We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Restaurant- A Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Bistro

Fuego Bistro
713 E Palo Verde Dr, Ste D, Phoenix, AZ 85014-2598 (Camelback East)
+1 602-277-1151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,642 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant- A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food is always consistently good. The veggie tostadas are amazing as an appetizer. All of the main meal options are very good. Staff is always helpful and friendly. Make sure you make reservations in the evenings, they are always pretty busy. It is a favorite with locals. We prefer locally owned restaurants to big chains. This is one of our regular haunts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    47
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Becoming one of our favorites.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've moved to The Phoenix area about 9 months ago and have been exploring the restaurant scene. We found Fuego Bistro through Groupon. It's a bit hidden off of a side street of 7th street in a quaint but hidden courtyard. The courtyard serves as the outside seating area which is very pleasant like Oct-Apr evenings. Otherwise make a reservation for inside which is a kind of small area. We've been back several times since our first visit. The food is very good and the service is friendly & attentive. The one knock I have against them is the prices are a bit more then other places. You do get a decent amount of good food for your money though. If you have a Groupon or Living Social (which are pretty generous) you can compensate for the slightly higher prices. The menu entree choices are limited (8-10) but we've never had a bad meal there. You get to choose 2 side dishes with your meal. We've always gotten the corn bread as one. It is so good I'm often tempted to double up on it as my sides. The desserts are excellent as well. In our visits we've gotten the bread pudding, the key lime pie & the chocolate cake. Each was large enough to satisfy 2-3 people. Over a very satisfying experience that has kept us coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nothing to say but perfect... Fuegos Pasta and the pork were so delicious. Even the iced tea was the best since a long time.

Very hard to find but don't give up and search, you wont be dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch on our way to Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hubs had the chile relleno and a side salad.

I got the tostado salad w chicken that also came w a side salad.

Both were amazing! Seriously, go here. Park to the left of the restaurant/courtyard. Everyone says it's worth the difficulty in finding the place and we agree.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, GFL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the search!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had seen this restaurant on Trip Advisor and was impressed with it's rating so decided to try it myself. It was a bit "hidden" for someone who is not from the Phoenix area, but it was well with the hunt! It is a small but well appointed little place with a dynamite menu! Everything was fresh, well prepared and presented with perfect execution. The chiles relleno (one of their signature dishes) is hands down one of the best I have eaten. This is a restaurant I will definitely put on my return visit list the next time I am in Phoenix.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fuego Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.