We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!!Stay away from this Budget Inn Phoenix, Mcdowell rd” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Budget Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5259 W Mcdowell Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85035   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG!!!Stay away from this Budget Inn Phoenix, Mcdowell rd”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We were in Phoenix for Barrett Jackson Car Show and booked this place online. We walked into a room where we saw cockroaches and stained bedsheets, really bad stained bedsheets I had to ask for new sheets which had holes in them. and there was no blanket so we asked for that to and it also had holes. The sheets on the bed were never washed or changed from seeing the stain. I did show the girl at the desk and she was shocked to. I had to change the sheets myself. Don't stay there, it's really really dirty. We couldn't go anywhere else because we had prepaid for it online. But Hotels.com say to call them and they will relocate you but we didn't know that till after the trip.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
9
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

This hotel is horrible. They rent rooms by the week to drug addicts and by the hour to prostitutes. The bathroom smelled of mildew and was unclean. There were no blankets and the towels were old. The "contiental breakfast" was a few old danishes and bad coffee. Nothing else. Only the lobby is somewhat nice but it closes at 7pm and does not open up again until 7am. That is either because the neighborhood is so bad or they can't get anyone to work here. Not sure, probably both. No matter the price stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Bad smell, no internet, no pool, no blankets, old towels, bad breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

We had a confirmed reservation for a 2 day stay. When we left to go to a baseball game on the first day, we came back late in the evening
to find someone else in our room, and all of our belongings in the
"lost and found". It took us over an hour to get our things back, they had the nerve to charge us for our second night in a different room, and some of our thngs were gone. The manager refused to take responsibility for his untrained employees mistake, and basically told us if we didn't like his policies, we could leave. This was during baseball spring training, when rooms in the area are hard to come by. Where were we supposed to go at that hour? Stay away from this place!!!

  • Liked — It was inexpensive for the area/season
  • Disliked — they gave our room away and lost our belongings
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

We had a great stay at this Hotel. We were driving around looking for a place to crash for a night. It was around 6-ish when we drove around the property. the outside was well lit and looked secured. We went in to ask about the rates. The lobby's decor was very good. They quoted us a rate of $60 plus tax for a Double bed and free breakfast. The manager was there and he said we wont find a better deal anywhere else so we decided to try it. Room had a cold fridge, microwave, coffee maker, I slept very well in a comfy firm bed.
In the morning we went and had breakfast. They did have a nice variety of muffins and coffees. I was very impressed with the whole pool area with spa. It was very inviting so we decided to take a dip before we have to check out. Over all the hotel staff was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. And the hotel definitely earned our future business. Excellent value for price and accommodations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and service
  • Tips/Secrets — Great price for a Good room.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

Stayed here for one night. Wouldn't do it again. This is in the first set of hotels when you get into Phoneix. They make their money off of the unspecting and weary traveler. Travel further into Phoenix. Paid 73$ but you could probably pay by the hour. I'm only giving it 2 stars because it was relatively quiet and they had vending machines.

Maybe I'm spoiled. Here's a summary of the problem with this hotel.

Second floor but no elevator.
No "Do not disturb" door hanger.
No Coffee Pot.
No Iron.
No Wireless Internet.
No extra towels or toilet paper.
No Clock Radio Alarm Clock.
No TV remote control.
The phone had a message from the previous party.
The showerhead wouldn't stay put and kept falling to its lowest position, which is hell if you're tall.
Noticed the wires hanging out of the ceiling. Found the smoke detector in the drawer.
Promised continental breakfast, but this turned out to be completely false.
Found a screw near the car in the parking lot.
No receipt, didn't count the change back.
Sign still says Happy New Year 2006 (this was in March).

Oh and I think the Ramada is missing their doormat (see picture).

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 5259 W Mcdowell Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85035
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
61 rooms, 2 floors. Budget Inn is located approximately five miles from the Cricket Pavilion and 10 miles from Cardinals football and Sky Harbor International Airport. The property's amenities include the swimming pool, whirlpool, and complimentary continental breakfast. The inn also offers laundry facilities and free parking. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel. All rooms feature wireless Internet access, complimentary local calls, clock radios, bathrooms, air-conditioning, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Phoenix
Budget Inn Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.