We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see but not what I was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sharlot Hall Museum

Sharlot Hall Museum
415 West Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
520-445-3122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum that displays the lives and cultures of early settlers and the Native Americans who lived here before them.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots to see but not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Much is said in the literature around town about Sharot Hall's collections of historical artifacts. I was disappointed that most of these are not on display, I asked about her collection of saddles and branding irons and was told that they are "too valuable" and are most likely in the archives. Much of what is seen are re-creations of things, some are actuals. It's a nice area to visit and nice grounds, just wasn't what I thought I would see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    61
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicagoland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A treasure in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thank God that Sharlot was such a strong woman for her time. She fought to preserve the history of Prescott. Beautifully presented and the volunteers were so knowledgable. Lovely!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great history in Arizona's territorial capital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The best thing about Sharlot Hall Museum are the beautifully restored and maintained buildings that house its exhibits. With a nice mix of Victorian homes and log cabins, you get a really good sense for what life was like in this frontier town 100+ years ago. Within the buildings you will find an extensive collection of artifacts. The native basket display is quite impressive. The wreath made from female hair was strangely fascinating. You'll also find what is apparently the most prized artifact in Prescott history - proof that they do indeed host the world's oldest rodeo.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Prescott Museum Packed with History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Although we knew we'd visit Sharlot Hall while in Prescott, we weren't prepared to see so much in one small space! Permanent exhibits include three houses from different periods of AZ history, local Prescott history, and a superb interpretive collection of Native American basketry. On the day we visited, the museum was also displaying quilts crafted for the Arizona statehood centennial -- a bonus! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and provided a lovely setting for a rest between exhibits. Just a block or two from the historic downtown area, Sharlot Hall is a must-see when you visit Prescott.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Quite a bit of information for a small area. Helpful docents throughout the key buildings, willing to answer any questions you might have. A short film on Prescott's history was interesting as was the latest exhibit. Plenty to keep you busy for several hours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharlot Hall Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sharlot Hall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharlot Hall Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.