We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and nice rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003 (Central City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #19 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and nice rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wow, what a surprise! The rooms are very nice. The office staff is exceptional and the shuttle to the airport was convenient. We were able to park our vehicle there for a minimal fee. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about ABVIPHOENIX. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you can stay with us again when you come back to Phoenix. Our friendly staff is here to assist you with your hotel needs, our shuttle service is very helpful for our guest who traveling like you. Thank you for your business.
! Happy Holiday !

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    204
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
119
73
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Americas Best Value Inn for a week in October. The rooms have recently been nicely refurbished, including a very comfortable bed! It has all the things you would expect such as hair dryer, giant TV and speedy Wifi. Like what is mentioned in the other reviews, "breakfast" consists of fruit, coffee and pastries. However, the room contained a fridge and microwave which is helpful if you want to bring your own breakfast goods. There was free parking available onsite. All of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. The price is right and the location is good (close to Central Ave and Light Rail). I would stay there again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate you for taking time to sharing your comments about your stay at ABVIPHOENIX. We take pride in providing our guests with clean, comfortable sleeping accommodations as well as excellent customer service. We proud of our staff and service for your great service, we are so happy to hear that you like to stay with us again and recommend to others that means a lots for us, look forward to hosting your next stay in phoenix.
!!!Happy Holiday!!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great price for newly renovated rooms, tastefully done. Neighborhood is OK. Don't miss the Italian restaurant 1 block away on 5th - Cibo. Close to downtown. Great staff. WiFi, fridge, microwave, parking.

Room Tip: I liked the corner room 122
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to your feedback, its short and sweet and yes, CIBO is one of the most popular restaurant in phoenix and its close from us, also we are very thankful to you for mention our all amenities and our proud staff, thank you again for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, see you again in phoenix.
!!!! HAPPY HOLIDAY !!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the hotel and it was fine........room was clean and newly renovated with flat screen TV and comfortable bed. The desk personnel were friendly and eager to help with any questions regarding area attractions, restaurants and local transportation. Hotel is 10 minute walk to downtown and bus/metro service.
The only minus is the breakfast and eating area. The manager assured me this was being addressed and would be rectified in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at ABVI, We are glad you had a good stay with us, and we proud that we have really helpful staff in our team ,and we know about breakfast area that you pointed we are working on it hope we will be make it success, see you back in Phoenix again, our staff is waiting to welcoming you!
!!HAPPY HOLIDAY!!

-Sam
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spend more than a week in the hotel. Room was OK, clean and made each day, personnel was kind and helpful. location excellent for goal: congress in Phoenix congress center, 10 minutes walk. Excellent Wifi in room, free parking place and phone in US. Self-service and well filled information centre for Phoenix and surrounding. Well isolated: Almost no noise from nearby busy road and airport. Bed clean and good, Large screen TV with lot of channels (but no list, maybe since system just changed). Only minus is breakfast: Only one small stand table with bananas and apples, small and (for my European taste) very sweet bites, coffee and orange juice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind breakfast then an good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with our recently renovated facilities, it is our pleasure to serve the guests like you who understand value of our service, also you pointed about breakfast service we promises to you make perfect as much as possible, also we recently change TV service with more than 100 HD channel with HBO and ESPN for entertainment to our guest, we added channels guides also, we appreciate your time and value your opinion from that we will make our mission to success. Thank you and we will wait to welcoming you again in phoenix, HAPPY HOLIDAY!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was the worst EVER, I feel like I was staying in a ghetto hotel, it wasn't in downtown, it's in a very bad area,right when I check in, the office smells really bad..didn't even ask for my ID to see if I'm the one who book this room, and when I got to the room it was ok but there was aunts on the night stand, No water pressure at all.and the bed was hard.... The carpet was dirty... Overall I rate this hotel an F
We will never stay here again

Room Tip: Don't stay here....the pictures on this webpage will fool you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write you feedback, I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I looked at the issues that you pointed out, and could not find any issues with the room that you were in. But this is not to say that we did not meet your standards, and for this I am truly sorry. I hope that this experience does not deter you from returning, so that we may continue to show you that we understand the true meaning of great guest services.

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room was clean, the noise wasn't bad, and the front desk seemed friendly. We only stayed one night, but it went fine. We did have several bags which were a pain to carry up the steps. The breakfast was lacking with just coffee and packaged sticky buns, but there is a McDonald's about 1 minute down the road.

Room Tip: Go to McDonald's for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to sharing your experience. We are happy to hear you about our friendly staff, also we are sorry about that you have inconvenience to carry up your bag, but if you request to front desk clerk our staff would be happy to help you with it, also we take attention about your breakfast comment, we will make our best as much as possible, we promise you to make your next stay more comfortable with us.

Thank you and we will wait for welcoming you again !!!

-Sam
Manager
Abviphoenix.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix

Address: 424 W Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#24 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 37 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, US Airways Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica Theatre, Orpheum Theatre, and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.