We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, welcoming .... Hated to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley to your Saves list
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085 (Deer Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, welcoming .... Hated to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

EXCELLENT in every respect!! From the moment we entered the door, we were greeted by a bright and cheerie gal, I believe her name was Cindy.... She was warm and welcoming, offering us water.... Just a delight! She invited us to their free 'happy hour', where they served practically a full meal of Teriyaki chicken, salad, chips, rice.... A number of items.... As well as beer, wine, or soft drinks. The room was large, and very clean, with comfortable beds. We only stayed one night, as we had a conference to attend a little further away, but I was sad to leave..... And even sadder when we checked in to the Marriot Canyon Villas, which turned out to be AWFUL! Made us miss the Residence Inn even more!! If you have a car..... Just drive, and stay at Residence Inn! You'll be glad you did!!

Room Tip: They have one and Two bedroom suites. We had a 2 BR suite, which would have been excellent for a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
15
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions during a two-week long vacation and generally liked it. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

The rooms were very clean and still seemed pretty new.

A couple of issues. 90% of the guest are from India who work at the Honeywell plant. The smell of curry is really strong in the hallways as a number of these guests cook in their room while leaving their door ajar. I realize that the smell makes it seem more like home for them, but it is extremely annoying to other guest to smell this place up.

The management seems to accept that there is nothing they can do about this odor. I'd suggest spraying LOTS of Fabreze into the offending rooms until the guests complain about the smell of the Fabreze, then give them the option of keeping their odors in their own rooms versus having to smell offensive odors from the Fabreze. Maintaining the status quo of having smelly hallways is not a professional way to run a property. They seemed to have turned this property over to their Indian guests.

Meal times can also be unpleasant when many of these Indian guests swarm into the food area without much regard for others. I actually have Indian friends, but this hotel needs to be run with regards to other who are paying quite a high price to stay here also.

Room Tip: Ask to 'tour' the property and simply ride the elevator to each level to see which level may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. I apologize that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us and wanted to let you know that since your vacation we have made changes to which companies we have contracted business with and no longer have a large contingent of international guests. We would like to extend an invitation to try the Residence Inn again and experience the changes for yourself. I promise you that we will do everything we can to ensure that you have a more enjoyable stay with us!

Sincerely,
Martina Ward
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this property while on business in Phoenix. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Food selection during breakfast and social hours was delicious and satisfying. Finally, it was nice going to a fitness center where ALL the equipment was working. Its closeness to restaurants, Starbucks and the 101 made for a nice stay. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout the week. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

An excellent hotel with clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds and wonderfully friendly staff. We were made to feel so welcome by Colleen as soon as we stepped into the lobby. Location is easy to find, parking is very convenient and it's walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shops in a safe area. Also just a short drive to Outlets at Anthem. We didn't do any cooking in the room but it was nice to have a kitchen area and dining table. Breakfast is better than your average hotel breakfast and the seating area is nice, clean and spacious. I would not hesistate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We fell victim to a water damage in our house and needed a place for about 2 months. This was perfect.

We didn't need to worry about breakfast or a light supper a few days a week.

Every staff member was super friendly and helpful.

We've always enjoyed the variety of Marriott hotels and the Residence Inn on Happy Valley really made an unfortunate situation better.

Thank you to everybody.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am a Marriott platinum member and stay at a number of Residence Inns. This is one of the cleanest Resi Inns I have stayed at and the staff is very nice, especially the front desk clerk, Colleen.
The only issue we had was with the AC unit in our room. It was really noisy and sounded like a jet engine. We were only there to sleep and did not report it to the staff but I am confident that if we had, they would have moved us immediately. The breakfast was good and I will stay there again when we travel back to Phoenix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We live 2 miles from this hotel. We had to stay there once due to our water softener flooding our home, that visit was 3 or 4 nights. This visit our air-conditioning was being replaced so we had to stay another 3 nights. Our spare rooms at our house are either occupied or tuned into offices, so when friends or family come to town we always book them at the RI (all of our friends and family live half way across the country – so we get a lot of visitors coming to beautiful warm Phoenix).
Pet friendly hotel which is awesome, we love pets!
However during this stay at RI on our first night there our room flooded due to a monsoon storm. We had to walk barefoot down the wet hallway to the lobby to request a new room. We were told that we’d have to go across to the Courtyard to which my husband said we are not walking over there in the middle of a monsoon. Suddenly she found a room for us. The second room didn’t flood but the carpet was soaked along the window side of the bed (kind of icky when you get up in the night and set foot onto a soggy carpet). Both rooms (once wet) smelled of wet dog. Finally on our last night we were moved up to a room on the second floor and they took $40 off our bill for our inconvenience. The room was fine but the entire second floor including our room reeked of some kind of “ethnic” food, and the windows do not open in the rooms, so no airing it out. We dealt with it and finally got to go home the next day.
The most ALARMING PART HOWEVER IS THAT…..
Upon review of our credit card statement online a few days later we discovered that we were charged a pet fee and a damage fee (which nobody informed us about and was not on our receipts). So, my husband called because clearly there is some sort of simple mistake we are sure. Mr. Trenton Keelen (the Assistant General Manager) called back. Upon discussion he explained that we had a pet in the room and that the ottoman and the bed skirt were damaged by our pet. My husband explained that we did not have a pet in the room, we have a pet but she stays with the neighbors as we watch each others pets when need be. Mr. Keelen said that the ottoman was worn and that the bed skirt had a tear on the hem. My husband explained that could just be normal wear and tear on a room and certainly it wasn’t from us, perhaps someone’s shoe caught the bed skirt, or maybe the housekeepers vacuum - who knows! And ottomans wear out but not from us being there one night never mind the fact that we didn’t sit in the living area and didn’t even use the ottoman. Mr. Keelen took off the $315 dollar damage fee and refused to refund us the $100 pet fee claiming that “a pet has definitely been in that room”. My husband explained that there is not doubt a pet had likely been in that room – the place is full of pets, but WE did not have a pet in our room, never have before when staying there and certainly not on our last night at the hotel. Heck, one woman even had her dog down at the breakfast table, there is no doubt there are pets around – but not ours The most we would be guilty of is having pet hair on our belongings, but certainly no pet of ours in the room. And we certainly didn’t damage their furniture (which the Mr. Keelen finally admitted). So beware, you may get socked for extra fees and then have to spend plenty of time trying to get them reversed (and you may not even be successful at that). We are both Marriott Elite members, have their credit cards and the whole bit, we both travel frequently, we have used this RI for ourselves twice but for family and friends for almost 8 years now. Here forward we will be referring anyone that comes to visit us over to the Homewood Suites….just as nice and just as close.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor due to flooding in monsoon weather. Stay off second floor due to no ventil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello,
I apologize you had a less than amazing experience with us. Please know that was never our intention. Our number one priority is that our guests enjoy themselves while they are here. Although we’ve already been in contact, I would like to connect again to offer my sincerest apologies and an ear to an additional feedback you may have. Thank you for your feedback, as it is always valuable.

Sincerely, Trenton Keelen (Assistant General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Address: 2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#30 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#32 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Phoenix North Happy Valley is a convenient location for catching a game at Surprise Stadium or the University of Phoenix Stadium, or shopping at Norterra and Happy Valley Town Center. Guest rooms feature a full kitchen, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and fine bedding. The property also offers complimentary hot breakfast and evening reception, a heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and is even pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.