We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085 (Deer Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas in July 20% Off
Ranked #22 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
Cleveland
1 review
“Very nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this property while on business in Phoenix. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Food selection during breakfast and social hours was delicious and satisfying. Finally, it was nice going to a fitness center where ALL the equipment was working. Its closeness to restaurants, Starbucks and the 101 made for a nice stay. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout the week. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
12
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

An excellent hotel with clean and spacious rooms, comfy beds and wonderfully friendly staff. We were made to feel so welcome by Colleen as soon as we stepped into the lobby. Location is easy to find, parking is very convenient and it's walking distance to a variety of restaurants and shops in a safe area. Also just a short drive to Outlets at Anthem. We didn't do any cooking in the room but it was nice to have a kitchen area and dining table. Breakfast is better than your average hotel breakfast and the seating area is nice, clean and spacious. I would not hesistate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We fell victim to a water damage in our house and needed a place for about 2 months. This was perfect.

We didn't need to worry about breakfast or a light supper a few days a week.

Every staff member was super friendly and helpful.

We've always enjoyed the variety of Marriott hotels and the Residence Inn on Happy Valley really made an unfortunate situation better.

Thank you to everybody.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I am a Marriott platinum member and stay at a number of Residence Inns. This is one of the cleanest Resi Inns I have stayed at and the staff is very nice, especially the front desk clerk, Colleen.
The only issue we had was with the AC unit in our room. It was really noisy and sounded like a jet engine. We were only there to sleep and did not report it to the staff but I am confident that if we had, they would have moved us immediately. The breakfast was good and I will stay there again when we travel back to Phoenix.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We live 2 miles from this hotel. We had to stay there once due to our water softener flooding our home, that visit was 3 or 4 nights. This visit our air-conditioning was being replaced so we had to stay another 3 nights. Our spare rooms at our house are either occupied or tuned into offices, so when friends or family come to town we always book them at the RI (all of our friends and family live half way across the country – so we get a lot of visitors coming to beautiful warm Phoenix).
Pet friendly hotel which is awesome, we love pets!
However during this stay at RI on our first night there our room flooded due to a monsoon storm. We had to walk barefoot down the wet hallway to the lobby to request a new room. We were told that we’d have to go across to the Courtyard to which my husband said we are not walking over there in the middle of a monsoon. Suddenly she found a room for us. The second room didn’t flood but the carpet was soaked along the window side of the bed (kind of icky when you get up in the night and set foot onto a soggy carpet). Both rooms (once wet) smelled of wet dog. Finally on our last night we were moved up to a room on the second floor and they took $40 off our bill for our inconvenience. The room was fine but the entire second floor including our room reeked of some kind of “ethnic” food, and the windows do not open in the rooms, so no airing it out. We dealt with it and finally got to go home the next day.
The most ALARMING PART HOWEVER IS THAT…..
Upon review of our credit card statement online a few days later we discovered that we were charged a pet fee and a damage fee (which nobody informed us about and was not on our receipts). So, my husband called because clearly there is some sort of simple mistake we are sure. Mr. Trenton Keelen (the Assistant General Manager) called back. Upon discussion he explained that we had a pet in the room and that the ottoman and the bed skirt were damaged by our pet. My husband explained that we did not have a pet in the room, we have a pet but she stays with the neighbors as we watch each others pets when need be. Mr. Keelen said that the ottoman was worn and that the bed skirt had a tear on the hem. My husband explained that could just be normal wear and tear on a room and certainly it wasn’t from us, perhaps someone’s shoe caught the bed skirt, or maybe the housekeepers vacuum - who knows! And ottomans wear out but not from us being there one night never mind the fact that we didn’t sit in the living area and didn’t even use the ottoman. Mr. Keelen took off the $315 dollar damage fee and refused to refund us the $100 pet fee claiming that “a pet has definitely been in that room”. My husband explained that there is not doubt a pet had likely been in that room – the place is full of pets, but WE did not have a pet in our room, never have before when staying there and certainly not on our last night at the hotel. Heck, one woman even had her dog down at the breakfast table, there is no doubt there are pets around – but not ours The most we would be guilty of is having pet hair on our belongings, but certainly no pet of ours in the room. And we certainly didn’t damage their furniture (which the Mr. Keelen finally admitted). So beware, you may get socked for extra fees and then have to spend plenty of time trying to get them reversed (and you may not even be successful at that). We are both Marriott Elite members, have their credit cards and the whole bit, we both travel frequently, we have used this RI for ourselves twice but for family and friends for almost 8 years now. Here forward we will be referring anyone that comes to visit us over to the Homewood Suites….just as nice and just as close.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor due to flooding in monsoon weather. Stay off second floor due to no ventil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Manager at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello,
I apologize you had a less than amazing experience with us. Please know that was never our intention. Our number one priority is that our guests enjoy themselves while they are here. Although we’ve already been in contact, I would like to connect again to offer my sincerest apologies and an ear to an additional feedback you may have. Thank you for your feedback, as it is always valuable.

Sincerely, Trenton Keelen (Assistant General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I started this trip out by staying at another Residence Inn that had been renovated this past year. It was awful, smelled bad, dirty parking lot, duct tape wrapped around the door into the building, horrible bed, etc. I checked out in the morning, versus spending the 14 nights I had booked, and moved to this Residence Inn. It is in a wonderful location, wonderful staff, very clean, lots of nice restaurants around and a safe walking area. This is where I will book in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here with points and drove in from the Phoenix airport. It is located off the highway and close to many shops and restaurants including a Starbucks. Colleen at the front desk was fantastic and extremely helpful. She made sure we had plenty of towels and soap. I told her I was a light sleeper and she put us in a suite in the back corner far away from any noise. I slept very well that night! Suite has a stove, oven, microwave, full size refridgerator/freezer and dishwasher. Complimentary breakfast downstairs in the morning was great with cold and hot dishes including a waffle station. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Address: 2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#36 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Phoenix North Happy Valley is a convenient location for catching a game at Surprise Stadium or the University of Phoenix Stadium, or shopping at Norterra and Happy Valley Town Center. Guest rooms feature a full kitchen, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and fine bedding. The property also offers complimentary hot breakfast and evening reception, a heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and is even pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.