We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, quiet and a night sky full of stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Well Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Well Ranch
Save
You added Juniper Well Ranch to your Saves list
5425 N Tonto Rd., Prescott, AZ 86304   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet and a night sky full of stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I just came back from a wonderful 4 day weekend. We took our dogs and enjoyed the peace and quiet atmosphere while they had a chance to roam. We stayed in the Adobe and enjoyed the double porches. The hosts, Dave & Linda, were very friendly and we spent time on two afternoons visiting with them over some wine sampling at their winery. The cabins are a bit rustic but full of character. We cooked all our meals in and enjoyed the peace & quiet of no phones, no TV and a blanket of stars under a beautiful country sky, something you never see living in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 1 year anniversary by staying in the Monet Log Cabin with our two dogs. I wasn't sure what to expect, but based on the other reviews, I had a feeling we wouldn't be disappointed. We arrived late in the evening to a warm cabin thanks to Dave lighting a fire and having our cabin ready for us. This was the first of many ways that Linda and Dave seperate themselves from other establishments. They were the perfect hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome. I was impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the cabin and the nice quiet setting among the Juniper trees. I am already looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Dave and Linda!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Expectations of a special hideaway awaiting at the end of a beautiful high desert road are more than fulfilled on entering the gate of Juniper Well Ranch. The grandeur of rustic Arizona with Alligator Juniper and the bucolic, visual splendor of the Old West leads fortunate travelers to the doorway of Juniper Well Vineyards, where you will be greeted by Dave and Linda, the gregarious and knowledgeable owners of this unspoiled, natural area.

Over delicious wine and cordial conversation, they will guide you through viticultural lore, and, on day's end, suggest the perfect cabin to lay your head down under a starry Arizona night sky.

Carl & Lani

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We first came to Juniper Well to celebrate our first anniversary and have been coming back 2 to 3 times a year for the past 20 years. Beautiful setting for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

What a jewel! No place, I repeat no place in the world is like the ranch and we've been a place or two over the last 50 years. Dave & Linda, your hospitality is the best. Our family reunions at the ranch are the highlight of the year for each of us. We will keep coming back as long as the good Lord allows, and that includes our children and their children. We could ask for no more. We come home with a glow that just doesn't wear off. Can't wait to see you next time. In the meantime you know that you remain our honorary brother and sister.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My family and I literally stumbled upon Juniper Well Ranch 10 years and to say it’s “off the beaten path” is an understatement. Nestled in the heart of the Prescott National Forest between the majestic Granite Mountain and the closer Tonto, the ranch is an oasis of “laid back” living, hospitality, and natural beauty. We love going "off the grid" and leaving the cell phones packed away for a week or so.

This past July marked our tenth consecutive year of “coming back home” to the Granite Rose (our favorite cabin and the one we always try to rent) and to the warmth and generosity of Dave and Linda Bonham, our hosts.

The cabins are comfortable and inviting. The décor is authentic American West (or southwest if you’re in the Adobe…) that complements the log exteriors. After cooking up dinner in the full kitchen, try eating outside on the sheltered porch (if it’s not too hot…it is Arizona you know…) then kick your feet back, watch the sky turn red as the sun goes down and listen to coyotes howling in the distance.

Dave and Linda are always quick to address any needs, from extra bath towels to helping with cactus needles in my son's hand. When we arrive after sundown, we find a light on to welcome us. One year, we visited the ranch in October and the woodstove was stoked and warm when we walked in. We’ve come to not only love the ranch but the Bonham's hospitality as well.

It’s only been a couple of months since we were there but we’re already looking forward to next year’s vacation and visit to the JWR.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The photos on the website are deceiving. While we did not stay here and glad we didn't, the place was booked over the weekend for a family reunion, this place is defintely off the beaten path. Road into the valley is unimproved, very bumpy. Horses boarded here, so lots of flies. "Wedding/party" area is nice, but we could not find a bathroom, Grandson had to use a tree. Place could definitely use some TLC. Owner seemed nice and invited us to taste some wine, but we declined. Seems like a big undertaking going on her, but not with much succcess. Will check back in a couple of years and hopefully things will have improved. Good Luck!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, Owner at Juniper Well Ranch, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for driving to our secluded ranch to check it out. (yes the county maintained dirt road can be challenging). We do encourage you to call ahead so we can adequately show you around. Bathrooms are available to our guests and visitors. Our ranch is run by the owners and is off the beaten path which is part of the charm for many. Each season is different and we are continually maintaining and improving the look of the ranch for our guest's enjoyment. We hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Well Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Well Ranch

Address: 5425 N Tonto Rd., Prescott, AZ 86304
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Well Ranch & Vineyards is located minutes from Prescott, Az at The base of majestic Granite Mountain. Surrounded by breath-taking, Prescott National Forest, this private guest ranch with winery is the perfect spot to relax & unwind. Enjoy one of four very private cabins with views from the porches where you may also choose to have a massage or enjoy a bottle of wine made on the ranch. Hike, feed the animals,play horseshoes or bocce, learn about wine making or just read a book. The owners father was prolific western author Frank Bonham. His books are in all the cabins as well as others for your enjoyment ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Well Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.