We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick shuttle ride to Sky Harbor Airport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2621 South 47th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034 (South Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quick shuttle ride to Sky Harbor Airport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

had an early morning flight and didn't have a rental car. Hotel shuttle was quick and easy to get to and from hotel! Staff was great and hotel had snacks/food if you need a quick bite to eat. Great location next to airport!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice note about our staff and ammenities. Our goal is it ensure your trip is successful while you are with us. We hope that you chose to stay with us again when you come to Phoenix.
Thank you!
Donalei Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
30
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had one night here before the start of a tour to Mexico and a further 4 nights at the end of the tour. We arrived at the airport and phoned the hotel to ask for the courtesy coach to come and pick us up. The hotel is clean and quiet. We enjoyed the extra nights at the end of our tour. There is a sunny garden with a very nice swimming pool with sun beds and sun shades. There is a Jacuzzi too. We really appreciated this quiet time in the garden after a very hectic visit to Mexico. Our room was clean and comfortable. We would have liked a walk in shower rather than the over the bath one. But the bath was low which meant that it was easy to get in and out of. The staff were helpful, polite and always cheerful. (except for one at breakfast who was not pleasant.) We wanted to go out and eat ribs one evening and they suggested Monti's in downtown Tempe. They took us in their courtesy bus and after the meal we rang them and they came and picked us up. An excellent suggestion and very good service. The food in the hotel was OK as you would expect for a hotel used mainly for overnight stays. We went to eat at the Hilton hotel next door where there is a "proper" restaurant. We took 2 trips and were picked up from the hotel. One to see the Grand Canyon and another a tour of the city of Phoenix. All in all we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Some of the rooms over look the garden and others the hotels etc next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. I really hope you enjoyed your trip to Mexico. I am happy to hear you were pleased with the hotel, our outside living area and the staff. I will make sure I share this with my team. However I am going to further look into the server working in the morning during your stay. At no time should our team ever be unpleasant to our guests.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you return to Phoenix.
Thank you!
Donalei Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm sure most of us have stayed at Courtyard properties over the years. Tried and true formula and very predictable. This property pretty much fits the bill with the exception that the rooms have all been tastefully remodeled in the past month. Very nicely done with new beds, fairly high end linen, etc. The lobby was remodeled four years ago and it is pretty cool with an espresso bar and limited service restaurant/cafe, and relaxing common area. There is a reasonably good kiosk with snacks and other stuff too. Free airport shuttle, in room fridge, and the other Courtyard stuff as expected. Front desk staff was really great at check in too. All in all a great place now that rooms are newly remodeled.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of ours recently to experience the new look. I have to agree that the concept of Courtyard is very predictable no matter what state you are in. We do have all the same great amenities that our travelers need to make their stay convenient, but we have had a recent renovation. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our new beds. This was one of the items we are most excited about. We upgraded the mattresses to 12inch Sealy like you would have in your own home.
Thank you for your comments about the staff as well. I will make sure I share all of these with the team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clontarf, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff here are very nice and cheerful, no matter what the time of day. Our room had brand new carpet and bed (ongoing project mentioned in other reviews here). Room was clean, bed was comfortable, airport shuttle was on time & helpful. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello David B!

Thank you so much for taking your time to write about our hotel and team. I am happy to hear you noticed and like the upgrades and that we were able to help make your trip successful.

Our team strives to making our guests happy from start to finish and they will be happy to read they did with you.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We used tihs as a transit hotel to save some money before going downtown for a conference. Note that getting downtown is a $20-$25 taxi trip (each way) and it takes 15-45 minutes to get a taxi to show up at the hotel. If you were staying here solo without people to split the taxi ride then your savings compared to downtown would evaporate quickly unless you have your own car. There is another hotel with a different restaurant in addition to the Courtyard new style Bistro here. You could also go to Mesa for food, we didn't stay long enough to try that out. There is really nothing else around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Runs4Cache!
Thank you for taking the time to share your transportation opportunities with us. We are now providing a shuttle ride to the LightRail location (about 1mile away) that will take our guests downtown to multiple locations (Convention Center, USAirways Center, Chase field ect) and an all-day pass is just $3.50.
We hope the next time you come to Phoenix with a need to go to downtown, we can be your host hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was the hotel my office group stayed at prior to flying out of Arizona. The lobby area was nice, but that was the beginning and the ending of the nice. Once I got to my room, I instantly got the impression that this hotel used to be a Motel 6 or Super 8 motel. The bedding was cheap....as in 50 thread count sheet cheap! The bed was horrible overall, the furniture and carpeting was simply pathetic.

I can say that the hotel was involved in some modernization process as their were workers outside my window working on carpeting.

I have stayed in some very nice Courtyard hotels.....but this definitely wasn't one of them!

Room Tip: Book at the Fairfield Inn across the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for your note. I am sorry to hear that your visit wasn’t up to standards. We do have a great lobby, but once you walk down the hallway it is a much different story. I am happy to share that you were correct with the activity going on in the parking lot. We are currently undergoing a full guest room renovation and will be done at the end of January. We are putting in new carpet, new Sealy beds (12inch like you would have at home) new beautiful linen, curtains, wallpaper and guest room furniture.
I hope your travels bring you back to Phoenix again so you can experience our new product.
Thank you again for your note and we hope to see you again
Donalei Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been here well over a week now. A little different than every other Courtyard around. I like this one a lot. The staff here is extremely pleasant and accommodating. Kara, Michelle, Scott and Jake are awesome. Sorry if I left anyone out, great team at this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXCA_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
HI Ron,

Thank you so much for your nice note! I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip and our staff took such good care of you during your visit. I am very excited to share that since you have left we have started our full guest room renovation and should be fully completed by the end of the month. I hope your travels bring you back so you can experience our new Sealy beds and the beautiful new linen.
Thank you again for your note and we hope to see you again
Donalei Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport

Address: 2621 South 47th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary lobby at the Courtyard Phoenix Airport Hotel provides flexibility and choices for our guests. In addition, we offer a complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Guests will also enjoy renovated accommodations featuring well-lit work desks and free high-speed internet as well as an outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and 24-hour business center. Our hotel is ideally located near Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and offers easy access to downtown Phoenix and Tempe via highways 143, 202 and 10. We are also close to Chase Field, University of Phoenix, Heritage Square and Arizona State University. Our convenient location and smart amenities make us an excellent choice among Phoenix Airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Courtyard Phoenix Airport
Phoenix Courtyard
Phoenix Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.