought our dog with us and he had the time of his life! The hosts are available for anything you need, just a phone call or short walk from any of the cabins. If you like photography this place has many unique sights to capture.

  • Liked — Remote location yet close to the town of Prescott
  • Disliked — Not enough time there
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juniper Well Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Well Ranch

Address: 5425 N Tonto Rd., Prescott, AZ 86304
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Well Ranch & Vineyards is located minutes from Prescott, Az at The base of majestic Granite Mountain. Surrounded by breath-taking, Prescott National Forest, this private guest ranch with winery is the perfect spot to relax & unwind. Enjoy one of four very private cabins with views from the porches where you may also choose to have a massage or enjoy a bottle of wine made on the ranch. Hike, feed the animals,play horseshoes or bocce, learn about wine making or just read a book. The owners father was prolific western author Frank Bonham. His books are in all the cabins as well as others for your enjoyment ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Well Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Juniper Well Ranch to your Saves list