We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful conference site with exceptional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Save Saved
You added Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Rates from $109!
Ranked #60 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful conference site with exceptional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was at the Pointe Hilton for 6 days for a conference. The site was beautiful. Everywhere I went resort staff were exceptionally friendly, and obviously well trained in customer service. The casita I stayed in was well appointed and had a huge porch that I used every day to soak up sun and relax. I would recommend this to others, especially as a lovely conference setting that you could bring your family to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Lolagirl92,
Thank you for your considerate review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. They truly do strive to provide our guests a positive experience, and will do what it takes to make it happen. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    632
    324
    142
    71
See reviews for
869
284
49
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here in August with my girlfriend for two nights, and we decided to stop here after finishing our road trip through the Southwest to relax and unwind before heading back to Los Angeles. Needless to say, we were very disappointed with our experience at this hotel.

The largest problem with this hotel is that it is extremely, extremely big. In the Phoenix summer, this can be a huge problem, as walking from certain rooms to the pool area can take over ten minutes. Also, when arriving, it is very hard to figure out where you need to go to check in. We arrived around 8:30 PM, and the first building we walked had a lobby that was completely devoid of ANY workers whatsoever. Confused, we scoured around until we finally found a map that explained where check-in was. Check-in went well, and we were given a room in the North Pointe building.

I have to give credit where credit is due - the rooms are absolutely enormous for the price. For 120$, we got a huge suite with two 40" televisions, balcony, and large bathroom, over 800 square feet of space. Air conditioning worked great, and housecleaning cleaned the room very well.

Now, the worst of our experience occurred on Saturday when we headed over the giant pool area to swim. Not only did the walk take 10 minutes, but it was extremely hot this day (over 115 degrees), and the entire pool area became a searing hot tub. Every single one of the pools was at least 90 degrees, and the lazy river must have exceeded 95. We went into the lazy river, and got out after one circle and felt like we were about to pass out. The entire pool area has one, maybe two places to get drinks, so whenever we needed to get cold water (the water fountains were all hot), we had to walk across the entire pool area to get a cup of water at a time. The main pool was just as awful, and we left the pool area after an hour. The pool in the middle of our building was actually quite comfortable, but it was too little too late. I would imagine that the main pool area would be build to handle heat, but it clearly is not. What an absolute disappointment.

Overall, the hotel is not a bad place, but it is clearly too big for its own good (very few workers visible throughout the grounds), and the pool area is just not built to be comfortable in the summer heat. Possibly it is a much better place in the fall or spring, but I would NOT recommend traveling here in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello dfotinich,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and I am happy to know you enjoyed your suite accommodations. However, I am naturally disappointed that your time with us was not more positive. I hope that we will have another opportunity to create a more pleasant experience for you.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort is a friendly and comfortable venue located about 5 miles north of downtown. Its layout is a little confusing, with a number of two story "Casitas" (bungalows) scattered on the property in addition to the main buildings which are more conventional hotel-like rooms. We found navigating around the property was a little confusing at first, but we eventually found our way around.
Our party of 4 was in town for a convention meeting downtown and had no trouble commuting via rental car each day. Downtown Phoenix is a sterile wasteland and we were glad we decided to stay where we did. The rooms were all spacious and clean, and the staff helpful and friendly. There are a number of nice resort features including several pools and a 4 acre water park, making it a great place to stay with the family if you are in town on business.
Rico's, the on-site restaurant, was a disappointment and I'd advise walking to one of the local places nearby. Aunt Chiladas, a tex-mex place across the street, was especially good.

Room Tip: The casitas are worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Hodmeister,
Thank you for sharing your views with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us, but disappointed to read that your experience at Rico's was not to your satisfaction. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Positive: I got a suite for the price of a single room.

Negative: Layout is more like a motel; everything is spread out, and signage is spotty. The only full restaurant is across the parking lot from the hotel, with its entrance seemingly deliberately obscured. Room service doesn't start until 7 AM, and they can't get food to you until 50 minutes after that, making it useless if you have a morning meeting. Also, no room service for lunch or after hours.

Room: Clock time is incorrect, with no way to set it. In tub, hot and cold water are reversed. The in-room coffee is terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello BillSJ,
Thank you for your honest feedback and concerns regarding your recent stay at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. I value your comments, and am greatly disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to speak with you while you were with us to ensure we made every effort to make your experience more positive. Please feel free to contact us to further discuss your experience. It is my hope we will have another opportunity to create a more enjoyable visit.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel in mid October. We were upgraded to a 2 story villa. Very nice accomodation- bedroom upstairs with 2 queen beds,a bathroom, and large outdoor deck. Downstairs a living room with a sofabed, kitchen and bathroom. The villa was very clean and everything in working order. The property is large - we were very close to the waterpark, but also had a private pool for the villas. The waterark was entertaining for the kids- 12 and 10. They enjoyed the slide, lazy river and sports pool- none were crowded. We played a round of mini golf which was fun- nothing spectacular though. We ate at the restaurant at the waterpark- service was fine and the food good. The hotel is not located near many reataurants or stores so a car is helpful. We are HiltonHonors members so were given breakfast vouchers which can be used at a sit down restaurant or the Starbucks in the hotel lobby. We used them at Starbuck which worked out great. Overall the property is beautiful with great pools and outdoor areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Cindy M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with fellow travellers. Your feedback and loyalty to Hilton is greatly appreciated. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed the resort and its facilities. I hope you will consider returning to the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort in the future.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are so glad we chose this hotel and are already planning a trip back in the future. We stayed for 4 days, and had the best time. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel itself was gorgeous! In one area you felt like you were in a palm tree jungle where it had a huge fountain in the middle of the hotel out back with a pool, bar, 2 hot tubs and many soft cushy lounge chairs. very peaceful. On another part of the property was the water park. This is where we spent most of our time with the gift shoppe, restaruants and of course the big pool with water slide and lazy river. If you get water logged, you can always play there 18 hole putt putt (free) or play tennis. The room was so pretty too with your own balcony. We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We got an upgrade when we arrived, but even if we hadn't, it would still be great.
Good clean rooms, brilliant pools. Nice food.
Wouldn't necessary say its a water park as has only one slide, but, the lazy river was great.
Only downside is its a little isolated, but enough facilities on site so not to worry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeriAgostaGM, General Manager at Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello Caroline F,
Thank you choosing to stay at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Teri Agosta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort

Address: 7677 North 16th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#38 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#39 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#60 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the slopes of the Phoenix North Mountains with a Spanish-Mediterranean design, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort offers one of the most unique Southwestern experiences in the country. Located on 27 acres, the property is bordered by 3,000 acres of scenic Sonoran desert in the adjacent mountain preserve and features 563 all-suite accommodations, including nearly 80 large casitas. The Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, known for its family-friendly experience, offers several outdoor activities and features the River Ranch with four acres of shimmering pools, cascading waterfalls, tennis and basketball courts and the Coyote Camp, the resort's lively kids' center. Additional highlights include unique dining experiences at Rico's American Grill and Hole-in-the-Wall, and luxurious services at its fitness centre and Tocasierra Spa and Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Squaw Peak Resort
Phoenix Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.