We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to celebrate anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Third Night FREE!
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked online through the special summer rate, and were immediately enchanted with the landscaping, antiques, friendliness, and elegant yet home-style feel of this place. We would highly recommend the summer special to anyone looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    130
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
106
476
46
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

After receiving a special rate notice from Travel Ticker that offered this hotel at $90+ a night I was a little skeptical since this is more than 60% discounted so I consulted with my "travel friends" at Tripadvisor. Much to my surprise, this hotel was rated #1 in Phoenix by reviewers. And boy were they not wrong! This is a beautiful property located within luscious gardens of palms, flowers and gorgeous foilage! Unfortunately, we were not able to see flowers as it was 116 degrees. All trails lead to "casita" style accomodations. The property gives the feel of a luxury old fashioned mediterranean home (mansion) instead of a commercial type hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the excellent valet staff who took our luggage and escorted us to the front desk. The front desk staff was very very attentive to our every need. Check in was smooth and we were greeted with a "happy anniversary" - we were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. In addition, the hotel presented us with a gift platter of cheese and fruit for the occasion sent to our room.

LOCATION: Location is great - it is actually a few blocks from The Phoenician and very close to Scottsdale. Malls, Restaurants, Nightlife and other entertainment.

ROOM: We were assigned Casita #112 - no two casitas are alike so this review is based only on this casita. Although I booked this as a "designer" casita (at a higher than the "special $90" rate), after entering it mostly resembled a "southwestern" style casita. I didn't confirm this with the front desk as it was lovely anyway. The decor was of mediterranean and spanish style. Very comfy and well appointed bed (king) and two nice chairs with a table. A soft chair with ottoman was provided facing the TV and a mini-bar. The casita has a door leading to its own private courtyard in the back that is furnished with two chairs and a table surrounded by a small flower and plant garden. Very private. The room also has double french doors with plantation shutters leading to a front courtyard also furnished with patio furniture. In-room internet ethernet, two two-line telephones, LCD TV, clock radio with nice smoothing spa music cds, candles and matches, in-room coffee and tea are provided. Also provided is an iron, ironing table, shoe shining kit (although the hotel provides complimentary daily shoe shine) and daily paper. Minibar items are for purchase. Turn down service nightly. On our first night, we had a Rose Petal Heart placed on the bed upon turn down (this was ordered in advance).

The bathroom is very large with a very very large shower. My only concern is the bathroom has no a/c vent - only a small window and a skylight that at 116 degree temperature this becomes intolerable to be in there. An exhaust is provided but does not do the job of removing the extreme heat. Blow dryer, lighted mirror , many towels, slippers, robe and shower amenities is provided. The shower gels, soaps and shampoos are all orange blossom oil based - wonderful! Bought a bottle of lotion at the spa to take home (@$22USD).

DINING: Dined on Jul 19 at T.Cook's - the hotel restaurant - a fantastic experience. Very quiet and romantic atmosphere. Inside or outside patio choices - with the heat we chose inside. Our server, John, was excellent - tended to our every need. The food and dessert were of first class. We were a party of four each having, Ribs, Poulet Chicken, and Fish and lobster. Highly recommend the restaurant - reservations prior to hotel arrival is suggested.

SPA: We had a couple's massage which was excellent. The spa facility is very beautiful. We did not use the pool as it was very hot during the day but found the poolside area as lovely as the rest of the property.

PROBLEM: We did encounter problems with the housekeeping department. Our room was never cleaned unless we called and then we still waited for them to appear. We would leave our room around 10am and return on average about 3 to 3:30pm where we would find our room in the same condition it was left in. On the third evening we informed the front desk of this problem and experienced some difficulty with the front desk staff - Ms. Jennifer. She appeared not to know how to handle this complaint. When we requested to speak to the manager, she informed us that the manager was -conveniently for her - not available and a message would be relayed. We never heard from the manager that evening. The following morning upon check out we informed the front desk staff who immediately referred us to the front manager, Ms. Beth Friddle who quickly apologized for the lack of service of housekeeping and the behavior of Ms. Jennifer. Ms. Friddle is a professional at her job. This is the only problem we encountered at this establishment.

OVERALL: For a wonderful romantic experience, I highly recommend this hotel with its majestic views, surroundings and fantastic staff! We certainly will be returning in the near future. Keep in mind that the hotel charges a $25 daily resort fee that includes valet parking. Cars are garage kept. I have posted some pictures for your viewing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Stayed for 9 days in July. I thought long and hard about where to stay, having been to Phoenix before and stayed in both The Four Seasons and The Phoencian, the Four Seasons being the better by a mile. So I was slightly apprehensive about my choice, but I can honestly say it was outstanding, espeically the service. Our room which we got upgraded to was a Montavista Spa Suite, really large with stunning views of The Camelback Mountain. It had a large bathroom in the middle of a living room and bedroom unusual but it worked. It was all finished to an excellent standard. As I read in other reviews the pool was small, it was, although at this time of year you do get away with it, I wouldn't want it to be to busy as I think it would struggle, the service however at the pool was the best I've experienced anywhere including Dubai luxury resorts. The hotel is also in a great location for both Scottsdale and Phoenix, which really is just one big place.
There's not much to choose between the Royal Palms or the Four Seasons but I would go for the Palms as the location is much more central. The only other place that rivals these resorts is Sanctuary on Camelback it is lovely but maybe a little to modern for my taste.The other resorts are just too large to be personal enough for me, as nice as they are. If you have booked the Royal Palms your in for a treat and im sure you will love the attention to detail where everybody goes the extra mile for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Didn't know what to expect and was very pleased when we got there. Friendly, attentive staff. Great room with a balcony overlooking beautiful fountains. All facilities good. Pool area was perfect with Rick and Jose constantly on hand with supplies of ice cold water (thanks guys). Restaurant (T.Cooks) I felt was overated. It had some great reviews but the food was plain and repetetive. (Keep your menu simple guys and in plain English please). Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Royal Palms Resort & Spa was amazing! Its styled as a Spanish Casita and used to be the vacation home of a married couple in the 1930's. The history of the property is uniquely detailed as wall art. The service was exceptional. Housekeeping was meticulous and precise. For turndown service, our robes were laid at the edge of the bed, lights were dimmed and soft, instrumental Spanish played as we enter the room. The resort charges a $25/day "resort fee", which covers valet and bellman fees/tips.

The room was a nice size....king size bed, Jacuzzi, walk-in shower and separate toilet area. The pool area was tucked right in the center of the property with wait staff ready to take your order or provide you with nicely chilled water with lemon. The property also featured a fitness center with room key entry….three treadmills, two elliptical machines and dumbbells with a weight bench. We didn't get a chance to experience the spa treatments, as this wasn't the purpose of our trip. The price list indicated higher prices Fri-Sun.

The resort also features a fabulous restaurant called T. Cooks (named after the original owners). T. Cooks' service was enchanting and the food soared above all expectations. The "cherry on top" was the chef's dessert special.....caramel cheesecake crème brulee with guava puree. It was fantastic!

The resort was about 15 minutes away from Phoenix Int'l Airport and close to grocery stores and other restaurants. The Grand Canyon is about 3.5hrs away. The resort offers day trips for about $150/person...the trips leave the resort at about 6:30am, returns about 8:30pm and includes several stops at various sightseeing points along the way. We rented a car and decided to drive up ourselves...the views were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary and looking for a special place to stay for the week. We traveled to Phoenix from out of state not knowing what to expect, but hoping all of the rave reviews we read on Trip Advisor ahead of time were true. The property is breathtaking and the rooms are beautifully appointed! It is a wonderful and romantic place to spend a special occasion. There are fountains, fabulous flower gardens, and wonderful places to sit and enjoy the serenity of the place. On our first evening, we were surprised with a fabulous dessert assortment that was delivered to our room, in honor of our Anniversary compliments of the Staff! It was a wonderful and delicious surprise!
We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff from the moment we arrived until we reluctantly left this morning for the airport. The Valet Staff took such good care of us, explaining where things were on the property, giving directions and advise on places to visit, as well as handing us cold bottles of water each time we left the property. The Pool Staff is over the top - serving bottomless glasses of ice water and making sure we were comfortable anytime we were at the pool! A special thanks to Jose for his great customer service and friendly smiles! We have never been treated as wonderfully anywhere (and we travel often). Everyone went over and above to make our stay very special. We are already planning our next trip to Royal Palms Resort! If you are looking for a very special place to spend your vacation, where you will feel pampered and taken care of - Royal Palms Resort is for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

When we arrived, it was kind of odd that we couldn't just get the key and head to the room ourselves. We had to way for the bellman to come and take us to our room. When we got to our room it was a nice surprise we really enjoyed the look and feel of the room. As the night went on we decided to head out to the pool, but the pool was a little small for our taste, but the service at the pool was excellent.

We got back to our room to shower and get dressed for dinner, when we heard a noise, that made the room shutter, didn't think anything of it, but it felt like a mini earthquake. When we got back from dinner the noise happened again, and for about every hour for the rest of night. Couldn't sleep and barely got any rest that night.

The next night we had gone to the bar to get some hot tea when I told the bartender about the night before, he said he would hook us up with another room, that would be better than the one we were staying in. But when we got to our new room it wasn't better at all. It was a smaller and had a hotel room feel to it, where as the other room was a casita.

I am not saying the hotel is bad, we just happen to have that kind of experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.