We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harvel, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than I expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got home today and couldn't wait to write a review of the Royal Palms! This is, hands down, the most enjoyable, relaxing and beautiful place you will ever visit. I am usually cautious of overly "glowing" reviews and have been burned a couple of times by exaggerated reviews. Honestly, this resort couldn't have been better. The staff were helpful but not clingy - they helped when you needed it and disappeared when you wanted time alone. The Phoenix-Scottsdale area wasn't much from a tourist perspective, but, you should visit and just spend your time at the Royal Palms - you can't go wrong. We plan on making this an annual trip - just to enjoy their establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback and are thrilled you couldn't wait to share everything with the world. Royal Palms strives to consistently provide top-tier and memorable service, comfort and experiences to all of our guests and are always happy to hear such great comments. We can't wait to welcome you back again very, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    142
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
113
493
46
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Charming old world hotel, unique for Arizona, relaxing and charming. Very romantic, great for special occasions. We have stayed here 5 different times over a 10 year period. T. Cookes restaurant has great atmosphere. Location in Phoenix /Scottsdale is great, many nice restaurants in the area(car ride).
Our favorite hotel in Arizona

Room Tip: Villas and Casitas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your continued support over these many years, including your most recent stay with us - and, in our Presidential Villa! We love to roll out the red carpet for all of our guests - new and loyal - and are happy to learn you once again you enjoyed your experience. We cannot wait for your next visit to Royal Palms, and look forward to delivering those distinctive, memorable experiences that you've come to expect from us all these years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We flew in to Phoenix and stayed one night here before heading to the Grand Canyon. It was everything we expected after reading on here.
Pros: excellent location fairly close to airport and very close to Scottsdale. The rooms are very nice and the beds comfy. My family enjoyed the pool and we ate an excellent lunch poolside. It's a smaller boutique hotel, so don't expect the hustle and bustle of a larger hotel. Quiet and romantic. The service was impeccable.
Cons: can't think of any.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We love that you chose to stay with us on your recent voyage to the Grand Canyon! We know travelers have countless wonderful options when looking for memorable accommodations in the area and are always appreciative when Royal Palms is chosen. We will absolutely relay your comments to our team - they will once again be thrilled to learn we made such an impact, this time on your big Arizona adventure! Next time you're in the area, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Palms - and this time, maybe even for a bit longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Royal Palms is our local intimate boutique hotel getaway for a quick night or two away. The highly personalized service and uniquely designed rooms are a part of the charm of this old world Phoenix style.

Our recent stay in a designer casita was a great early summer escape from the heat of AZ. The staff was attentive. Pool staff, food, and drinks were outstanding. We love the attention to detail at Royal Palms. The grounds are immaculate. The rooms are impeccable down to the last detail. The service prompt and professional. The Spa was quiet and staff was very attentive. Love having access to spa amenities even on the days when spa services are not purchased.

We'll continue our annual visits to Royal Palms and the one-of-a-kind gem it represents to the Valley of the Sun.

Room Tip: Get one of the designer casitas. They are all uniquely designed and reflect a flavor and style of th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly and conscious of the impact on environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate the support - and kind words. We love that you continue to choose Royal Palms as your top staycation destination when you need to getaway and recharge - and yes, escape the warm Phoenix summers! We all cannot wait to welcome you back again, whether next summer or any other season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary on this last minute trip on a whim. The best whim ever! We stayed in a King Estate Room (Montevista).

This resort was a private hacienda/mansion in the 1920s.. Historical and gorgeous.

Service, service, and more service. EVERY staff member (front desk, valets, housekeeping, etc.) greets every guests any time they pass by.

Location perfect. Down the street from Scottsdale's Fashion Square, or can visit downtown Phoenix easily.

Rooms-the most comfortable beds, plenty of room, layout great, and colors/design/fabrics make a rich character-filled space. Five star.

The restaurant food and service for breakfast, dinners, and poolside was definitely 5 star. Two specifics: 1) An anniversary dinner we'd reserved was made extra special by the manager/hostess (?) who ON HER OWN bought rose petals to sprinkle all over our table before we arrived. (Who does that?!) 2) In response to our general questions about the area, our breakfast waiter shared an interesting history about the area, quickly came up with a couple of day itinerary options (off the top of his head), and then to find out about mesquite pod use (I know it sounds strange, but we'd experienced an amazing mixed drink at Kai restaurant with mesquite seeds in it), he brought over the head manager who came with printed computer pages of information and then added to it with his own knowledge. Are you kidding. (No.)

I could go on and on, but instead I will say this..we will be back for our next romantic getaway. This became an instant favorite. Can't wait to try the spa..ran out of time.

PS
Probably not a place for kids as there is one pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Happy Anniversary, once again! Royal Palms clearly "loves" romance and all of us here strive to provide those unparalleled, timeless memories guests will come to remember always. We are always excited to hear how people continue to choose Royal Palms for their romantic getaways, and your great feedback is another wonderful moment shared. Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful comments - hopefully we will see you again on your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I cannot think of a better word than exquisite! The attention to detail is what really impressed me, coupled with an absolutely beautiful garden, driveway, buildings, room, etc! I cannot find one single fault with this place, other than there are not similar hotels elsewhere!

The staff were extremely helpful and polite, there was free valet parking, I could go on all day. The pool area was beautiful, the bath in the room was huge, beds comfortable, food in the cafe was lovely. But what impressed me the most was the beautiful art works scattered around. Everywhere you looked was another really special nook.

We absolutely loved this place, and while we have no reason to go back to Phoenix, we would go back just to stay here. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with all of us at Royal Palms and love that you chose to share the feedback with the world! Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff, and we absolutely look forward to welcoming you back next time your on this side of the Pacific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimbres, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The casitas are very comfortable, the staff is over the top! They were accommodating in every way, beautiful, smallish resort and not over-run with kids. We ate a couple of meals in the restaurant and were not disappointed in the least.

Room Tip: Get a casita!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, and thank you for your continued support over the years - we are always happy to learn that guests continue to choose Royal Palms. Next time you're back in Arizona, we look forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.