We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A culinary treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Bistro

Fuego Bistro
713 E Palo Verde Dr, Ste D, Phoenix, AZ 85014-2598 (Camelback East)
+1 602-277-1151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,465 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A culinary treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We first found this restaurant from a review in our paper. It's a little difficult to find if you don't know Phoenix well but, fortunately, we'd grown up in the neighborhood where it was located so we found it....and what a find it was! Their food is always extraordinary and I think we've tried everything on their menu at one time or another. Our favorites are their grilled meatloaf, their chili relleno, their pork nachos and their desserts. There's a neighborhood feel to the place and it's quiet and quaint with it's setting and courtyard. The wait staff are friendly and quick and we love to take out of town visitors there to wow them with the food and the experience. You can't go wrong with anything at Fuego Bistro!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    57
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant- A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food is always consistently good. The veggie tostadas are amazing as an appetizer. All of the main meal options are very good. Staff is always helpful and friendly. Make sure you make reservations in the evenings, they are always pretty busy. It is a favorite with locals. We prefer locally owned restaurants to big chains. This is one of our regular haunts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Becoming one of our favorites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've moved to The Phoenix area about 9 months ago and have been exploring the restaurant scene. We found Fuego Bistro through Groupon. It's a bit hidden off of a side street of 7th street in a quaint but hidden courtyard. The courtyard serves as the outside seating area which is very pleasant like Oct-Apr evenings. Otherwise make a reservation for inside which is a kind of small area. We've been back several times since our first visit. The food is very good and the service is friendly & attentive. The one knock I have against them is the prices are a bit more then other places. You do get a decent amount of good food for your money though. If you have a Groupon or Living Social (which are pretty generous) you can compensate for the slightly higher prices. The menu entree choices are limited (8-10) but we've never had a bad meal there. You get to choose 2 side dishes with your meal. We've always gotten the corn bread as one. It is so good I'm often tempted to double up on it as my sides. The desserts are excellent as well. In our visits we've gotten the bread pudding, the key lime pie & the chocolate cake. Each was large enough to satisfy 2-3 people. Over a very satisfying experience that has kept us coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nothing to say but perfect... Fuegos Pasta and the pork were so delicious. Even the iced tea was the best since a long time.

Very hard to find but don't give up and search, you wont be dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch on our way to Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hubs had the chile relleno and a side salad.

I got the tostado salad w chicken that also came w a side salad.

Both were amazing! Seriously, go here. Park to the left of the restaurant/courtyard. Everyone says it's worth the difficulty in finding the place and we agree.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fuego Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.