We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 star hotel Room in a Budget Hotel- Super value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$16 off room rate
Ranked #20 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A 4 star hotel Room in a Budget Hotel- Super value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered my room. I never expected that a budget hotel will have such a well decorated, crispy clean and plush room. Location is ideal for the business as well as pleasure visitor. Very central ( down town) and lots of nice activities with a miles radius. Don't go for the exterior, importantly it is your room that matters. Specially the mattresses were one of the most comfortable I have slept on.

Will certainly stay with you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule, we glad that you enjoy your stay, customers satisfaction is important for us, we provide clean, comfortable room with affordable price, we are appreciate for your best compliments for us, we are proud to serve you again when you are in phoenix!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    212
    44
    5
    5
See reviews for
57
122
73
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights for Dodgers games. It is in a great location if you are in Phoenix to see a baseball or basketball game. We walked to the stadium which allows you to see a lot of the cool bars and restaurants along the way. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very polite.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear, sir thank you for staying with us, we are proudly located in downtown near to the all major destination, also the diamondback stadium is very close form us like 10-15 minute walking distance so it’s very convenient for sports lover, thank you for your kind comments for us, waiting to welcoming you again!! Thank you again!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We'd read the reviews but were still a little apprehensive as this was the first motel stay of our trip.
- The reception was dingy but our room was newly refurbished (and looked it) and was small but clean. The shower was powerful too and fresh towels provided. We were happy especially considering the price we paid. There is also free parking right attached to the hotel.
- We didn't try the free breakfast because..... well it's a motel.....I'm surprised other reviewers were expecting amazing catering along with their cheap room. We were just happy it was clean. I'd definitely recommend this for an overnight stop. I would have rated it excellent if thee hadn't been building work.

- The problems we found were that it was difficult to pull in and out of the car park (there is a very busy main road).
- There was building work going on at the time of our stay with pneumatic drilling starting at 7am. As we were only staying one night and had to leave early this wasn't a problem (though it did make for a headache while getting up).
- The air conditioning is very noisy though it did keep the room cool.

- Things to do - if you want barbecue we went to Honey Bear's BBQ nearby which was cheap and had huge portions. We got a half rack of ribs between two which was more than enough.
- There also lots of gun ranges nearby that welcome beginners (like shooters world) if you want to give that a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear, sir thank you for your brief review for us, we are sorry to hear that you had a little inconvenience because of construction work, but we are done with it, this is part of our new upgrade for guest, we are defiantly sure that you will enjoy your next stay with us with lots of upgrade, thank you for your suggestion about office, we are still working to make it more comfortable for our future guest like you, hope it’s done soon, so we can serve you better and make you more happy, give us a call for your future reservation need, we are proud to serve you again.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The rooms were very nice and clean, and the location is great. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. There is ample parking space for anyone driving a car. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank for your best compliments for our property, cleanliness is our first priority, we glad that you enjoy your stay with us, also thankful for appreciation to staff, we are proud to serve you again, when you are in phoenix area simply give us a call we will taking care of you.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great motel. The room was clean and quite large. The bathroom very good with an awesome shower. The television impressive. The air conditioner was understandably noise at times because OK it was coping with temperatures in excess of 100F. This room is great value without the breakfast. Better for them not to offer free breakfast, then people would not moan about it. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear, sir appreciate for your kind comment for our property, our all rooms is renovated with latest furniture and amenities, also we offer flat screen TV with more than 100 HD channel for entertainment, we are working for improving breakfast, thank you for your comment about our staff, hope to see you again in phoenix!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

room was smaller than i expected .the so called continental breakfast left little to be desired,consisting of orange juice and a danish.not to mention having to take it back to the room.i was also aked if i could be helped from the desk clerk ,as if i shouldnt be there or something.makes me wonder how many people come off the street to dine on this unacceptable continental breakfast.having to pay for ice was absurd even if it was only 25 cents.i will not be staying there again if i come to downtown Phoenix.will stay down the street and pay more for better breakfast,better rooms and better hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback, sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast, as per previous review response we reply same that we are under progress for new breakfast area, also guest don’t have to pay for the ice but for security there is a charge for the ice, guest can get coin from front desk, hope you give us one more chance to serve you and show our best hospitality, thank you.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The general experience of this reasonably priced hotel was good until next morning when we were hungry and wanted breakfast. It turned out that breakfast consisted of a few rotten bananas some industrial coffee and plastic bag muffins. Yes, I'm picky with my breakfast, which is the most important meal of the day, but still, most people wouldn't call this breakfast. However if you don't care about breakfast the place was nice. They had many commercial free TV channels, wifi that worked decently and a washer and dryer, which we were in dire need of. It is located close to a very good pizza place (CIBO), which we can recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast, you are right that breakfast is important meal for the day that we understand, but your next visit will be surprise for you because its under progress with new updates, thank you for comments about room and other amenities, your review is very important for us to improve our service timely, hope you will give us a chance to serve you again, our promise to serve better breakfast for guest like you. thank you.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.