We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 E University Drive & I-10, Phoenix, AZ 85034 (South Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great stopover hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed a night while waiting for a shuttle to Puerto Penasco the next day. Excellent shuttle service, very quick trip to the airport.

Pool area is nice, it gets hot, you'll need the pool.

Fitness center is small, I can imagine it is hard to get a machine during peak hours. I used during non peak times so I had not problem.

Had a nice breakfast including some healthier options including fruit and yogurt.

Very quiet rooms, never heard hallway or outside noise.

I thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    110
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
82
104
24
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent hotel overall. FREE shuttle bus to and from the airport. Easy check-in. Great pool, hot tub and fitness suite. Only one computer available but hey it works.....as does the printer! Rooms are clean and comfy and we all got a good nights sleep. Coffee 24/7 in the lobby. Breakfast was very good with a great choice and helpful staff. First time I've stayed in a Holiday Inn and it was a bit more expensive than hotels I usually book. The stair carpet could do with replacing....bit grubby. Apart from that its a great hotel and as the title suggests, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just stayed two nights at the HI express at the air port in Phoenix.
Jess Bree at the front desk was always cheerful and friendly and made my stay very pleasant. Mickey , on of the shuttle drivers was a real surprise. Mickey was, without doubt, the best and most informative hotel shuttle driver I have ever come across. You are lucky to have these two
on your payroll. Thank you John Brough 619-319-5462 plat # tel = 206-920 9367

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillWeeman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Brough,

Thank you for being a Platinum member and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport! We are always pleased to hear that our staff members took such great care of you. We will be sure to share your compliments with Jess, Bree, and Mickey, and praise them for their efforts. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon, the next time your travels bring you back to Phoenix!

Best regards,

Bill Weeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a long HOT trip in from CA and I have to leave bright and early in the morning to DC. TIRED and overheated these three ladies Bree, Roz, and Olivia greeted me with a smile. They were courteous and made sure that I was upstairs. They even made sure I knew about the shuttle in the morning and that there was a restraint with good food next door. These three are a credtit to this hotel chain. Ill be back!,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillWeeman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport and for taking the time to offer these kind remarks on TripAdvisor! We will be sure to share your compliments with Bree, Roz, and Olivia and reward them for their efforts. We're so proud of them! Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're looking forward to your next stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Holiday In Express has free shuttle service to and from Phoenix's Skyharbor airport. It arrived on schedule for our 9AM flight and made our trip that much easier. I have to note that the pancakes that come out of the machine at breakfast are the worst pancakes I have ever tried to eat - with a dense hockey puck consistency. Pick something else! The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillWeeman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us after your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport! Although we're pleased that our accommodations and amenities worked out so well for you, we're very sorry that you didn't enjoy the pancakes. We greatly appreciate the feedback and hope to have another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The room was clean and spacious.We took advantage of the car storage service without a hitch.
Best was the shuttle to and from the airport. There were no deficiencies and we are recommending this hotel to our family and frienfs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillWeeman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review after your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport! We appreciate the kind words and referrals! We will continue to work hard at maintaining the highest level of guest satisfaction that you have come to expect from our hotel. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon, the next time your travels bring you to the Phoenix area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had an early flight 6:00 a.m. Van took me to the airport at 4:00 a.m. Upon my return the Courtesy van driver Mickey was great. I was picked up promptly, got my car and headed home. Great hotel with perfect location to the airport. Sorry I missed the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillWeeman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport! We're pleased to read that our Park, Stay & Fly package worked out so well for you, and that one of our associates was able to make your stay so convenient. We will be sure to extend your compliments to Mickey! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)

Address: 3401 E University Drive & I-10, Phoenix, AZ 85034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#22 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#48 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Phoenix for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Airport has all the comforts and conveniences you would expect from luxury airport hotels. Centrally located near I-10 and Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, our location gives easy access to downtown Phoenix and Tempe, including the Phoenix Light Rail, Chase Field, Phoenix Convention Center, Sun Devil Stadium, Tempe Town Lake, Phoenix Zoo, US Airways Arena, Arizona State University, University of Phoenix, and Ewing Irrigation. This 4-story hotel features 114 beautifully appointed guest rooms and free high-speed (wired & wireless) internet service. You may also enjoy our 'park and fly' and eliminate worries of high airport parking rates. Nearby you will find Mill Avenue, Arizona Mills Shopping Mall, award-winning golf courses, restaurants & nightlife, and casinos. You will find yourself amazed with our award-winning service, convenient location, and spacious guest rooms featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection, microwaves, refrigerators, expanded cable and free HBO. Don t forget our complimentary freshly prepared breakfast buffet, including a variety of hot items like sausage, sausage gravy, omelets, biscuits, and a make your own pancake station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive) Hotel Phoenix
Holiday Inn Phoenix Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.