We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, spotty service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Bistro

Fuego Bistro
713 E Palo Verde Dr, Ste D, Phoenix, AZ 85014-2598 (Camelback East)
+1 602-277-1151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,584 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Southwestern, Latin, Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Tempe, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

First time we came, we loved it. Second time, not so much. The difference was in how busy they were; the second visit was during Restaurant Week, and they were apparently stressed out. The manager/owner was snippy that we didn't have a reservation (we didn't know it was a special week), the server was snippy, and they seemed to be trying to hurry us out so they could move more people in. They kept pointing out that they had 200 reservations in a single night. Ok...good for you, but it would be better to take fewer and give them all good service than take too many and be stressed and unpleasant. We'll give it another try, because the food is good and they have THE MOST AWESOME live music there sometimes (a duo called Joe and Jess), but we'll be sure to check ahead of time to see if they're busy...and if they are, we won't bother.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try-outs places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ambience was the first impression - cozy courtyard, water fountain, patio seatings, and live music. Unfortunately, we were not able to be seated in the lovely courtyard but one of the rooms, which is fine for the dining but it was very loud, about 7 tables in the room. The noise level made it difficult to enjoy much of the company. Good food and drinks, nothing very special, but I think it's slightly over priced. We encountered a not 100% friendly waitress, especially when she refused to split the bill for our table. It got a little uncomfortable for a few moments.
Food: I ordered the slow pork roasted. Large portion. Couldn't say it the best I have had but fair. I would probably give this another try since some of my friends seem to had good experiences. Cheers to the happy diners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The food was wonderful. It was deceiving. Like a diner. Thought the bathroom could have been a little cleaner or I would have given it more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Becoming a regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Everything is top notch unique ingredients. Little oasis environment with great patio. Worth finding a little hidden off 7 th st north of 5727 building

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth going around the block for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Bottom line: had dinner here a Thurs even with 8, including 2 teens, all want to return ASAP.

The Fuego Bistro is accessed via an alley in an older, semi-residential area with only a small sandwich board sign. We drove right by it the 1st time despite accurate GPS, found it second trip around the block. Facility consists of a large courtyard & smallish dining room. The décor is a non-descript mishmash. We ate in courtyard at a large farm table with various sized chairs, some of which were too low for the table. Live music was provided by a guy & gal duo with electric guitar & base playing variety of songs, many from 60s & 70s, volume was appropriate providing a pleasant background. The place was at about 70% capacity when we arrived at 6:15 pm; service was fast & friendly.

The food was WOW and easily made up for any décor deficiencies! Fuego salad was simple & delish, easily large enough for 2 – we did split ours & the arrived in large separate bowls. Our group ordered the white shrimp, short ribs, steak, and Fuego Chile Renellos. All I heard was “Yum” from all; portions were large so most took some home. We topped it off with a large slice of Key Lime Pie & 8 forks! It was “different” - I thought it was very good but good, but got mixed reviews from others.

My only complaint is the seating at our table as some chairs were ill suited and too low. Other, smaller tables looked like they didn’t suffer from the same deficiency. This place deserves the excellent rating it has and we would return in a flash. However, being a seafood nut, I would probably try their Fuego Del Mar next.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fuego Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.