We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$16 off room rate
Ranked #20 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were really aprehensive about staying in the downtown area of Phoenix due to its past reprutation, but upon arrival we found ABVIPH very pleasant and clean. The manager was very nice as well. We will definately keep this hotel in our future stays downtown. This location will also be recommened since it is also very close to I-10 and I-17

Room Tip: We requested a downstairs room simple fact we weren't sure what time we what time we would be ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear, sir
Thank you for mention about reputation of the area, lots of people think that because of due to past, our location is very suitable, safe, and comfortable for downtown visitors, we are very happy to hear that you would like to stay with us again for your future stay, appreciate for your recommendation to other, simply give us a call for your future reservation need, we will make your stay more comfortable.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    212
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
121
73
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were on a roadtrip, stopping in Phoenix for just one night. At first sight, it wasn't a great palace, but we were just looking for a cheap place to sleep. But when we entered the room: Awesome, it was all new and really clean. Lot a space, comfortable, a suit for the price of a motel.
We recommend it a LOT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear, Sir
Thank you for your short and sweet comment for us, your few word make our face smiley, and its lot for our future guest who looking place near downtown, excellent value of the price is our promise to all guests!! Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location - easy access to all of Phoenix Downtown attractions and public transport. The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and any issues with the room. The rooms were clean and comfortable with aircon, TV, mini fridge, microwave and a good shower. The included breakfast consisted of danish pastries, fruit, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee which you collected from the reception area and ate in your room. A big bonus was the free shuttle to the airport. I stayed one night and returned again for another 2 nights where I was upgraded to a bigger room. My one complaint was no TV reception at one stage. Would definitely stay here again as the price was very reasonable for such a convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear, guest we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, your comments make us happy, and it’s give us a more confidence to do better and better, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with our future guests, we are very proud of our guest like you! we are waiting to welcoming you again!! Let us know ahead we will make your stay enjoyable.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very friendly staff. Manager truly dedicated to his customers. Free WiFi and free shuttle service. A 15 minute walk from downtown. Good experience! The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are fairly quiet. Nice relaxing time when we were in the room.

Room Tip: Super comfortable beds!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good! The showers had a lot of pressure and we were told that they were water saver shower heads. Almost like having a massage in the shower. Good idea! Most hotels have very poor water pressure.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear, Sir
we glade that you enjoy your stay with us, thank you for taking time to sharing your experience on tripadvisor , your feedback is very helpful for us to improve service and also for future travelers, we are very proud to having guest like you, for your next trip give us call directly, we will make your stay enjoyable again!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MN
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had never been to Phoenix before, The manager is what we all wish we had for employees Best customer service I have seen in several years. Pleasant, friendly, extremely helpful. Room was clean, bed comfortable, large screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and wireless internet. This hotel may not have a big company name, but like I said big on hospitality! I would recommend anyone staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor, this is what I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, and had a excellent service from our staff, our all staff member committed to do their best as much as they can, thank you for pointed our room amenities and cleanliness, and yes our company not have a big name but our goal is big for customer service, that you got it from us, we are very proud to having you again and again, for your future reservation need simply give us a call we will happy to assist you. thank you so much for your kind comment.!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very helpful in sorting out the mix up with our airport pick up.
The room itself was clean and of a good size, but slightly dated. The shower had good pressure and the bed was clean and comfy.

The hotel location was not brilliant.

Breakfast was set out at reception which wasn't open when we got there, we later found that you needed to ring the bell on the reception door for access. Breakfast was tea/coffee/juice and pre packed breakfast bars. No fresh milk. Fresh fruit was also available. There was no seating so you had to take your breakfast back to your room. I would not recommend the breakfast.

Overall this hotel is a good clean budget level hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear, guest thank you for brief comments about your stay, we are happy to hear that you had a great service form our staff, also you enjoy room amenities, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast which is true, but we are under progress for fix this issue as soon as possible, hope we done before your next stay, that’s how we will show you our best hospitality to our valuable guest like you. give as a chance to serve you again, we will make your breakfast enjoyable. Hope to serve you again!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Or, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here, there always friendly & helpful & accomadating... my 'only' complaint was the TV kept going off about every 20 minutes, but came right back on. Other wise, I plan on staying there again next year! It's only a few blocks to the lite~rail, & take that right to Chase Field! Niceee......, plenty of shops downtown, & fun places to grab a drink & food, & even catch a movie!
Thanx Sam & family & employees!!!

Room Tip: had a lower room, semi close to the office, ice machine, & laundry facilities...it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
As a returning guest we are very thankful from our heart to write a review for us, we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, we are sorry for TV problem that you having it, but as per our email conversation we figure out your room number and fix that minor problem right away, thank you for your response to our email. We glad that you enjoy our location and downtown attraction. We will be defiantly your host again when you are in phoenix, for you future reservation need please give us a call directly we will taking care of you. hope to see you again!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.