We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1344 N 27th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #151 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

From beginning to end, the Comfort Inn West was a great experience. The manager on duty when we arrived was extremely friendly and concerned about making sure our stay was good. He even offered us the opportunity to eat in his office if the breakfast room was full. We didn't have to do that as we were able to find a table each morning, plus there was seating by the pool. Our room was large, clean and nicely furnished. All bathroom fixtures had been updated, although the tile in the bathroom was dated, however, it was clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet, even though it was packed with baseball fans for spring training. The only complaint would be the hotel seems understaffed. For breakfast, the food ran out each day and wasn't replaced quickly. Coffee ran out and the orange juice was out of commission for two days. We spotted the day clerk running quickly to make sure everything was tended to, but it was not humanly possible to keep up with everything. Also, housekeeping forgot to finish making our bed up, leaving pillows without pillow cases, the coffee maker wasn't cleaned on any days of our stay and coffee wasn't replaced. We were able to catch a housekeeper (the same one every day) and ask for service, and she quickly responded with a smile. But these are little details. If you are looking for a hotel that has easy on and easy off of the highway, this hotel is the one for you. There are no restaurants nearby, so that might be a problem, and don't be put off by the industrial look of the neighboring area. The hotel is safe, friendly, comfortable and convenient. We will stay here again when we return for spring training.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
19
25
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Dad and I stayed here for 3 nights while going to spring training games. The location is a good central location if you're going to multiple parks. The staff were great and everything was very clean. No funky smells or anything like that. The beds are firm if that's what you like. Basic continental breakfast, didn't try the pool. There is an on-ramp to I-10 W but no off ramp so you have to get off the freeway a few blocks away and drive surface streets (we took McDowell) to get to it. The only criticism I have is that it's in an industrial/run down neighborhood which looked a little scary at night. I made sure to park in a well-lit place in the hotel parking lot to make sure I didn't have my aftermarket stereo stolen (nothing was bothered fortunately).

Room Tip: We stayed on the third (top) floor, probably helped with reducing noise from people walking around a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice clean property, clean rooms, very friendly accommodating staff.

We stayed one night at this hotel, while traveling through Phoenix to catch a MLB spring training game. The hotel is in an industrial area, which was fine as we were only staying one night. It is conveniently located right off of I-10, the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable, with quality linens. The rate was good, considering that many hotels raise their rates during MLB spring training. I would recommend this hotel and will consider staying here again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were in Phoenix to meet our new grandson. My husband also went hiking in the Superstitions for 5 days while I stayed behind with family. The hotel is in a very industrial area and at first felt unsafe for me alone. I had NO trouble at all during the week. We stayed here because of the rate and the easy access to airport, downtown, and Camelback Road where family lived. Rooms are all newly appointed and very comfortable. Highway noise was not as bad as I had expected. Especially appreciated the microwave, frig, and coffeepot. Beds were VERY comfortable and the collection of pillows was tops! Bathroom is average.
Breakfast is as all have said...same as anyplace else. I wish hotels in general would offer a juice besides orange or apple for those of us who cannot have either! They are in the same allergy family!
The pool area was nice although the loud highway noise was a big distraction. You could sit by the pool and see all of the jammed up traffic every day. Exhaust fumes were bad and the black dust created by the highway made my feet BLACK just walking around the pool area. I could tell they try to keep the place clean though. A guy was power washing the parking lot for about 3 days! Unfortunately, he continued to do so as we all sat by the pool just feet from where he was working! Drove us indoors as a result of the spray and the noise.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was there during a very busy baseball spring training and NASCAR week. I think they were short on cleaning staff, but our gal was really efficient and accomodating. I was a bit put out when the manager asked if I was OK without having service one day because someone called in sick. I managed fine, but it's bad business to ask your paying guests to go without-especially when our family had brought in 14 total sleeping nights of business to his hotel! Yet, when my daughter had a huge ugly plumbing problem in her home and had to go to a hotel with her new baby and toddler, the manager was most helpful in offering a very low rate for a room just down the hall from me. I will definitely consider staying here again in the future if the place continues to keep up it's present standards...or better.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be about the same, but do not ask for a pool view room as they face the loudest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. Beds were comfy and staff was very friendly. There are no stores or restaurants within walking distance but not a far drive to downtown. Breakfast was your typical free breakfast with eggs, cereal, fruit and mini pastries. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed one night on a cross-country trip. Due to a lot of activity in Phoenix (NASCAR, BMX events, soccer tournament) vacancies at pet-friendly hotels were impossible to find. This wasn't my first choice but was convenient to where I was heading the next day.

It was chaos at the hotel -- multiple families with tons of kids were checking in, and there was one poor desk clerk who was seriously overworked. Somehow she kept a smile on her face -- remarkable. Seems like when a hotel knows there are a lot of events in town and they're booked up, they might put a 2nd clerk at the desk.

The room was very big, which was a big help to us with lots of luggage and a pet. Though there were a lot of kids milling around (soccer and BMX) the room was surprisingly quiet. Never heard a thing.

A number of restaurants are within short driving distance (2 miles), which was convenient, and there is a gas station right across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was in Phoenix for a couple days for spring training games. I enjoyed my stay here, the room was clean with all new furnishings. I didn't have a car and the location was good for catching a bus to anywhere in the city. The breakfast was outstanding - eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee, yogurt. The pool area was extremely clean and the hot tub was very welcome in the cool evenings. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully next year for more baseball!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 1344 N 27th Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.