We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant. W everything top rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085 (Deer Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
1 review
“Very pleasant. W everything top rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My first visit. Staff was great right off the bat. Very helpful. Room was very clean and more than I expected for the price! I would surely stay here again. The location was wonderful. This has been one of my best hotel stays.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
13
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We take our golden retriever with us frequently so I am always looking for good places to stay. This was a great stay. Room is very quiet, which was amazing because we were right by the door to the outside. It's a mile from the freeway and close to shopping but doesn't "feel" like you are in a busy area. Hard for dogs in Az but there is are three grassy areas by the pool and we walked 3 miles each morning around the office and shopping buildings in the area felt very safe. Coleen at the front desk was fantastic. I had made reservations for a one room suite for the weekend but hadn't been able to find one for the next two days. Explained the situation to her when we checked in and she immediately started working on letting us stay in the room for the whole visit. She called us about 10 minutes after we checked in and told us we would for sure be able to stay Sunday night and then on Saturday called and let us know we could stay there the whole time. She had been watching for cancellations and grabbed us the room as soon as one came in. She went way out of her way to help us and was super friendly. The room, as well as all the common areas and the outside areas, were very clean and well kept. If you have a dog take the loop to Roosevelt reservoir. Went through Scottsdale on 87 then to 188 and back down the 88. Great trip and the dog loved the reservoir.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very glad to hear that you and your golden retriever enjoyed your experience with us, we understand that our guest's pets are part of your family and how important it can be to bring him / her along with you, especially when you are going to be gone for an extended period of time. I'm also glad that Colleen took such good care of you, although it is no surprise because she is one of our front desk super stars! We hope to have an opportunity to host you and your pet stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Martina Ward
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm so happy we stayed at this hotel while in the Phoenix area. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms and grounds were spotless. There is nice seating areas outside to enjoy the beautiful AZ weather along with a grill if you would like to have a bbq. The kids enjoyed the pool and tennis courts. The only downside, and this is no fault of the hotel, were some of the guests. I'm not sure how many people were staying in some of the rooms, but they would take plates upon plates of breakfast and dinner up to their rooms. The hotel is conviently located off of the highway and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. It is about a half hour drive from the hotel (north of the airport) and a half hour drive to spring training at Camelback (east of Camelback).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley presents a comfortable and clean hotel with ample breakfast daily and dinner on three evenings. The reception desk workers were always eager to help with information and prompt to fix problems. Our bathroom drain was sluggish and quickly the problem was remedied. I didn't rate the hotel 5 stars since the two bedroom/two bath suite had bedrooms which were on the small side for four adults. One bathroom faces the bed so it is difficult to maintain quiet and privacy if another person is sleeping. However, every other amenity was excellent such as the strong shower with tub, absorbant towels and king beds. The food offered was always adequate and replaced when needed with hot/cold choices. The dining area could have been larger with more tables, but much depends on the number of individuals staying. The suite includes a large size refrigerator/freezer and stove with oven along with table and chairs. Located close to plenty of shopping and restaurants and convenient if traveling north of Phoenix. However, over a half hour to Sky Harbor Airport and the downtown area by car. Basketball court and outdoor pool were not used by us.

Room Tip: High floor and away from end doors and elevators for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I always expect a nice well equipped suite at Residence Inns, but this hotel stands out. The property is exceptionally clean and well maintained, the staff excellent, and a great included breakfast and evening manager's reception. When all of that is factored into the room rate, it is very reasonably priced. It is near lots of shopping and good restaurants, it is some distance from downtown Phoenix, but it works for us and we live in northern Arizona, so it makes for a quick exit to the freeway and home, avoiding Phoenix traffic. It is on a quite side street, so I think all the rooms are quiet, and yet within walking distance of the shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Residence Inn Happy Valley north of Phoenix for a night on way to Flagstaff, Arizona. It was a wonderful experience, Receptionist was pleasant and courteous. She was very efficient in checking us in, since we booked the rooms online she had everything ready when we arrived. Room was clean and spacious and everything was working well and beds were very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful with variety of things for everyone. You can have cereal, pastry, scrambled eggs, fruit sausage potatoes or make your own waffles. Quality of food was very good. Considering number of people eating breakfast, they never ran out of things. Hostess was very prompt replenishing the items.

PG Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Residence Inn. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with a quick and efficient check in so they can get the most of all that we have to offer. I will pass on your compliments to our staff. Thank you once again.

Martina Ward
Director of Sales
623.580.8833
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS, NV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've never been to Happy Valley before but decided on Residence Inn for a sporting event in nearby Peoria. The hotel was clean and rooms are accommodating, even when traveling with kids! The front desk was more than happy to get us into our room at noon instead of 3! The basketball court, swimming poot, and exercise room were great. Close to everything, Walmart, Movies, a cute little outdoor mall with boutique shops. I highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina_ward, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience at the Residence Inn Phoenix North Happy Valley. I am delighted you had an opportunity to experience the hotel’s amenities and services such as our heated outdoor pool and Sport Court for basketball, volleyball and badminton. I’m glad that our front desk took great care of you, we are very proud of our guest service scores, and are in the top 8% of all Residence Inns for Arrival Experience on Marriott’s Guest Satisfaction Surveys! I hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again very soon.

Martina Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Address: 2035 West Whispering Wind Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#25 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Phoenix North Happy Valley is a convenient location for catching a game at Surprise Stadium or the University of Phoenix Stadium, or shopping at Norterra and Happy Valley Town Center. Guest rooms feature a full kitchen, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and fine bedding. The property also offers complimentary hot breakfast and evening reception, a heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and is even pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Phoenix North/Happy Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.