We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Motor Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Motor Lodge to your Saves list
The Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming Motor Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a couple of nights at The Motor Lodge in Prescott, AZ. I am sort of a 4/5 star hotel kind of person so I was skeptical of all of the excellent reviews of The Motor Lodge. First we were called in the early afternoon and advised that our room was ready for us (that is a first for me). When we arrived we were greeted with a cold beer which was enjoyable after a six hour drive. I describe the hotel as eclectic in a fun way. It was like going to stay at your grandmother's house 50 years ago. It was extremely clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much. Upon checkout we were sent on our way with some delicious chocolate chip cookies. I would stay at The Motor Lodge again on my next trip to Prescott!

Room Tip: We selected a suite which worked out well for us. There was a flat screen tv in a small living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
203
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

When I was making our reservations I told Kim that we would be arriving late between 9-10 pm. She replied: "Your room assignment will be on the board by the office, the lights will be on in your room and there will be 2 cold beers in the fridge." Which is exactly what we found when we arrived. That's my kind of place! The decor was fun, the bed was incredibly comfortable and we felt very welcomed. Loved all the different items used as planters! Brian was very helpful about places to eat and things to do, so was Kim. There are bicycles and a kayak for patrons to use in the area. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: No there really is not a restaurant although all of Brian's and Kim's suggestions were spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The owners and management of The Motor Lodge are friendly, professional, and very accommodating. They went beyond the ordinary to make our stay terrific. We stayed in #6, which is full of Vegas Stardust Hotel retro coolness: King/Queen padded headboard complete with crowns from their 70's-era honeymoon suite, old vinyl records and a portable suitcase record player, a fabulous Vanity Fair coffee table book were just a few great features.

This retro-feeling motel has all the modern conveniences: coffee maker, microwave and fridge in room, as well as a small desk area for comfy WiFi use and a huge flat screen tv on the wall. All this boutique hotel coolness for a better rate than big, impersonal chain hotels make it a place I'll recommend.

The fact that it's about 8 mins. of easy walking to Prescott's courthouse and Whiskey Row seal the deal. When we were forced to cut our stay short due to family emergency, I was treated with concern and compassion. Kim called me to check on us after getting home--so very sweet, and the best customer service I've ever encountered in lodging. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were stunned by this place - gorgeous rooms, all adorned differently, with free bikes you can use to stroll about downtown Prescott, and very generous hosts Brian and Joe. Bonus--excellent beers in our fridge upon arrival!! We will definitely be back anytime we stay in Prescott--after staying here, how could we ever stay anywhere else in Prescott?!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Most of the reviews already posted here outline just how wonderful a place the motor lodge is to stay however the majority of the reviews have been written by American visitors so we felt we ought to put in a review from an international travellers perspective. My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay in Phoenix Arizona as we are looking to relocate there and wanted to find out more about the area and surroundings. Firstly Prescott itself is a fantastic advertisement for the USA with a lovely local feel to it and amazing national parks right on the doorstep. We arrived at the motor lodge fresh from a Grand Canyon excursion and were immediately welcomed as if we were old friends by Joe with an offer of beer and wine refreshment. We stayed in room 9 which was a delightful mixture of vintage chic and contemporary style and the bed was without doubt the most comfortable we stayed in on our whole trip. Joe immediately put us at ease with recommendations of where to eat (check out the tapas place el gato ezul) for great food at very reasonable prices. Whiskey row has a number of bars and traditional saloons to try some of the local microbrews in and everyone we met was so friendly. We were so impressed with the motor lodge and Prescott as a whole we decided to extend our stay for a second night ( luckily our room was available) and spent a second day hiking in the Watson, Goldwater and lynx lake areas which are all very different but equally as picturesque in their own way. We ate at the Gurley street grill on our second night which was also a great dining experience and breakfast was consumed at the lone star cafe on both days at Joe's suggestion for an authentic Amercian breakfast experience. Joe did warn the portions were large and he wasn't exaggerating but qualiity was in no way sacrificed for quantity and we were wished well by the staff there with a t shirt, hat and coffee mug souvenirs of the experience as soon as they discovered we were British. The motor lodge takes customer service to a new level and there are many good reasons why the reviews on here are so impressive. Nothing is too much trouble and we also met the delightful Kim who was so helpful in providing us with local area knowledge for our hiking and even sending us on our day out with very tasty cookies. It is no exaggeration to say that our experience at the motor lodge has played a large part in making our decision to relocate to Arizona and we will definitely be back once we become proper Arizonans.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Motor Lodge is always our favorite place to go when wanting to get away. Joe and Brian, the owners, are the most gracious hosts! We have enjoyed getting to know them over the years. They are always working hard on the place. We always look forward to seeing what new things they have done since our previous visit. Currently they are working on "The Hideaway". It's going to be a little oasis, close but still very private. We are looking forward to seeing it upon completion. This visit we stayed in Room 6, which we have nicknamed "The Stardust" room. The bed is actually from the Stardust Hotel in Las Vegas. Our daughter stayed in Room 2. All rooms are uniquely decorated. Hospitality is beyond words. Wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great place in a very nice location, just south of old downtown Prescott. After a great Memorial Day weekend stay, I liked this place so much that I figured I'd sign up for Tripadvisor just to put in a good word. Let's go over the positives...

First, really nice ownership. Wonderful people running the front office. The owner/manager when we visited was really friendly and helpful! The prices are reasonable, too.

Second, creative and cool decor. If you like vintage stuff, you're going to be in your element... every room has all kinds of antiques and vintage goodies, from furniture, to lighting. Oh, and one more fun bit is the bicycles on offer. I didn't use them this time, but I will next time... downtown Prescott is a really pleasant place to go for a ride.

Third, comfortable beds. This counts for a lot!

Fourth, walking distance from good places to eat. There's a great place for burgers and beer just a few doors down, a good tapas place around the corner, and you're just a 5-10 minute walk away from Whiskey Row.

Fifth, just a ten or fifteen minute drive (at most) away from excellent places to hike, including National Forest trails, and Prescott City trails (I'd recommend hiking at the dells near Willow Creek or Watson Reservoirs).

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay somewhere quirky, fun, and unique, while still on a light budget. Great value and a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#1 Family Hotel in Prescott
#9 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.