We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Motor Lodge to your Saves list
The Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Motor Lodge is always our favorite place to go when wanting to get away. Joe and Brian, the owners, are the most gracious hosts! We have enjoyed getting to know them over the years. They are always working hard on the place. We always look forward to seeing what new things they have done since our previous visit. Currently they are working on "The Hideaway". It's going to be a little oasis, close but still very private. We are looking forward to seeing it upon completion. This visit we stayed in Room 6, which we have nicknamed "The Stardust" room. The bed is actually from the Stardust Hotel in Las Vegas. Our daughter stayed in Room 2. All rooms are uniquely decorated. Hospitality is beyond words. Wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
226
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great place in a very nice location, just south of old downtown Prescott. After a great Memorial Day weekend stay, I liked this place so much that I figured I'd sign up for Tripadvisor just to put in a good word. Let's go over the positives...

First, really nice ownership. Wonderful people running the front office. The owner/manager when we visited was really friendly and helpful! The prices are reasonable, too.

Second, creative and cool decor. If you like vintage stuff, you're going to be in your element... every room has all kinds of antiques and vintage goodies, from furniture, to lighting. Oh, and one more fun bit is the bicycles on offer. I didn't use them this time, but I will next time... downtown Prescott is a really pleasant place to go for a ride.

Third, comfortable beds. This counts for a lot!

Fourth, walking distance from good places to eat. There's a great place for burgers and beer just a few doors down, a good tapas place around the corner, and you're just a 5-10 minute walk away from Whiskey Row.

Fifth, just a ten or fifteen minute drive (at most) away from excellent places to hike, including National Forest trails, and Prescott City trails (I'd recommend hiking at the dells near Willow Creek or Watson Reservoirs).

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay somewhere quirky, fun, and unique, while still on a light budget. Great value and a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved our stay at the Motor Lodge. The motel is from another era, but has been delightfully renovated. It's stylish, warm and fun.

Our room, room 8, was perfect for our family of five (kids ages 3, 5 and 8). The kitchenette enabled us to serve of kids cereal for breakfast, and the separate bedroom enabled mom and dad to retain their sanity. The shower stall is small -- which we expected given the age of the building -- but it was absolutely manageable, even with small kids.

The owners are absolutely delightful and you can see all the care and attention to detail the have put into The Motor Lodge. This motel is a fun, boutique experience far superior to any chain motel or hotel. We have stayed at the Prescott Resort on previous trips and, while its adequate, it doesn't have the character, charm or spaciousness of The Motor Lodge.

We found The Motor Lodge's pricing to be in line with other establishments. in fact we felt we got a lot more for our money at The Motor Lodge.

I would highly recommend The Motor Lodge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa grande, az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pleasantly surprised when the hotel called, without any prompting, to say that my room was ready and had been upgraded. They had scheduled work to be done in the original assigned room. Received beer for me and wine for the wife on check in. Each room had a bicycle assigned to it but you could check with the office and use any that were available. Firewood stacked in the garage/car port, but the fireplaces are all gas burning. Quirkiness all over the property, yellow rubber tug boat in the shower, porch chair made out of shopping cart, no homeless guy in the area. Evening fireplace on the deck of the office for all to use that want to socialize. All in all a great experience. Only 5 short walking blocks to Whiskey Row, old Courthouse Square/park where something is ALWAYS going on.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be about the same. Some have carports, those that don't, have a marked park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay one night in The Motor Lodge,because my daughter had recommended it.After driving for eight hours from New Mexico,I was so pleased to find that all my daughter's ratings were 100% true.The Motor Lodge is not only the coolest motel I have ever stayed in for the money,but also the most comfortable.Everything in room is very attractive,as well as being to quality.The bed was super deluxe,as was the bedding was exceeding comfortable.I loved the duvet,I swear I could use it ,if stranded in the Arctic,and I would still be warm.The owners,Brian and Joe,were delightful . Brian even let me use his cell phone ,so I could call my wife in an emergency.in summary,I highly recommend ths lovely Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Imagine a road trip across Arizona in 1954 with the landscape dotted with small motel courts. That is what this place was/is!
Great king size beds, tv and all the now amenities with the style of the '50.
Individual patios with a view of the butter...who could ask for more, but there is....beer in the refrigerator and fresh cookies in the morning! This is a must stop.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the south so you can see the butte
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We made a trip to Prescott for a Mother's Day getaway and stayed at The Motor Lodge after hearing rave reviews from friends. What a treasure this place is!!! We were met by Kim upon arrival and what a wonderful host she was. We were a little disappointed because we were hoping to meet Brian & Joe but hopefully next trip. We had room 8 which was perfect for the 3 of us and my mother cannot stop talking about all the memories that all of the little momentos in the room reminded her of. Before the end of the evening we had managed to meet everybody else staying at the lodge as we were all sitting on the patios relaxing and drinking our complimentary beer or wine. The gas fireplace was a perfect touch and the unfinished doors in the room were very unique. The service is impeccable, it's like staying with an old friend - warm & endearing. The location is great, we walked to Whiskey Row and the surrounding area for the art festival and many shops. A cab ride back at night only set us back $4.50. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Motor Lodge

Address: 503 S Montezuma Street, Prescott, AZ 86303
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#2 Family Hotel in Prescott
#5 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a comfy, unique place to stay (coupled with superb service), The Motor Lodge does it's best to maintain true to it's history...We hope you'll enjoy your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Motor Hotel Prescott
The Motor Lodge Prescott
Prescott The Motor Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.