We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's Big Breakfast

Matt's Big Breakfast
825 North First Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Central City)
(602) 254-1074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,668 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Central City
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food her is quality. I like to visit and enjoy. The juice is fresh squeezed and very expensive, but so tasty I get it every time we go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    125
    43
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just had a nice walk to burn off the wonderful breakfast of peppered thick cut bacon, two farm fresh eggs and hash browns made the way every grandma ought to make them - nothing but fresh grated potato cooked to caramelized perfection on the outside protecting its creamy center. The coffee was a delight too - fresh brewed full bodied coffee from a local roaster sweetly told my bran and taste buds good morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If in downtown Phoenix this is a MUST on your to do list!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Not only is this cute welcoming little place full of favorable people that greet you warmly but its full of flavorful food that makes you hungry for more! The cool chocolate organic milk and the Bourbon cherry sausage coupled with eggs and rosemary potatoes. Did I mention the hotcakes yet? Or the homemade strawberry preserve jam on lightly buttered toast? What are you doing still reading this review go there and get your own plate and stop imagining this little food heaven, it really does exist in the downtown Phoenix area!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was surprised by the long line outside waiting to get in. However starting with the hostess and all the way through the servers and bus boys, the service was excellent and attentive.

The breakfast we enjoyed was delicious, homemade, served promptly and we never had to ask for a coffee refill - staff was very busy but on top of everything.

We will definately be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went here after an overnight shift because it was featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. I thought the food was decent and good. Not spectacular but for a dive it was fine. It is very small and can get fairly packed adding to the character. I didn't get to see Matt but would return for basic breakfast food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Big Breakfast also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Matt's Big Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt's Big Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.