We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions in tiny 'hood spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuego Bistro

Fuego Bistro
713 E Palo Verde Dr, Ste D, Phoenix, AZ 85014-2598 (Camelback East)
+1 602-277-1151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,466 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Huge portions in tiny 'hood spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This tiny bistro has a lovely outdoor patio for dining in nice weather IF you can find the place. The entrance is inside a courtyard, and only one small "tent" sign at the street gives you any indication where it is. Once inside the small bistro is decorated in lively colors and artwork (for sale). The ambiance is casual and attracts a wide range of ages.

The menu has a variety of things from chicken to slow-cooked pork to beef, and all entrees come with a wide choice of veggies. Portion sizes are huge. And the veggie sides are huge as well, and all extremely fresh and tasty. The slow-cooked pork was delicious, as was the night's special - a pounded chicken breast stuffed with goat cheese, apricots, apples, sun dried tomatoes, & more.

The chocolate ancho chili torte was good, but lacked a chili kick. In fact, nothing was too terribly spicey so you need not fear the heat.

FULL bar, and I do mean full because they seemed to have every liquor you could imagine. Mojitos are a house specialty. They also had a wide selection of wines by the glass or bottle, and reasonably priced (by restaurant standards). Wait staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.

This was our first visit and we were pleased. We'll look forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    59
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't heard much of Fuego Bistro but knew where it was and wanted to give it a try. Wow were we surprised!

The atmosphere at Fuego is great! Very small an intimate, with local art hanging around the room. The staff was extremely friendly as well. We were greeted right away and seated. Our server made the special sound so delicious we couldn't resist!

We had chicken stuffed with spinach, mushrooms, shrimp, and covered in a red cheesy sauce with a small amount of spice. It came with two sides...I had the green chile corn bread and a jalepeno creamed corn. It was amazing!

The staff all helped each other and made sure we were well taken care of. We will definitely go back to Fuego Bistro and pay careful attention to whatever special the chef comes up with!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Food was amazing! The green chile cornbread is to die for! Service was great, very prompt and always filling water but never annoying. The server Kevin was amazing! Love the fact that the owner works and walks around to the tables. Love this place!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fuego Bistro Where Romance Blooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

In what might seem an unlikely location for a romantic spot, lunch or dinner is a delightful escape from city life, just a block or two away. Casual dining at the right price. When the weather is right, sitting outside on the patio is the right thing to do. Service is great and personal. And the food is consistently delicious. My personal favorite: the pernil asado,roasted pork with an orange habanero mojo and corn tortillas. But you can't go wrong with any of the other dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Waffle butt time --- but good food and nice outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is not just hard to find --- it is insane --- it is a little street/alleyway and the entrance is not lit (there is a "gentleman's club on the corner") --- we went around and around (even missed a second entrance to the neighborhood!)

It is a challenge to find.

Food was good --- table wasn't ready when we got there but it wasn't too long before we were seated -- they close at 9 on Sat (which was a surprise)

It is a nice atmosphere - little U-shaped courtyard --- nice sky, nice trees, nice lights

... but the wicker seats were a bit hard on the backside


Pernil Asado was excellent --- good memorable food.

Fuego Seafood Chile Relleno --- this was actually better as a re-heated leftover !!!

Seriously --- baking the leftovers in the oven actually melded the flavors a WHOLE lot more

It is a nice, full chile stuffed with tons of seafood -- but the first time through it was bland --- couldn't taste the seafood at all


Green Chili Cornbread Casserole = tops (didn't make it to leftovers)
Maple Chiliglazed Carrots, Sauteed Organic Green Beans = better reheated
Chipotle Cheddar Mashed Potatoes = nice both reheated and straight up

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Bistro also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Fuego Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuego Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.