We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great three days in Phoenix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85016 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #46 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
indy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great three days in Phoenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard for business/ play trip. I am a Marriott member and do prefer their brand. Marriott provides consistent great properties from lobby to rooms and beds. The property at Camel back was perfect for proximity to Scottsdale, Camelback mountain, shopping and restaurants. The pool was very comfortable with hot tub. My room was ground level with walkout patio to the pool which was nice. The beds were awesome and makes any trip better if sleep is good. If you feel the need to shop a Nordstrom Rack is next door along with several good places to eat. Went to Camelback Mountain for a hike about a 5 minute drive. Went into old town Scottsdale about a ten minute cab ride for about 25 bucks. Phoenix is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Building is L shape with all rooms facing pool or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We do agree that Phoenix/Scottsdale is a great place to visit! Our location allows guests to take advantage of all the city has to offer! You mentioned a few options. There are also many places of interest including the famous Heard Museum featuring Southwestern Art, the Science Museum with great learning opportunities for children plus exhibits that appeal to all ages. You can find over 180 golf courses, professional sports teams and lots of great shops and places to dine! Every trip can be different! Thanks for letting others know how much you like the consistency of our Marriott hotels! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
25
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The manager and staff at this property provide great service, and it definitely takes the property up a notch! They were willing to go the extra mile in helping me work out the logistics for a group reservations, and extended a very competitive rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It makes us happy to be recognized for our great service as that is the cornerstone of Marriott’s culture. Anyone who has ever made group reservations knows there are different needs for every group. I am pleased we were able to accommodate the logistics and create an inviting place for your travelers. Thank you for taking the time to pass along your great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Front desk helpful, rooms clean and a nice location. Staff was ready to assist us. Shopping center is nice with plenty of stores and restaurants. Rooms are clean and quiet. The ground also are clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Your visit to Phoenix when our winter temperatures are so much warmer than much of the US is perfect timing! We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your visitf because of our clean hotel and great team. Your review is very important to us as it helps to show the team we are on the right track with our commitment to our guests being number 1! Our central Phoenix location in an extensive shopping mall offers guests much to do within walking distance. In addition the freeways are nearby allowing guests to quickly get to many of the sports venues, activities, museums and much more in the valley. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

What a great location for a nice hotel! RIGHT in a shopping center/outdoor mall. It was a beautifully appointed Courtyard -- with a beautiful exterior courtyard, a mix of lush greenery and cactus. Very nice. The room itself was very nice with a little balcony - the room was also a bit small, but had everything we needed or could want. It was very clean and well maintained. The towels were good quality and the bathroom was spotless. The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows. The good sized flat-screen TV was nice for our relaxation on the comfortable sofa-sleeper. The only thing it would be nice for Courtyard to add would be the complimentary breakfast that has become so common these days and is such a nice way to start the day. However, there is a coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Room 214 was very quiet with quiet a/c. When you are looking for the property, find the Nordstrom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you sincerely for your review of our hotel and for letting others know how clean and well maintained our rooms are. With our Marriott brand we are pleased to have comfortable beds and guest rooms. Many of our guests also enjoy the flexibility of our Bistro for meals with creative selections to satisfy all types of appetites. The courtyard offers a lovely and quiet area to relax away from your room with a beverage from the Bistro or bar. Exploring our neighborhood can be quite fun as there is so much to offer from restaurants and shops to unique grocery stores. Right next door is Nordstrom Rack and My Sister’s Attic is close as well. Within two blocks is the exceptional Biltmore Shopping Center that features restaurants, shops and places to explore. There is so much to do in the Phoenix Valley of the Sun we hope to see you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The worst part of this property is that it is hard to find. The best part of this property is that it is off of the busy streets, making it hard to find. Look for the Courtyard signs on the street. This hotel is attached to a shopping center. We stayed here for five nights in the winter. Overall, we had a very comfortable stay. The rooms are a bit small, but very adequate. The bed was wonderful. The staff was outstanding, the food is very good, and overall, the property is pleasant. There are lots of good restaurants and shopping areas within walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We appreciate your comments and the team will be pleased to learn you found them to be outstanding! Our Marriott culture strives for the best in customer service and your pat on the back indicates we are doing the right things. Beyond being a bit hard to find tucked away in quiet shopping center, we are also central to the entire Phoenix area with easy access to the freeway system. There are many sports venues, lots of shopping plus museums, the Phoenix Zoo and Botanical Garden. Guests find the shopping center to be easy to get around with many options for dining and shopping. As a plus, our Bistro serves Starbucks beverages and has creative and delicious food options you can enjoy in the Bistro, on the patio or in your guest room. We do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good hotel. Rooms are a little smaller but have a balcony. No hot water in shower which was a bummer. Great service at the bistro. Location is excellent. Right in the heart of camelback and biltmore. Good shopping and restaurants walkable from hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I am so very sorry you were unable to get hot water in your shower! Your review does not mention your length of stay, but I do hope you let us know so we could get it fixed immediately. Please accept our sincere apology and know how pleased we are that your overall experience at the hotel was excellent. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be your hotel of choice on a future trip to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'll start by saying I have over 800 lifetime nights at Marriott properties so I know what I am talking about! This is one of the best Courtyards in the southwest US. The property is very close to major streets (51 and Camelback Rd), recently redone (in the past 2 years) and has a wonderful staff. On top of that the location is excellent as there are many shops and restaurants close by. I would say whether you are coming to Phoenix with the family to escape the cold or doing a short stay-cation this would be your place. I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: 4th floor is top. I like the back of the hotel - rooms in the 40s, ie 442, 440, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
How wonderful it is to read that you enjoyed your stay and would return! That is the best advertising and compliment we could receive. Thanks for telling others about our wonderful staff as that inspires them to do more! We do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback

Address: 2101 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the upscale Biltmore area, the newly renovated Courtyard Phoenix Camelback Hotel is your Phoenix, AZ vacation hideaway. Walk to a variety of restaurants and shopping meccas such as Camelback Colonnade, Biltmore Fashion Park and Town and Country Shopping Center with its weekly Farmers Market. Enjoy world class golf at the JW Camelback Resort or Arizona Biltmore Golf Course. Free High Speed and Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Camelback Hotel Phoenix
Courtyard Phoenix Camelback
Phoenix Marriott
Phoenix Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Camelback, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.