We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Near GCU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1344 N 27th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #152 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Windsor, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Value Near GCU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while moving son into form at GCU. Neighborhood is terrible. Once inside hotel you get what you pretty much expect from Comfort Inn. Clean & comfortable! Front desk initially assigned us to room that had not been cleaned. Mistake was remedied immediately. Overall a good value but the neighborhood is pretty rough. I should say that I felt safe and have absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
23
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Are the rest of the mid-priced hotels so awful in Phoenix? From all the great reviews, we expected something a little nicer. Nothing was particularly bad. But nothing was particularly nice. Why all the very positive reviews?

Everything was standard Comfort Inn. The pool was bland. The public facilities were worn. The rooms were fine, but looked like a thousand others.

We stayed on two different transits through Phoenix. On the second visit the breakfast room was completely overwhelmed and the one staff member trying to cover breakfast and the front desk couldn’t come close to keeping up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great property. we stayed at before the football game at The University of Phoenix Stadium. We didn't had time to enjoy the pool but it looked clean and ready to be used. Next time we will for sure. The rooms were large and very clean, new carpet and beds, really nice. Breakfast is always nice to upper class choice hotels

Room Tip: The rooms facing the interstate may be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

me and my mom stayed at this hotel on may 29th-30th the staff was very helpful and called us to ask if the room was OK the room was really clean and the sofa seat was nice the beds were comfortable as well there was also a lovely continental breakfast, we had clean towels brought in as soon as we requested them i do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Compaired to most on-the-road hotels you will be pleasantly surprised here. Don't let the proximity to the interstate make up your mind for you. Here you will find HOT breakfast, not the usual continental fare. Great pool and spa. Staff that go uot of their way to make you feel welcome. Clean, newly renovated rooms. Hats off to the level of maid service, this hotel cleans the filters in the airconditioners!...When was the last time you saw that. Very nice sitting area in the lobby complete with fireplace. Whenever you're near Phoneix this spot is one not to forget.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Interstate - We herd nothing - great view of pool and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights last week. Nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. The room given to us is spacious and well appointed. The beds are comfortable with clean linens. Location is very convenient with easy access to I-10 and 15 minutes from Sky Harbor Airport. Unlike some other hotels in the area, we did not experience any funky smell. We plan to be in the Phoenix area a couple of times more this year and we definitely will consider staying in this hotel again. Overall, we were very please with our stay in this hotel and will not hesitate to recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

From beginning to end, the Comfort Inn West was a great experience. The manager on duty when we arrived was extremely friendly and concerned about making sure our stay was good. He even offered us the opportunity to eat in his office if the breakfast room was full. We didn't have to do that as we were able to find a table each morning, plus there was seating by the pool. Our room was large, clean and nicely furnished. All bathroom fixtures had been updated, although the tile in the bathroom was dated, however, it was clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet, even though it was packed with baseball fans for spring training. The only complaint would be the hotel seems understaffed. For breakfast, the food ran out each day and wasn't replaced quickly. Coffee ran out and the orange juice was out of commission for two days. We spotted the day clerk running quickly to make sure everything was tended to, but it was not humanly possible to keep up with everything. Also, housekeeping forgot to finish making our bed up, leaving pillows without pillow cases, the coffee maker wasn't cleaned on any days of our stay and coffee wasn't replaced. We were able to catch a housekeeper (the same one every day) and ask for service, and she quickly responded with a smile. But these are little details. If you are looking for a hotel that has easy on and easy off of the highway, this hotel is the one for you. There are no restaurants nearby, so that might be a problem, and don't be put off by the industrial look of the neighboring area. The hotel is safe, friendly, comfortable and convenient. We will stay here again when we return for spring training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 1344 N 27th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.