We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happily Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

To be honest, I was a little worried. The price of this hotel is very deceptive!!! The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was a little loud but besides that it was great. The breakfast was a little unhealthy. the only thing they had were bananas and junk food. But I would still stay there again. The staff was super friendly. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear, sir
“now you sure no worried next time” !!! thank you for your kind remark about your stay, feel sorry to hear about your air conditioning issue, but next time if you have any inconvenience inform to our front desk they will happy to take care you, also about breakfast we are working on it, and we are so happy to hear that you like to stay with us again, our proud staff is waiting to serve you again, so happy about your eco sound “CLEAN” that’s our primary goal. Thank you so much.

-Sam
manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    226
    50
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
135
79
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Solid 4 stars for this nice hotel. The location is perfect, a 10-minute walk from Phoenix downtown and close to the main highways. Room are very clean, and the huge TV is a bonus, not seen in many much more expensive hotels. The owners are very friendly, hospitable and helpful. With a free transport to and from the airport there is nothing to complain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
GREAT!!Happy with your 4 solid stars, and thank you for your short and sweet description about our location and service, as a budget motel we do our best as much as we can, and we proud of our staff who provide great hospitality to our guest, also we thankful to you that you mention about our complimentary airport transport service. We have confidence that we will be your host again when you are in phoenix!!! hope its happen soon. Thank you for your time.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Hotel is newly renovated, and not far from Downtown. The parking lot is right in front of the Hotel. We arrived at 4 am and we still got checked in. Perfect place to sleep and do something all day. If we had questions the reception also was there to help us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your review title is make us happy, for our guest convenience we do our best as much as we can, and yes for your best service we are available for you 24/7 and our staff was happy to answer all your questions, thank you so much for taking time to write your feedback for us, and hope we will be your host again when you are in phoenix area.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am giving this place a solid four stars in my book. The service here was good and they answered any questions we had during our stay. Television has a ton of channels and there is free local and long distance calls. They also have free transportation to and from the airport, provided you give them enough notice. Join the Value Club and get a free room upgrade if available. We were upgraded to a king, which was very nice of them.

The place is newly remodeled and clean. The bed is quite comfortable. The have a little fridge in room and a microwave. I wish they had a coffee maker too though. You can hear some noise from outside at times (mostly traffic and those strange people who don't seem to understand others might be sleeping while they let their room doors slam shut). For this I just recommend some good ear plugs. That did the trick for me.

Some people on the site have been a little put off by the location of this motel but it's actually close to the center of downtown and far removed from the "seedy" side of Van Buren. Don't let this deter you at all. This is in a good location - close to the light rail, buses and less than a fifteen minute walk to the US Airways Arena.

We didn't try the small "breakfast" offering they had but it didn't seem like much. We just went to Matt's Big Breakfast instead or had some bananas and granola bars in the room.

I'd stay here again for the value, service and close proximity to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are so proud of our self to hear that you giving us solid four stars (do our best to get five from you), because as per your tripadvisor profile seems like you visited lots of hotels and cities that’s how you had a good experience with hospitality, we appreciate that you mention everything in your review, we are sorry for your inconvenience about doors and traffic noise. We will make your next stay more enjoyable that’s promise.

Waiting to welcoming you again in phoenix!!

-Sam
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Sedona. The rooms have been recently renovated and were very clean. Sam was extremely pleasant and very helpful. For the morning we had booked the shuttle back to the airport and even though Sam called to ensure that they were on their way, he insisted on driving us to the airport himself to make sure that we were in time to catch our shuttle to Sedona. We would definitely stay here again and hope that the hotel chain appreciates what an amazing employee that Sam is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and our staff. We believe that we have the best employees, we are proud of their professionalism and their caring attitude towards the guests. I am glad that is evident to our guests. your kind comment and appreciation is the best price for me thanks a lot.
I am sure we are your host again when you are in phoenix!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My three night stay was very comfortable. Super friendly staff, very clean room, great bed, and plenty of hot water in the newly remodeled bathroom. ABVI is close enough to the Convention Center that my friend and I were easily able to walk there and back each day....very pleasant way to see more of downtown Phoenix. The complimentary airport shuttle was also very beneficial in helping to stretch our budget dollars. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who wants a clean, friendly, economical place to stay while visiting downtown Phoenix.

Room Tip: Give yourself plenty of time when scheduling the complimentary airport shuttle. We experienced a sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We have a unique location being near convention center and PHX airport, business destinations as well, As you said Super friendly staff, very clean room, great bed, and plenty of hot water in the newly remodeled bathroom, so our guests are assured of enjoyable stay. Thank you that you would like to recommend our place to other travelers.

We look forward to your next stay with us soon.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I agree completely with with Kristen G.......
"The hotel is very walkable to downtown and the recently refurbished rooms are clean and modern. Sam and his family are gracious hosts and go out of their way to make my stay an easy one. I like that they have fresh fruit in the mornings (apples and bananas) along with coffee, juice, and packaged pastries. ABVI is a bargain - and a nice place to stay. The best kept secret in Downtown Phoenix." The tv stations are in HD!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the newer rooms as one of our friends had an older room and it wasn't as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our recently refurbished downtown location . appreciate for your kind remarks about out proud staff. Visit us again when you return to the Phoenix area. I hope it is sometime soon. look forward to welcoming you back to the ABVI Phoenix.
Thank you

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#20 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#30 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.