We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Every Expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Motor Lodge to your Saves list
The Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Met Every Expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews were excellent so our expectations were high and the Motor Lodge met all of them. Conveniently located, retro look with unique furnishings. Clean, good bed, soft towels, quality toilet paper - all the little things some many places fall down on. Wonderful hospitality and service. One thing we loved: check in time is 3:00 PM but we received a call at about 10:45 AM while we were driving to Prescott telling us our room was ready and we could check in any time we wished. This little piece of information, i.e. great service, allowed us to rearrange our plans for the day while on the go.

Room Tip: Room # 9 has an enclosed carport and a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    37
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
202
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just finished a trek through Arizonia and this was our favorite stop! Don't be fooled by the name. The Motor Lodge was recommended to us by a couple we met in Sedona that had stayed the night before. They said "you must stay here!" Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and an offer of a glass of wine, beer or soft drink followed. I almost felt like we had come home visit after a long time away....... She offered us a full explanation of the hotel's history and suggestions for places to eat dinner that night. We stayed in the 2 bedroom which faces the street. Without me even asking, she said, "don't worry about the street, by about 8 pm it is dead!" She was spot on and I never heard a car all night long. I loved the decorating for this place! It must have taken years to find all the 50s era stuff that adorns the walls and counters! If you are in the area, don't miss this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Motor Lodge is one of my favorite hotels - ever. It is funky and cool - and friendly and fun. Service is taken to a new level. This place is 5* - period. Seriously, this is a strong statement - but, I really wouldn't want to know anyone who didn't like it as they would have to be fundamentally flawed. I actually came back from vacation trying to find similar properties to purchase and transfrom. The Motor Lodge is that cool - inspiring.

Why? The list is long:
Service: R'cd a phone call from Brian the morning of our arrival to tell me our room was clean and ready and to come on whenever. He gave me hints on the most scenic roads to travel and encouragement that I could manage my bike thru the twisties outside Jerome. *Kim greeted us and had beer/wine waiting. She could not have been more helpful or friendly. *Kim came and gave us the "low down" on how everything works in our room. She is easy going but professional. What a gem. *Kim gave us several excellent restaurant suggestions and a map where she handwrote information for us. *Fresh home baked cookies when we left. They were delicious.

Rooms: Fun & funky. Mid century mod delight. We were in ROOM #8 - Loved the vintage telephones, lamps, furniture, , etc. The fireplace was added so much ambiance and actually provided signficant warmth to our suite. Lots of places to relax - plenty of room for both of us. The beds were some of the most comfortable with high-quality linens. We had a small refer, microwave, sink, wine glasses, cups, etc. There was a small closet area and two queen (kings?) beds in the bedroom. The bath had a "rain shower" and came equipped with its own rubber ducky. One of the best things for us - our own garage. Most of the rooms had large front porches and fab chairs to relax and visit. Our room was very quiet. Flat screen tv's in both the living area and the bedroom worked great. Free wi-fi.

Location: About 1/2 mile walk to the squre (Whiskey Row) Just straight up the street. It was too windy to ride one day - so we walked all over town. Very enjoyable. There are fabulous bicycles in the garages that can be used if you don't want to walk. They didn't miss anything!

Room Tip: Call and find out which room is best for you. We were in room #8 - great corner location. Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epagny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's a fabulous place to stay. The rooms are very confortable with a thermostat controlled fireplace. The deco is fun and retro and lot of attention to details. The owners are very kind and helpfull. Beer or wine is offered at check-in and very tasty cookies at departure. It will be my destination every time I return to Prescott.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ok so admit it I am a hotel snob. I love the little luxuries in life and who would have thought I could find a little piece of heaven in Prescott Arizona?! The Motor Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Prescott- the rooms are cozy, the owners are just delightful, and the location to Whiskey Row is unparalleled. Only about 90 min from PHX I highly recommend a quick trip up here-even if its just to stay at the Motor Lodge!Its a hidden gem in AZ

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have tubs the rest are shower only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family just stayed here for the first time. The owners are so personable, we felt right at home. The rooms are cute, clean and comfortable. The area is close to everything but it's nice and quiet. Good for all occasions and family friendly. I would recommend this place to everyone and we will be staying here again in the future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We pulled in around 3:00 and were greeted with a friendly smile and an offer of a glass of wine. One of the owners took us up to our room. Lime green and orange greeted us and we loved it already. Add to the great retro look was a cozy gas fireplace and a very comfy bed. Every unit has its own front porch for relaxing or looking at the stars. This was by far our favorite spot for our vacation. Kudos to the owners who have a real flair for making their guests happy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Family Hotel in Prescott
#9 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.