We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Sizzler I've been to so far...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sizzler

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sizzler
5060 W Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85031
(623) 247-5524
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #891 of 2,594 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Tucson
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The worst Sizzler I've been to so far...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've visited two Sizzler locations before this one, and they were awesome. Amazingly delicious and fresh food, friendly service, clean. So when I spotted this location today when my boyfriend and I were looking for a filling lunch, I jumped for joy!

Unfortunately, this Sizzler offered a totally different experience than what I had expected. It was dirty and dated. The foods on the buffet appeared as if they had been sitting out for hours. Dried up and unappealing. And this food tasted so...not good...that I left it all on my plate. The rice was dry and congealed, the clam chowder tasted fishy, the spaghetti was drenched in a watery, greasy mystery fluid. The broccoli salad tasted suspiciously like fish and took my appetite away temporarily. I did enjoy the desserts offered, however. My boyfriend and I ordered sirloin tips and mushrooms over rice as our meals, and we were disappointed. Portions weren't nearly as generous as the other Sizzler locations. The meal was drowned in gravy...it was too much. And unfortunately, my man couldn't chew through more than one or two pieces of his sirloin tips because they were so full of gristle.

This location is not representative of the Sizzler restaurant I know and love. I will not be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, Montana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I try to stop at Sizzler's when I am able to and this unit was not up to the regular standars of other Sizzler's. It was also at a very busy intersection about 2 miles from the Hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Sizzler is one of my favorite value meals! It is an all you can eat salad bar at only $7.99 for lunch. It is more than just salad bar, they offer so much more as part of their salad bar such as chicken wings, taco bar, soups and more! You can buy an entree for a couple / few dollars more and it includes the salad bar. Their steaks are always cooked perfectly and have great flavor! Service is always great too.

I've been going to this Sizzler's for decades and they are always consistently good!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sizzler's quality has degraded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although my steak was okay this time, the other three persons in our group found their steaks tough and/or grizzly. One person got a replacement steak and it was still tough.

The four of us go to Sizzler at least once a month and the last few times we found the meat to be of lesser quality.

The soup and salad bar are still very good but the table service we received was only fair. We had to repeatedly request drink refills, napkins, etc. This could be caused by not having enough persons covering the dining room.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“i was expecting less got more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

a friend told us about a Sizzler that was still in business- he said the breakfast buffet was good and i should try it- we went on Sunday morning only day offered (9-3)- was very surprised for 10 dollars a person you get made to order omelets- a huge assortment of eggs ,potatoes- hot links -bacon Mexican potatoes- pancakes -waffles- fresh fruit- salad bar- chicken wings-tacos-salsa bar -spaghetti and meatballs and lot of pasta salads- also all you can drink of orange juice of any other beverage - the place was very clean -restrooms spotless- and a great wait staff- i can see why this one is still there

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sizzler also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sizzler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.