We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #44 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The location of the property is definitely a bit weird as many of the reviewers have pointed out. It is inside a strip mall and getting there the first time is a bit intimidating. However the property is typical of Courtyard. The rooms are nice, bed comfortable. Only complaint was that AC can be a bit loud at times. However that did not stop me from sleeping well.

The plus is the location as well - just couple of blocks away from Biltmore Mall and great dining places nearby. Will stay here again if I am around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit! That is the greatest compliment we can receive! We agree on the challenge in finding us the first time as there are many entrances to the mall we are located in! You and other guests enjoy how close we are to the Biltmore Mall and other locations in central Phoenix. Thanks for letting others know you slept well in our comfy beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
25
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband stays here very often for business and on some occasions I join him with our 8 month old in tow. I really do like this place a lot. The location is great. Kind of in the middle of everything and still close to the airport. But especially for a mom who is left with the majority of the day to fill alone with baby, there are tons of things within walking distance. Whole foods, trader joes, little shops, big shops- depending on how far you want to walk there is a full mall and a movie theatre a small hike up the road. The rooms are always clean, and comfortable. I wish they were a tad bigger now that there are three of us, but we get along fine even with the portacrib set up. Its not super fancy but its more than basic. Love the lobby here and the little cafe. If you are a lover of breakfast make sure you check out snooze next door to the nordstrom rack. Super yummy!

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the courtyard have little patios and are by far my preferred choice. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It is always great to learn that guests find our hotel perfect on all levels! Our location does make it easy to get around the neighborhood with many options for food and entertainment! With easy access to the freeway system, people are able to access all that the greater Phoenix has to offer in the way of major sports venues, the zoo and Botanical Gardens, and numerous museums! Thanks for letting others know of your good experience with your family! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for a week while on business. This Courtyard is pretty much what you would expect from the brand, except that it's in a shopping/strip mall. The area however is pretty nice, so the shopping mall isn't that big of a deal. In terms of eating locations it is great. There are at least five restaurants within walking distance. Staff didn't inform me I received breakfast with my rate, and I specifically had to ask them about it after bringing my confirmation information down to the front desk. Staff seems unaware and unorganized. I asked for a wake up call everyday and it only came two of the four. Would consider staying again, but there are many other good options in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am so pleased you found the location to be filled with both shopping and good restaurants. Guests enjoy the opportunity to be able to walk to so many interesting places. My sincere apologies for our lack of consistency with wake up calls and breakfast information. You give us good information to use with our team to make the necessary improvements! It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the customer service you expect from a Marriott. Thank you for your wake-up call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

First time in the state of Arizona and I felt like it has been summer during my January stay. Private swimming pool in our own little house.
The spa with the pool which can be mistaken with an non ending one as well design, masseuse with some skills in their fingers........ Wouaw
A buffet as breakfast only description possible : too much choice will kill the "ennui" of all breakfast!
Blueberry pancakes yummy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Your review will let others know of the great things about our great Courtyard by Marriott in Central Phoenix. The weather this winter has been absolutely gorgeous and we welcomed all of our northern friends from colder climates. We are happy you enjoyed the creative and delicious options for breakfast and dinner along with Starbucks beverages and a full bar. Add to that our free WIFI and great customer service and it makes for a hotel that is worth returning to! We hope to see you on another trip to the southwest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

For those who stay with Marriott you'll receive everything you'd expect from this Courtyard. Location is decent and there are a number of places within walking distance for food and shopping.

I was a speaker at a business event being hosted at this hotel and the accommodations were more than adequate. Good prices and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We value your business and appreciate your letting others know of your positive experience for your corporate event. We strive to accommodate the needs of every group, both social and business. Our event coordinator is available to work through the specifics that create a successful meeting or event. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Tucked away and in an excellent area for route 51, shopping, the airport and dining options. Got a room looking over the courtyard and the pool area. Updated lobby with the bar and restaurant.
Parking is OK next to the hotel and in the mall parking garage. Good staff as usual for Marriott properties. Quiet room on the 4th floor. Has a balcony but it is not deep enough for a chair or table. Expensive rate but it was likely due to the season and spring baseball.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Your review touches on what is important to guests when travelling! Thanks for letting others know of your visit to Phoenix and your stay with our Courtyard. We are proud to be a part of the Marriott family of hotels and know our location is important to many needing a great hotel in the center of the valley. Not only do we enjoy easy access to the freeways, guests are able to walk to many places in the mall for food and shopping. Our team will be pleased you found them helpful! Your visit was in our prime season with many guests wanting to escape the colder parts of our country while taking advantage of Spring Training games. There is something to enjoy in Phoenix throughout the year with sports teams, golf, hiking and more and the rates do fluctuate based on the season. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is honestly underrated & I don't know why there are these bad reviews.

We stayed for a long weekend getaway... we arrived earlier than check in & the staff set us up in our room early without any trouble. Very nice staff. We had room 419 - top floor, middle of the building & it was fantastic.
The room was clean and updated from previous photos I have seen, and the bed/mattress was the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on in a hotel!! Major props for the bed.
The bathroom was clean and we had towels upon request without hesitation. Nice set up with the sink outside the door of the shower and a mirror hanging on the door (I hate when there are only mirrors far back that you can't get close to - makeup purposes).
I thought the location of the hotel was nice. Next to a strip mall with food, frozen yogurt, nordstrom rack, trader joes, whole foods, a 24 gym... and down the street was the biltmore mall. We went hiking on Camelback mountain 2 separate days - Cab was under $20 each time but super simple to get to.
Hair dryer in room, iron + board, coffee maker, mini fridge, water bottles all in the room. Nice little balcony & it was great waking up to sunshine every morning but the blackout shades definitely helped!

I'd say the only downfalls of this hotel are the pay-for breakfast (not complimentary) BUT they serve starbucks coffee... and the gym facility is tiny... but there is a big gym on the plaza + many options outside too.

Room Tip: top floor room, not near the emergency exit doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
It is great to know that you enjoyed your getaway at our hotel! I am pleased to learn we were able to accommodate your early arrival! Our team will appreciate knowing their customer service made a difference to you and your overall stay. We are proud to be a Marriott hotel with the quality amenities and services people have come to expect! Add to that our great location in the heart of Phoenix with numerous places of business within walking distance. The hiking here is spectacular plus close to the hotel and it is great to learn you were able to take advantage of Camelback Mountain. In addition, the Phoenix Mountain Preserve has miles of hiking trails plus the mile-high summit right in the center of the city. Thanks for your review and please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback

Address: 2101 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the upscale Biltmore area, the newly renovated Courtyard Phoenix Camelback Hotel is your Phoenix, AZ vacation hideaway. Walk to a variety of restaurants and shopping meccas such as Camelback Colonnade, Biltmore Fashion Park and Town and Country Shopping Center with its weekly Farmers Market. Enjoy world class golf at the JW Camelback Resort or Arizona Biltmore Golf Course. Free High Speed and Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Camelback Hotel Phoenix
Courtyard Phoenix Camelback
Phoenix Marriott
Phoenix Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.