We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfy Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2621 South 47th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034 (South Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #36 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfy Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My US Airways flight arrived late and I missed my connecting flight.
I had to spend a night at Phoenix and they gave me a room at this Hotel.
The first room, a small end-unit on the 2nd floor, was really dark and smaller than other rooms.
I asked for another room and the second one was really clean and spacious.
I liked the mini snack bar on the first floor where they serve sandwiches and drinks.
The mini-store has some necessary items but they were so expensive.
A bottle of wine cost $20, where you can buy the same one at $8-9 elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not take the end-unit on the left side of the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share feedback from your most recent trip to Phoenix. I am sorry to hear that your flight arrived late but we are glad that you were able to experience our hotel. If you would like to send me an email with your name and arrival date, I would be happy to look into the first room you received on the 2nd floor and see why this room is different from the other rooms at the hotel. (Donalei.smith@marriott.com)
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Bistro we have in the lobby. This is something new for us and Courtyards and we are getting great comments. I am going to look into the bottle of wine options we carry at the hotel. We always try and provide a good value to our guests and we may have some opportunity in this area.
Thank you again and we hope to see you on a scheduled visit to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
27
19
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Previous reviews have covered the recent renovation quite well. It's perfect, and it's near the airport, AND it's quiet. There's a great pool and hot tub area, covered lounges are available; the pool is decently sized. We arrived mid afternoon, got a great welcome; and a room with a view of the pool. Unfortunately we had a 3AM reveille for an early flight; but the front desk was completely awake and friendly when we left. High marks.

If you've got a little time to kill; this is a good spot. It's not particularly scenic; but it's central to the city and Tempe in particular. The outdoor areas are a great spot to kick back, and the bistro offers decent meals without leaving the property. And if you've got time to sleep in before your flight......10 minutes to Sky Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Blue_Water_Lovers!
Thank you so much for being a guest of ours and sharing about your recent visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, pool and Bistro and especially the team at the Courtyard. It can be a little hard to be awake and friendly at 3am, so I am happy to hear they were.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

had an early morning flight and didn't have a rental car. Hotel shuttle was quick and easy to get to and from hotel! Staff was great and hotel had snacks/food if you need a quick bite to eat. Great location next to airport!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice note about our staff and ammenities. Our goal is it ensure your trip is successful while you are with us. We hope that you chose to stay with us again when you come to Phoenix.
Thank you!
Donalei Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had one night here before the start of a tour to Mexico and a further 4 nights at the end of the tour. We arrived at the airport and phoned the hotel to ask for the courtesy coach to come and pick us up. The hotel is clean and quiet. We enjoyed the extra nights at the end of our tour. There is a sunny garden with a very nice swimming pool with sun beds and sun shades. There is a Jacuzzi too. We really appreciated this quiet time in the garden after a very hectic visit to Mexico. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would have liked a walk in shower rather than the over the bath one. But the bath was low which meant that it was easy to get in and out of. The staff were helpful, polite and always cheerful. (except for one at breakfast who was not pleasant.) We wanted to go out and eat ribs one evening and they suggested Monti's in downtown Tempe. They took us in their courtesy bus and after the meal we rang them and they came and picked us up. An excellent suggestion and very good service. The food in the hotel was OK as you would expect for a hotel used mainly for overnight stays. We went to eat at the Hilton hotel next door where there is a "proper" restaurant. We took 2 trips and were picked up from the hotel. One to see the Grand Canyon and another a tour of the city of Phoenix. All in all we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Some of the rooms over look the garden and others the hotels etc next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. I really hope you enjoyed your trip to Mexico. I am happy to hear you were pleased with the hotel, our outside living area and the staff. I will make sure I share this with my team. However I am going to further look into the server working in the morning during your stay. At no time should our team ever be unpleasant to our guests.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you return to Phoenix.
Thank you!
Donalei Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure most of us have stayed at Courtyard properties over the years. Tried and true formula and very predictable. This property pretty much fits the bill with the exception that the rooms have all been tastefully remodeled in the past month. Very nicely done with new beds, fairly high end linen, etc. The lobby was remodeled four years ago and it is pretty cool with an espresso bar and limited service restaurant/cafe, and relaxing common area. There is a reasonably good kiosk with snacks and other stuff too. Free airport shuttle, in room fridge, and the other Courtyard stuff as expected. Front desk staff was really great at check in too. All in all a great place now that rooms are newly remodeled.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of ours recently to experience the new look. I have to agree that the concept of Courtyard is very predictable no matter what state you are in. We do have all the same great amenities that our travelers need to make their stay convenient, but we have had a recent renovation. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our new beds. This was one of the items we are most excited about. We upgraded the mattresses to 12inch Sealy like you would have in your own home.
Thank you for your comments about the staff as well. I will make sure I share all of these with the team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clontarf, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff here are very nice and cheerful, no matter what the time of day. Our room had brand new carpet and bed (ongoing project mentioned in other reviews here). Room was clean, bed was comfortable, airport shuttle was on time & helpful. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello David B!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write about our hotel and team. I am happy to hear you noticed and like the upgrades and that we were able to help make your trip successful.

Our team strives to making our guests happy from start to finish and they will be happy to read they did with you.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We used tihs as a transit hotel to save some money before going downtown for a conference. Note that getting downtown is a $20-$25 taxi trip (each way) and it takes 15-45 minutes to get a taxi to show up at the hotel. If you were staying here solo without people to split the taxi ride then your savings compared to downtown would evaporate quickly unless you have your own car. There is another hotel with a different restaurant in addition to the Courtyard new style Bistro here. You could also go to Mesa for food, we didn't stay long enough to try that out. There is really nothing else around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Runs4Cache!
Thank you for taking the time to share your transportation opportunities with us. We are now providing a shuttle ride to the LightRail location (about 1mile away) that will take our guests downtown to multiple locations (Convention Center, USAirways Center, Chase field ect) and an all-day pass is just $3.50.
We hope the next time you come to Phoenix with a need to go to downtown, we can be your host hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport

Address: 2621 South 47th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#45 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary lobby at the Courtyard Phoenix Airport Hotel provides flexibility and choices for our guests. In addition, we offer a complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Guests will also enjoy renovated accommodations featuring well-lit work desks and free high-speed internet as well as an outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and 24-hour business center. Our hotel is ideally located near Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and offers easy access to downtown Phoenix and Tempe via highways 143, 202 and 10. We are also close to Chase Field, University of Phoenix, Heritage Square and Arizona State University. Our convenient location and smart amenities make us an excellent choice among Phoenix Airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Courtyard Phoenix Airport
Phoenix Marriott
Phoenix Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.