We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hidden get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's French Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sophie's French Bistro
2320 E Osborn Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85016-6622 (Camelback East)
602-956-8897
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My hidden get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I treasure Sophie's as my quiet lunchtime get-away as well as my perfect place for dinner with friends. Thomas is my favorite waiter who has excellent timing of the courses. The onion soup is more onion than broth but everything else on the menu is better than imagined. Had the Coq au Vin today for lunch - what an indulgence. The prices are high for Phoenix but you're paying for the experience, quality ingredients and a change from the typical Mexican cuisine that is typically Phoenix. Go to Sophie's - you'll love it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant.com Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We purchased the restaurant.com certificate which was valid for lunch or dinner. When menus came to the table, the waiter proceeded that only the dinner items on the menu were valid for the restaurant.com coupons. The prices started at $19 and up. We went for the lobster bisque and they had no soup. What a disappointment. I think they need to redo their coupon on Restaurant.com to state that only the dinner items are valid. Service was extremely slow and there were only 4 tables filled at lunch time. I won't return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect little Bistro Ala France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Sophies is a hidden Gem in Phoenix ,Az the food is to die for service is excellent wine list is great and the decor and vibe is small french bistro in Paris. We tried a little bit of everything from Escargo, to great soups, salads, and fantastic deserts topped off by a great expresso. The wine list was very good and during happy hour 4pm to 6pm daily is outstanding wine, apple martinis, and much more for $6.00. very romantic setting or great dining for friends and special nights out. This is a very down to earth Bistro were regulars go and people who know food will continue to go too. We have eaten in french Bistros all over in Beverly Hills, San Diego, Miami, St. Martin, and in Paris and enjoyed this place as much Highly recommend a visit for lunch or dinner or just happy hour. Also not overly expensive the owner is French and that is a plus for a french bistro.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We really enjoyed the Lobster Bisque and both had salads - the bread was something you could each all night and likely not finish your dinner!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“French food without the snobbery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our party of four tried Sophie's for a special occasion after many years of hearing good things about this restaurant and we were glad we did. With paintings on the wall, linen tableclothes, and cloth napkins in quirky napkin rings, it's a fun place to eat without that overly formal feel. You'll want to wear nice clothes, but you won't feel you have to wear the height of fashion, or order the priciest wine to impress the waiter. The server we had was very nice and answered all our questions. When one person ordered steak and fries, he didn't blink an eye. He also paced each course perfectly. Our meal began with a tasty roll we could dip in oil and vinegar--and not the kind that seems stale on the outside. We were glad to split one brie appetizer among four people (the cheese and pastry are as creamy and rich as you would desire). Skip the baguette slices--save your carbs for that roll or the dessert crepe. The garden salad's dressing will spoil you for other dressings, as it tastes pure and homemade. For the main course, my scallops were tender not chewy. They came with a faintly-licorice flavored fennel slaw that complemented the scallops perfectly and the whole meal arranged elegantly on the plate. Midway through the meal we were already planning to return and try the quiche and crepes. My husband's steak and fries were not as pretty (no garnish of rosemary there), but the bite of steak I tried was deeply tender and cooked to perfection. Complimentary port in honor of the occasion was a fun way to celebrate, too. Whatever variety it was, its sweetness and warmth made me vow to celebrate other occasions with an after-dinner drink now and then. The dessert crepe was a gorgeously glamorous affair, set afire by the waiter with our choice of grand marnier liquor. It tasted light with a sweet sauce--but not cloyingly so, and the perfect ending to an absolutely fun and fantastic meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's French Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's French Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.