We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Golf Resort to your Saves list
Legacy Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6808 South 32nd St., Phoenix, AZ 85042   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off
Ranked #63 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

Stayed for 11 nights, and didn't want to return home! The site was kept spotlessly clean, and was immaculately manicured. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, all were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly those in the restaurant and in the golf shop.
Played the course twice, it's excellent, but the bunkers are punishing! The cost to use the range, $15, was unbelievable, what value! Free to use chipping and putting - fantastic!
If I had to mention a negative, the choice from the restaurant menu is slightly limited although the food and service is excellent. However, part of a good holiday is exploring places to eat, and there is plenty of choice just a short drive away.
In conclusion, this was absolutely the best place I have ever stayed. I would wholeheartedly recommend it, and cannot wait to return (again and again)!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    151
    62
    36
    14
See reviews for
103
164
29
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

The prior review saying "Warning" had a misfortunated event and I am sorry you were not accommodated by the manager. All things aside, that situation was very rare and should not affect others who would like to stay at the Legacy Golf Resort. We truly had the best experience with this resort from the time we arrived to every level of service. I called ahead confirming the reservations and the 1 bedroom condo with golf view was incredible. Thanks Expedia! The Legacy Golf Resort was awsome and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2005

On January 20 I booked and paid for my April 22- 23 reservation at the Legacy – I had a paid confirmation for a one bedroom suite. Upon arriving at the Legacy we were informed that we were moved to another hotel in the area – they had given away our room and there were no rooms left. We were told that people stayed longer than expected so our room was not available. The hotel they sent us to was a business type hotel and we did not get a suite – and the room overlooked the parking lot. Not even close to the accommodations that we had booked at the Legacy. The manager at the Legacy did not care – he only kept repeating that he understood but could do nothing about it. He also told me that they had move 25 reservations that same day!!! Also, the map they gave us to find the new hotel was printed on March 2004 - so they must have a stack of these handy because they do it so often. So a word of warning – I would not suggest EVER booking here because you can not trust that reservations will be honored. We had paid for our room on January 20 for an April 22nd stay – Also, we book through Expedia who could do nothing about it either.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantley, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

We stayed at the Legacy Golf Resort for 4 nights and it was a nice experience. We found an awesome deal on the Internet. I would never pay rack rate at this hotel.

We were in a lovely studio on the 2nd floor. Note that there aren't any elevators!! The fridge did make alot of noise for a small thing, but we got used to it after a little while. We had a balcony and left the door open all night. That was nice! The bathroom is big and has 2 sinks, which made it easier to get ready in the morning. The decoration is mexican inspired. Very comfortable and spacious.

The downside was the paper-thin walls. We were often woken up by some lady caughing in the room next door, or even worst... door slamming! Just hold your door people when you get out of your room!!!!

The service at the restaurant is indeed terrible. There was a baseball game on that night, so there was alot of fighting and shouting (diamond backs vs boston). If you are looking for a quiet place, this isn't the place. The food was, thank God, great!

We didn't play the golf there as it was too expensive.

In the end, the hotel was above our expectations as we were there just for the room, not the services. Oh.. forget the Concierge, they're never there! Front desk agent are helpful, but never thanked me for my patronage or asked if I had enjoyed my stay. They could have a least said "hope to see you again". Well, I guess with the rate we found, they didn't make any money on us. :-)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

We had a great stay at the Legacy. The rooms were beautiful and had plenty of space. Housekeeping came at a few inconvenient times (4:30pm when I wanted to get ready for dinner...) but the room was kept spotless! A little trouble with a broken coffeepot that took 3 tries, 2 days and finally going down to the front desk WITH the pot and asking for a new one. The views were beautiful of the golf course and of South Mountain. We loved having the washer & dryer available--especially after horseback riding on South Mountain and in Sedona! Pool area very nice. Lots of shopping and restaurants closeby. VERY large mall (Arizona Mills) just down Baseline less than 10 minutes! Plenty of activities at the resort for adults as well as kids. We would go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

We arrived and were told our reservations were only for one night when our confirmation was for three. We had also reserved a non-smoking room but when we got to our suite a smoker had smelled it up so bad we couldn't sleep, our eyes were burning, and all the clothes in our suitcases then smelled like smoke the rest of the trip. Of course we called and asked for a new room immediately but they did not have one and we weren't even sure when we went to bed if we had one at all with the reservation mix up. The next day they did have a nice non-smoker room for us, and were told we had the original three day reservation confirmed, so we moved our stuff. However, when we returned that night to our new room our keys did not work, even though all our stuff was still inside! We went to the desk and they quickly apologized that the keys were not reset for two more nights. Some of the staff was friendly and well trained, others acted bored and bothered when you asked them questions. The restaurant breakfast was reasonably priced and adequate, one waitress was great.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2005

After having twice been to the Legacy, we would not go again. The first time several things went wrong but, we thought, perhaps next time things would go more smoothly. Wrong. The first time we were there we discovered that the food in the grill was awful. Tasteless hamburgers and bland salads. Further, the restaurant allowed people to stand their children on the tables (as an example), there was no hostess, and so one could be left waiting for a table for a long time. The pool was o.k. but music blared with grating songs. The second time we went the following items went wrong in our room: the tub wouldn't drain (they had to come back twice to fix it), the ice-maker didn't work (they"fixed" it but it still didn't work), the ironing board wouldn't stand up, the dryer was broken, one waste-basket was broken, the beds were made a 4:00 and the sheets were never tucked in so they came undone in the night. We loved their golf course and practise facilities; the staff is very friendly and the massage therapists are excellent...that's why we gave it a second chance, but there really was too much to over-look to go again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Golf Resort

Address: 6808 South 32nd St., Phoenix, AZ 85042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Resort is an oasis of green at the base of Phoenix’s scenic and well known South Mountain. Featuring spacious suites decorated in Spanish mission-style with rich wood cabinetry and earth-toned fabrics and a full kitchen or kitchenette. An on-site 18-hole championship golf course that was named a top 10 Golf Courses to play in Phoenix by Golf Digest. Also a sparkling pool and a deluxe health club, coupled with an endless variety of recreational activities amidst an inviting resort community. Make The Legacy Golf Resort your destination for a romantic getaway, family vacation, reunion or golf outing. We are ready to help you create your legacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Legacy Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Golf Hotel Phoenix
Legacy Resort Phoenix
Legacy Hotel Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.