We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Success With A Large Group Multi-Day Event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portal Peak Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portal Peak Lodge
Save
You added Portal Peak Lodge to your Saves list
2358 Rock House Rd, Portal, AZ 85632   |  
Hotel amenities
Eevrywhere
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Huge Success With A Large Group Multi-Day Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

For the third year in a row the people at PPLC made our large group feel comfortable and welcome. Yes it's quirky and a bit weathered but the kindness of its staff and their deep desire to please more than make up for it. That and the awe inspiring setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in the area to visit the canyon which is beautiful and fascinating. This is a very isolated place and you have to pretty take what you can get. We had tried to stay at two other places in the area but they offered very few rooms and were full by the time we made our plans. That left us with the motel-like Portal Peak Lodge. The place is old. Our room was average in size with one comfortable queen-size bed. I have multiple chemical sensitivities and had requested no air freshener and non-toxic cleaners. There was no air freshener but there was a very strong cleaner smell that was only somewhat better after several hours of airing out. The toilet was loose from the floor and threatened to tip every time it was sat upon. By the time we we left, it was not flushing, which I reported to the staff. The next time we visit the area we will try to plan far enough ahead so we can stay at one of the homes that offer rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very old! It was clean and the bed was comfortable, but some of the fixtures were old and needed replaced. We enjoyed being there and would go again.
Rather expensive compared to other places we stayed.

Room Tip: Cabins were isolated, very quite and peaceful. There were lots of birids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Portal, Arizona hasn't changed much over the years...still small, unique and special. All birders will come here if you plan to bird the Chiricahua Mountains and the famous South Fork of Cave Creek Canyon looking for Elegant Trogons! The owners have done a fine job of providing a comfortable place to stay and excellent food. The lodge is not fancy, but it is well maintained and clean and prices are reasonable. When we bring birding friends to this area, we will always stay here. An additional note regarding the owners - we were evacuated from the lodge at midnight May 8, 2011 due to a forest fire. We missed one additional night of our planned stay. However, the owners refunded us for two nights even though we were in our room until midnight that night. I thought that was extremely generous.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are the same, but if you plan a trip in April or May you will want to make y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay a few days at Portal Peak Lodge. The grounds were beautiful, the food at the general store was delicious and the staff were very friendly. We really enjoyed our time and will go back sooner than later. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Most travelers in the area visit to explore the natural habitats. Birding and hiking while staying at Portal Peak Lodge are very popular. It is quite entertaining, in fact, to sit on the deck outside the room and watch the many hummingbirds that come to the feeders.
The Lodge has a good restaurant and a store that has all the supplies you will need for your adventures.
The lodge is a family run business and the family willingly addresses all questions on directions, sightings and local interest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Once you get into the Chiricahua mountains, you can stay at one of the guest ranches (expensive) or, if you're into hiking, star gazing and bird watching, at this really nice place. Yes, it's pretty basic, no fine dining to be seen, but you're in the mountains, so why complain? Staff is businesslike but friendly and competent, you can hike or drive some fine historic routes,and you'll meet interesting people here (we met a nice Professor and Phd student doing research on a particular kind of bird - or was it an insect?...)

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portal Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal Peak Lodge

Address: 2358 Rock House Rd, Portal, AZ 85632
Location: United States > Arizona > Portal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Portal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular haven for birders, hikers and nature lovers, our family run hotel has 16 comfortable, economical rooms. There are a deck and outside seating area where guests can relax and have a drink, watch the birds, and in the evening sit around the fire. Stop in at our cafe next door for a plate of enchiladas made with local Hatch chiles. For dessert try an espresso and homemade fruit cobbler. We specialize in providing accommodation for birding and other nature groups. For information and reservations call 520 558 2223. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portal Peak Hotel Portal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portal Peak Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.