We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Beers and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carly's Bistro

Carly's Bistro
128 E Roosevelt St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1941
602-262-2759
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 2,466 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Beers and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's nice to see a mom-and-pop place open up in downtown Phoenix, just beyond the shadows of the hotels and stadiums. Carly's has an exhaustive beer selection and a unique menu. It's a great spot beyond all the chain restaurants and sports bars in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for Third Friday or anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have to confess, Carly's is one of those places the locals know and others stumble across. Lots of folks will talk about the fresh salads, great sandwiches, assortment of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beers. I'd just like to say that if you want an insider tip, go out on "Third Friday", NOT "First Friday", if you like to stroll Roosevelt Street and see great art AND have a good Carly's Bistro experience. They just get swamped on First Fridays.

What's First Friday?

http://artlinkphoenix.com

Second insider tip; great jazz brunch on Sundays and then open jazz jam all afternoon.

You are welcome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The family loved it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

First Fridays adventure was complete with a visit to Carlys. Decided to do something off the wall and go to First Fridays in Downtown Phoenix. This place was a welcome addition to the night. The sandwitches were great. I had the Santa Fe, the Girl had the Ex-Patriot, Hijo One had the Gyro and Hijo two had the Cuban. Everyone enjoyed the food. The restaurant was basic no frills here and Very crowded. Givin the chaotic atmosphere the service was well above average. Smiles from the staff are always appreciated. It was very noisy when we were there so be cautioned. The bar and the dining room are right on top of each other. Had no issues taking my kids there. Will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Panini's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We the southwest chicken panini and it was awesome! They had a pretty large wine selection for being such a small place. I had what i think was called Spring Garden, it was a cocktail made with Hendricks Gin and fresh muddled strawberries and basil, it was delish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I brought twelve colleagues to this quirky and eclectic restaurant as part of a conference we were attending. First of all, it is a short walk from the convention center, so that was lovely. Secondly, they took our order in advance so we were able to eat and get back to the conference in plenty of time. For my part, I had a fig and prosciutto pannini that was outstanding and I recommend the iced tea, a Carly's blend. The place is fun and the service was great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carly's Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carly's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.