We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West to your Saves list
Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4861 West Mc Dowell Road, Phoenix, AZ 85035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #143 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Cedar City, Utah
2 reviews
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Newly remodeled rooms are a great value for the price. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms on the office side to avoid freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    7
    6
    15
See reviews for
7
6
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

DH booked a nonsmoking room on-line for 4 nights, but when we showed up only smoking rooms with one double bed were available. It was something out of a horror flick. The room wreaked with stale cigarettes. The window screen was out and on the floor by the window, the the lamp by the bed fell apart when I tried to turn it on. The ceiling light fixture had no bulb. The furniture was miniature and mismatched. The old-style deep-profile TV was blurry. The outside of the building smelled like industrial spillage of some sort. The parking lot had poor lighting and I was fearful just getting to our room as sketchy individuals were loitering about. The frig was so small, you could barely fit a standard takeout container in it. I find it curious that this is advertised as an extended stay accommodations, if one can't buy enough groceries to properly store in the frig. We checked out of the room within 30 mins. and moved to the Radisson by the airport, which was A+! Others were in the lobby complaining as well when we turned in our keys for a full refund.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband was transferred to AZ from NY and needed to start right away giving us literally no time for closing on our home. We knew we'd be stuck here almost the whole time the house was in escrow. So on July 2nd we arrived and today I still sit here hoping we can close on this house today and I can get the hell out of this dump. Please, only if you want to torture yourself stay here. I feel so sorry for Dani who has to deal with people's complaining that this place is disgusting and poor Whitney who got stuck in her position and has to LIVE here! I'm pretty sure if the economy wasn't so bad she'd hightail it out of here! The following is a letter I sent to the complaints department. Not only will I not get a response, but from the reviews on here, it looks like this "company" replies to ONLY the good reviews. Btw, the beds are so uncomfortable, I'm going to have to see a chiropractor after this!

Dear Customer Service,
I have been here more than 35 days waiting to close on my house. I paid for 5 weeks, and then daily after that since we had no idea when we would close on our house. I have dealt with the nasty attitude of Shu, I have dealt with no garbage bags, no matching bedspreads, no blanket for one of the beds and plenty of other things. INCLUDING a pimp and 4 hookers that were placed next door to my room with their pimp. The SAME pimp who called down to guest services and asked for bleach, duct tape and a KNIFE. I will have you know that the pictures of this place on your website are very deceiving. More than 90% of these rooms are empty and I can see why. If I weren't so close to closing on my house I'd take my things and go elsewhere. I told the property manager last night that I should be closing on my house today and would know by 3pm. She said that it was fine. Then I get a phone call from downstairs (I have no idea why they say guest services when there really is no service) and am told by an employee that a property manager from another location is there and said I need to either pay for another night or leave immediately. I don't know what property she is from but I know her name is Shelly. I already had previous arrangements with the property manager of THIS property. Who is she to tell me I have to pay for another night even if I stay for an hour?! IN THIS DUMP??? Hookers are outside asking 16 year old children if they would like services, a pimp comes up to my 11 year old daughter and asks if she wants to see his puppy, etc. What the hell is wrong with this place? You are so desperate for money that you will take in anyone? This place disgusts me and I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. I sure as hell hope I close on this house today because I refuse to give your company another dime. I will leave tomorrow if I close on this house or not and go next door to the La Quinta (I stayed at them on our road trip here- excellent but a little pricey). It may be a little bit more money, but at least I don't have to worry about hookers, pimps, and drug dealers. This is absolutely ridiculous!!

This place is HORRIFIC! I am pretty sure these girls work here because they need the money, not because they want to. I should have known this place was shady when we finally got here at 3:30 in the morning and they have a housekeeper who works overnights checking people in (untrained by the way) and instead of helping us, she helped a drunk guy try to find his room so he could get a key since he locked himself out.

Complete GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Please... Don't stay here.. even for a night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed here for one week in Nov. 2010 while in town for a NASCAR race. I was very impressed with the front desk staff. Late check in went smoothly, & all staff that I had contact with were very polite & eager to please. The room carpet was a little worn, & the kitchen facilities are minimal, but everything worked well. The bed was great, as was the shower. Some of the neighbors were a little noisy, but not bad enough to complain to management about. The location was great for me....one block off the interstate 10 with good access, but no traffic noise at all. It is about 15 minutes to the airport/rental car return.

I booked online with the hotel about 2 months in advance, & got a great price of $154+tax for the week. Hi speed wireless internet was an additonal $5 for the week. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanlarson, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Crossland Phoenix - West. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WAYNE
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Reserved online, room not ready 2.5 hours after posted check-in time, and waited almost 1 hour for it. Staff clueless, no follow thru. Room OK, large wet spot on carpet near wood floor made for a great fall hazard. Room next to office; could hear all conversations & every loud door slam. Had to fix toilet myself twice during time when office was not open. Many other hotels nearby with similar prices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanlarson, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crossland Phoenix - West. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Only a long city block off I-10 at 51st. Hint--avoid Phoenix traffic and take Riggs Rd. exit from I-10--it will become 51st St. A great way to avoid 7 lanes of racing or stuck traffic, depending on the accident factor and time of day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanlarson, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Phoenix - West. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way"", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The purpose of us staying at Crossland Studios was not to enjoy 5-star luxury :: we definitely didn't.

The location of the hotel is OK. It is along a fairly quiet street, a little dimly lit and not near any other major businesses. The outside of the hotel is racy. There were a lot of shady people hanging around in the parking lot both nights that we stayed at the hotel - made my wife a little uneasy.

The actual room is just fine. It is quaint, yet accomodating (if you're just looking for a place to sleep and nothing more). It is not a big room. Everything worked just fine and it was pretty clean. The bed was NOT comfortable and the walls are paper thin. We listened to conversations and heard TVs in adjacent rooms throughout the night.

Our second night we requested a hide-a-way bed or something soft for a friend to sleep on :: they don't carry anything of the kind. They brought us an extra comforter and we made it work. I didn't expect anything special and we didn't get anything special. It was a TOTAL of $40/night and that was in our budget for this trip.

Even if we're on a budget for the next trip :: we will not stay at Crossland Studios. We'll probably fork out a little more and get some better sleep.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanlarson, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crossland Phoenix - West. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your room. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We recognize that if our guests can't get a good night's sleep, they won't return, so we've chosen bedding that we hope best suits their needs. I do take seriously your concern, and promise that we will continue to look for ways to make sure every guest is as comfortable as possible when staying with us.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West

Address: 4861 West Mc Dowell Road, Phoenix, AZ 85035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Extended Stay America Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossland Economy Studios - Phoenix - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.