We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay at the George Walker House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Walker House

The George Walker House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Walker House
2225 West George Walker Lane, Portal, AZ 85632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Portal B&B and Inns
Tijeras
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at the George Walker House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Far from the maddening crowd in the remote Chiricahua Mtns in SE Arizona lies the old mining community of Paradise and paradise it certainly is. Within this small community you will find a B&B called the George Walker house. Over a hundred years old but clean and comfortable and right in the middle of world class birding/wildlife observation and scenery rivaling Yosemite in nearby Cave Creek Canyon. Our 6th trip there this Nov and it continues to be the best place we have ever been to completely decompress and renew our vows with nature. Jackie and Tundra are excellent hosts and we are already planning our next trip in April when the humming birds return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

I will try to say what others have not. My family loves the George Walker House. Even my teenagers can't wait to visit each year. There are no phones or cable TV, yet there is never a shortage of things to do. For those who prefer doing nothing at all, this is a peaceful place to relax and unwind. The host and hostess are delightful and accommodating. Preparing for a visit is easy: casual clothes, meat, fresh fruit and veggies, and don't forget the camera. Knowing this, I still over pack each year. Everything really is there waiting for you. Simply the easiest vacation I've ever prepared for. Truly a retreat!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Every reviewer say five stars, and for some reason the tripadvisor site says four. This place is definitely 5 stars. This humble looking house is great inside - well decorated, clean, with all of the amenities. It has a complete kitchen with most food you will need (except perishables) as well as spices, full size stove and refrigerator, etc. There is even a laundry room with washer and drier.
I could hole up in this house and stick around for days and enjoy the birds and scenery, but there is a lot more nearby. This area has interesting natural and people history. There are great nearby hikes, bird watching, photography opportunities, etc. There was on-site banding of hummingbirds and a bear was live-trapped and relocated elsewhere while we were there. Literally hundreds of hummingbirds (six species) were visiting the feeders (July and August are great bird times here, don't expect hummers in the winter). Bats visit the feeders at night and you can watch bats leave a bat box at dusk. We saw rattlesnakes, many lizards, flowers from the summer monsoon rains (indigenous people called it the "land of two springs") and hikes in the nearby mountains yielded interesting birds like Greater Pewee, Red-faced Warbler, Mexican Chickadee, Olive Warbler, Hermit Warbler, etc. The scenery includes incredible rock formations, steams, desert scrub to juniper dotted hillsides, and forests of pine and fir. The nearby Southwest Research Station is a must for anyone interested in natural history.
Jackie and her husband are wonderful hosts who see to the details and go out of their way to make you feel at home. I will come back and stay here again even though I live in central California. If you want to get away, commune with nature and stay in comfort, this is the place. If you want a TV, pool, restaurant, internet, etc. this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

What a nice surprise. I knew this was an old house and it did remind me of being a kid at my grandparents except the furniture is nicer here and there is an excellent library. The latter came into play during an afternoon thunderstorm. You could spend a couple days just reading, but Cave Creek Canyon is close by and that is what you came to see. Can't think of anything to complain about. Bed was comfortable, location is scenic and peaceful. There is a nice kitchen to prepare meals and a screened porch with table to eat at and look out over the yard. To top it off, Jackie is one of the nicer people you will ever meet. It is just a great place to stay and I would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portal, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

I get to come out on the weekends from Las Cruces. Remote, wild, and peaceful. Great place for old and young alike. Check out the website at http://www.thegeorgewalkerhouse.com. As previous reviewer noted - bring your own fresh fruit, meat, vegetables and alcohol - although if you are lucky and Bob Johnson is at the Colibri Vineyard in Whitetail Canyon, you just might get a chance to sample the best Mourvedre and Syrah wines grown in Arizona. Temperate with significant temperature drops at night. Be prepared to layer up in the morning and peel down in the afternoon and layer back up at sundown. Great hiking, birding, and if you are lucky, you might see Bear, Mountain Lions, Bobcats, Raccoons, or even a Coati-Mundi!

  • Liked — Remote - but with woodstove and wi-fi - what could be better?
  • Disliked — 5 mile windy dirt mountain road from Portal to Paradise
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We were looking for unique "non-chain" places to stay on a trip to Carlsbad Caverns. Group of four stayed in eight different establishments in eleven days, ranging from 2 cabins for 2, 50’s era travel trailers to casino hotel. Enjoyed them all and wished we had more time in each. However, the GWH is without a doubt one of the best experiences we have had, (trips including Alaska, Tahiti, Canada and Hawaii). The house was built in 1902 which is fairly old for Arizona but does have all the modern conveniences. We don’t think any pictures would do justice to the GWH, it is beautiful and very comfortable. We did not have the opportunity to meet Winston however, Jackie along with her helper Tundra is an excellent host. The only thing you really need to bring is fresh vegetables and meat, Jackie provides everything else you could need. This is the kind of place you visit to rest your soul and rejuvenate your mind. We could have stayed a week and not been bored, there are plenty of movies, books and the whole area to hike and visit. We arrived after the birding season and still saw hawks, a couple of hummers and woodpeckers along with some deer. I would recommend the GWH even if you aren’t into birding.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Walker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Walker House

Address: 2225 West George Walker Lane, Portal, AZ 85632
Location: United States > Arizona > Portal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portal
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Walker House offers lodging 5 1/2 miles from Portal and Cave Creek in the Chiricahua Mountains of Southeastern Arizona. The George Walker House is a 100 year old house that boasts two comfortable bedrooms, a dining room, a living room with a constantly-growing library of regional books, videotapes, field guides, and maps, a bathroom with shower and tub, a well-equipped kitchen stocked with coffee, tea, breakfast cereal, muffins, and juice, and a laundry room with washer and dryer. There is also a screened-in front porch, and a shady patio area with picnic table and a barbecue grill. The yard is completely fenced. We are nearby in a separate house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Walker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The George Walker House to your Saves list