We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Creek Smokehouse is no longer open for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nifty Fifty Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nifty Fifty Diner
3854 N Arizona Hwy 87, Pine, AZ 85544
928.476.2748
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Pine
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Payson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pine Creek Smokehouse is no longer open for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just wanted to update folks on the closure of Pine Creek Smokehouse. It closed, supposedly temporarily, as it was "per the grapevine", going through some changes, but now is up for sale. Sooooo, if any aspiring chefs would like to have a restaurant in a beautiful little community, check this place out. Good luck to the new owners when they arrive! We'll come visit and review you!
PS. Had to give a "rating", even though the doors are shut and there's no one there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New place is now called "Pine Creek Smokehouse"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When this place was Nifty Fifty, my Honey said, "If I can fix food as good as them, they're in trouble". We then noticed that a new owner changed the name to Pine Creek Smokehouse and decided to give them a try. Real glad we did! We like the place for several reasons; it's family friendly, so can take my rowdy 7 y.o. Grandson and more reserved 15 y.o. Granddaughter and the parents and have a real good meal and fun besides. The burgers are HUMONGOUS! You'd better be real hungry or have some pups at home that are cravin some good eats. The place is family owned and operated and you can catch up on the local gossip if you just listen in. We have been there several times now and everyone is FRIENDLY, so nice to be welcomed and be waited on with a smile. The food is worth the wait, if the place happens to be packed. You can sit at the counter or there are booths and tables and nice views of the mountains. We have only been there for the burgers, fries and salads, which we have found to be very delicious and of consistent quality. They are thinking of adding whole smoked turkey for holiday take-out fare, which we are very excited about. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, which will bring us back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Let me first start by saying this place is no longer in existence. They have changed it to "Pine Creek Smokehouse" under new owners and it is surely missed. Family friendly, everyone who worked there was related to the owner somehow. An adorable 13 year old boy was waiting tables. He was polite and kind. The food was great and got out to us quickly.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's that 50's look and 50's food - burgers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

It's just good and a 50's atmosphere that brings back memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great people, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Try the Texas Burger, they serve with lots of napkins! The onion rings are delicious! And the Malts! YUM Peanut Butter & Chocolate...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nifty Fifty Diner also viewed

 

Been to Nifty Fifty Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nifty Fifty Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.