We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort to your Saves list
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Stay and Save 10%
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
boston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Went for 2 nights with our two girls, ages 9 and 11. The room was very comfortable (NorthPointe), we all loved the pool complex and enjoyed the brunch at the Lantana grill. Overall we were very happy with our choice to stay there.

Our only issue was the slow speed of the lazy river (it was asleep!) but this allowed us to play while going around. We all enjoyed the 'dive in movie' and the rest of the complex.

  • Liked — room and pool complex
  • Disliked — lazy river
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    730
    355
    159
    76
See reviews for
957
328
55
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed for 11 nights in July - I had pre-booked 10 nights but when we arrived a day earlier and called the hotel late at night, they were only to happy to accommodate us - although the guy checking us in looked like he had been asleep (it was after 1am).

We travel a lot and I have to say you get what you pay for - and with the room rate we got working out about £45 per night - I'd say this hotel is as good as you'll get for that rate.

The suite was well laid out, enough room for our family of 3, the minibar was reasonably priced, as was room service if you're suffering from jetlag, as we were !! We got a room in the north tower and were able to park our car right outside, no problem at any time.

Food was good, including hotdogs and nachos from the pool bar and the frozen margaritas just hit the spot!

We chose the hotel especially as it catered well for children - and it really did. Our 6 yr old went to Coyote Camp twice, from 0900 until 1300 which included lunch - it was about $40 per day which is a bargain ! She really enjoyed it, as well as floating for hours around the lazy river !! Me too !!

  • Liked — River Ranch, food and drink prices, gift shop
  • Disliked — Lack of staff !!
  • Tips/Secrets — A car is essential !!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

What a let down. Not even for $99 did I feel like I got a good deal. This property is dated and one stop short of dirty. It is huge and poorly laid out -- you will walk a lot, and it is unlikely you will park near your room. They charge you for everything and provide little: you pay for internet, local calls, a pack & play -- and of course there is no fridge or microwave or continental breakfast like a HI Express et al. The water park is OK, but unless you can say to yourself 1. this is the most important part of my stay, and 2. I don't mind if it is marginal/out of date (though, the kids loved it to be fair) -- at best, then this is the place for you. Service was wretched: booked a non-smoking, called ahead to ensure that we had one, and of course we were put in smoking. The elevator was broken for the whole stay. The soda machine ate our money. It was a comedy of errors. The Marriott Desert Ridge is the place. If saving $ is your game, I would stay at a bare-bones HI Express before I would be back here....

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

Having just returned from the Hilton Squaw Peak, I must say that this hotel has major problems. Nowehere on the website does it indicaqte that the property is undergoing major renovations, but it is. We traveled with 4 other families. Two of the rooms had air conditioner problems, requiring a move. The moves took at least an hour to accomplish, and, one move required the guests to move their own luggage, as the bellman refused to move the bags, after being asked not to drag the ladies' dress on the ground. We were told that the bell station moves about 40 rooms a day due to the construction, and problems with the rooms. Half the hotel is closed, for construction, leaving only two ice machines an entire wing. This meant that there was hardly any ice ever available. The elevator broke during our stay. Since there was only one elevator in the south wing, if you wanted to get to and from your room, you had to walk.

The pool is very nice, and the kids enjoyed it. The south pool was closed, and we did not get to the north pool. A fire, or what was described as an event, in lanatanna caused the only restaurant to be the hole in the wall.

Overall, the service in the hotel is poor. The river ranch is great, but, the hotel itself does not seem to be Hilton quality. More like Comfort Inn quality.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

This place was fun. I loved the lazy river. Great place to relax. The casita was showing signs of getting older though. I loved the bathroom vanity though with double sinks. We had a balcony on our casita to sit outside at night. The drinks at the pool were excellent. It was crowded the weekend we stayed so lines were long at the bar. The kids loved the "movie in the water". Hotel staff were excellent as well. I would stay again during summer months only because the water was the reason we were there!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at this resort for for three days in July. We live in the Phoenix area and took advantage of the reasonable summer rates. Our family of four stayed in a Cassita. This is a two story townhouse suite. There was plenty of room for everyone. The suites come with one or two bedrooms upstairs and an upstairs bathroom. Downstairs,there is a pull out couch , kitchen with a sink, fridge and microwave. The hotel will supply a cot if additional bedding is needed. This resort also has motel room suites. Our two boys, ages 11 and 13 really enjoyed themselves here. There was plenty to do at the western themed pool area
such as tubing on the lazy river, basketball at the sport pool or
miniature golfing. Ask for the value pack to save money on the miniature golfing and fitness club .There was also a Saturday night movie at the pool area for the younger kiddies. They might want to set up a PG-13 movie at the sport pool area. This is an older resort that is kept up pretty well. The pool area needs some kind of pebbletec path to avoid burning your feet and there wasn't a safe in our suite. This can be a big problem when the whole family goes out to the pool. The resort is very close to the Camelback area where there are additional places to dine. Fashion Square mall is down the street as well. We had a great time!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

Let me first say I am not a particularly hard to please person. But I join Tripadvisor just to write a review about my familys recent stay here. Started out w/ our room (and many others) not being ready on time, and their check-in time is 4PM. After having to wait twice in a long line regaridng the status of our room we finally got our keys at 5:15pm. They front desk personnel were rude and offer no apology for the wait. If you have little kids, imagine just having to wait around for over an hour. Also, their parking situation is horrible. We had to park off property to get a spot. The lazy river is dirty and overall the pool area is overrated. The food is average at best and way overpriced. I am a local in the Phoenix area, and we will never stay at the Pointe Squaw Peak again... there are much nicer resorts in town at similar prices in the summer. I say pass and go somewhere like the Biltmore or Westin Keirland.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#31 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#41 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#41 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.