We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect roadside attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch

Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch
17599 E Peak Lane, Exit #219 on Interstate 10, Picacho, AZ 85141
(520) 466-3658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Picacho
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“Perfect roadside attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stopped here on my way back from Tucson (Live in Scottsdale). I had heard about this place on several Arizona travel shows and looked forward to stopping here. Needless to say from my 5/5 rating, I was not disappointed. This roadside attraction is the ideal stopover for animal lovers. For $5.00 you get feed for all animals (Ostrich, Deer, Goats, Donkeys & Birds) My only advice is hold onto your feed when you're around the Ostrich, they'll grab your feed and one of your fingers if you're not careful...see the picture I got, it's rather funny. Anyway a fun place to stop and great for kids.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    15
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“what a great value for 5 dollars, lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As previous reviews have said for 5 dollars, you get entrance, a nice side cup of feed for the donkeys, deer, goats and ostriches, a token for feeding ducks , and a small cup of Lorikeet bird nectar. Was a great experience can't wait to return. Had seen this place for 10 years or so while driving between Phoenix and Tucson, Arizona. Finally, stopped on a Saturday afternoon in August, very happy and will be back.. Feeding the polite and not slobbery donkey's was wonderful, they are such gentile animals. The Deer are a bit frenzied... not not near as crazed from behind a fence as the ones in Williams, AZ at the Deer Farm there, where they nearly attack you. The goats are well weird and so is there display.. some are up high in a tractor and you crank the food up to them, which wasn't working very well on this day. And some goats have their heads out through a hole in the wall... they are quite frenzied for the food. The Ostriches don't so much bite and violently smash their beaks into the dish or hand as the case may be to get the food... only one's i would recommend not hand feeding... they can be pretty rough, partially cuz you get the feeling they can't really see the food. Very prehistoric to look at up close and personal. The ducks nibble away at the food pretty voraciously as well in your hand but their beaks aren't as dangerous as the ostrich. The Lorikeet feeding is a wonder. One hasn't lived until one has a bird in each hand feeding and one on your head. Make a trip here and you won't regret it, and return often.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“What a fun place if you enjoy feeding animals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our second stop here on this years vacation. We visited about two years ago and had alot of fun. For only $5 a person, you get a large cup of goat/donkey's/deer/ostrich food and a cup of lorakeet nectar. The good part is there are alot of people who drop their food on the ground, so if you just stop and take the time to pick it up, you can be there for hours feeding all the door and donkey's and other animals.

They added ducks to their animals and the give you a token to get a handful of duck food to feed the ducks.

Our family has two teenage boys, and my husband (who is NOT an animal lover). Well, we convinced him to come in with us since he didn't the last time we were here and he had a blast! Even he said he had alot of fun feeding the donkey's - they were so gentle.

Basically, this is a mini zoo with goats, donkey's, deer, ostrich, ducks, and lorakeets. You can stay as long as you like and buy more food if you need more.

They even have a small shopping area outside when you go to leave if you want a souvenier.

P.S. Almost forgot, but on weekends they have monster truck tours in the desert. We were not able to take advantage of this as we were there on a weekday.

This is the best kept secret and isn't that easy to find. Word of warning - in order to get to the ranch, you can see it from the highway, but you have to get off the highway and turn down a dirt road alongside the highway...it is not very well marked.

We asked the owners why they don't advertise more and they said if they did, they wouldn't be able to handle that volume of business.

Well worth the stop if you enjoy animals!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool place nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I loved going to this place. The people are so nice and I goy a painted egg and a whole egg. the loris are the best part in my opinion.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

First off, if yoy buy anything from the gift shop make SURE you total it up yourself and get a receipt! By the time I got home I realized that I was overcharged by about $20.00 for my purchases! My daughter and I had fun feeding the animals but they are pretty darn aggressive. Hope they aren't being deprived in order to entertain visitors. We've been to many, many petting/feeding zoos and never seen animals so voracious. And then the poor goats up in the so-called "penthouse." you place feed in a cup attached to a conveyor belt and send the feed up to the goats. Well one of the belts got all twisted and the food would just fall to the ground before reaching the goat. Poor thing actually tapped his hoof against the cage (asking for food) and tried to crawl out of the pen (mind you it's at least 20 feet off the ground) to get the treats. They can't come down to get any food. And no one was around to fix that belt. Just kind of sad.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.