We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky fun, good value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Motor Lodge to your Saves list
The Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Funky fun, good value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The reviews for The Motor Lodge are right on. We were greeted after a long ride with a cold beer and chilled wine at checkin. Enjoyed room 6 "the honeymoon suite", with it's retro furniture from the long gone Stardust Hotel. Each unit has it's own carport and patio. On our way to dinner, we enjoyed talking with some neighbors sitting outside.
The kingsized bed was super comfortable and we loved looking at all the artifacts in the room. It was quiet at night. We really enjoyed the vibe of this unique motel and the friendliness of the owner.
In the morning we were give hot chocolate chip cookies as we checked out. An excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
224
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently spent two nights here in room number 7 and it was wonderful!

As others have mentioned, we were promptly greeted and offered drinks upon arrival. My boyfriend had a beer and I had a glass of wine.
I mentioned in my reservation request that I wanted a room further away from the road (based on the recommendation from others that the road can be busy and noisy). Brian let us choose between cabin number 10 and number 7. They were nearly identical in layout with different styling. We chose number 7 for no particular reason and had no regrets. As for the street being noisy, I didn't notice any noise at all. Perhaps June isn't the busy season, but it seemed like a small town with little traffic. They call it "rush hour" when more than two cars are waiting in a turning lane. :)
After selecting our room, Brian gave us a map of Prescott, pointed out some recommendations for dinner, gave us instructions for using the bikes on site, and left us in peace.
The cabin/room/unit itself is nice. I loved the quirky styling and bright accent colors. The furniture is a mix of every decade. We had these funky leather mod chairs that were so fun to relax in.
The bathroom was comically small as others have mentioned. If you're a girly-girl with more than two hair products and styling tools that need to be plugged in, this is going to inconvenience you considerably. However, if you can manage with just a mirror, there's a full length mirror outside of the bathroom that you can use for make-up or primping. I pulled up a chair and it worked well for me.
The bed was SUPER soft and comfortable. It felt like a feather bed that you could just sink into and never want to climb out. We loved it.
Since there isn't any breakfast served on site, we bought groceries to have breakfast in the room. (There's a Safeway grocery store just half a mile away. We rode the bikes there and back in just a few minutes.) However, since there is no stove and no microwave, you're basically limited to pastries and fruit (which was fine with me but the boyfriend wanted a little more sustenance). There is a coffee maker and we used that to make some hot water for instant oatmeal and that worked really well until we realized there was no silverware! That problem was easily solved by a quick trip down to the main office. They handed over two spoons to borrow without any hassle whatsoever.
Finally, I think it's worth mentioning that there's a sense of community built-in at this property. Guests are encouraged to enjoy the patios and socialize. Everyone we met was friendly and having a great time. We were also granted cookies at checkout as everyone else has mentioned.
There were no surprise fees or charges.
Overall, it was an excellent choice. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Prescott.

Room Tip: Most of the units have attached carports, which was nice. There are a few that don't though so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The place is great and the owners are wonderful. We stayed with our parents/in-laws and we all loved it. The place has a familiar Americana theme to it but it's done with an attention to detail and character that is unusual. Each room is unique. Although there's no pool or fitness center they have a fleet of very cool vintage bikes available for guests. The rooms have fireplaces, kitchenettes and a private carport directly adjacent to each room. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat. Did I mention that they also have great recommendations on where to eat etc?

Room Tip: Ask he owners, they won't upswell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A 10 cabin motel on South Montezuma Street on the way into Prescott. We had No. 6 which has the king size "honeymoon" bed! Beautiful soft comfy bedding as well as interesting artefacts in the room. We were offered wine on arrival and received home baked cookies on leaving. Excellent host and stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A friend of mine has stayed at the Motor Lodge before that is how we came to this location. It was the cutest hotel/motor lodge with the B&B feel. When we drove up and went into the office to check in the gentleman was so nice, friendly, personable and we were offered wine or beer upon checkin, imagine that. The check in was easy as well as paying individually was offered to us and made that process much easier for 4 people. We were shown to our very cute room #8, decorated in all the items I remember as a kid (old telephones, lamps, furniture) – very nice. This room had 2 queen beds and a standup shower. The kitchen area was great with fridge. #8 does not have a sitting porch, but that was ok as there are 2 community area’s that are cozy as well – especially when the “cat” comes around. They also were helpful in recommending a restaurant and calling our cab for us. All in all, this was a great place for couples, or girls weekend.

Room Tip: Ask if it has the sitting porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

During a recent road trip thru Western Arizona we discovered the Motor Lodge in Prescott. What a blast from the past. We even had a garage to park in. The accommodations were more than sufficient although the shower was a little tight. The bed was comfortable and the linens were more than clean. We were met a the desk with a smile and a positive attitude. After checkin we were offered beer or wine, now that was a first! I must say this establishment provided the best ever hospitality and definitely went way out of the way to insure our stay was the best ever. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was great! Love the charm & nostalgic atmosphere. Clean, cool with a/c blowing. We sat outside our room with wine and petted the motel cat. Our room had a big comfy bed, we had a mini kitchenette with frig so our take-out & water bottles stayed cold. We will most definitely come back and Stephen who checked us in was so kind/helpful, he wrote a long list of dinner recommendations for us. Great job to The Motor Lodge!

Room Tip: We stayed in #4, we did not see other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#2 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.