We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staycation for our 5th Wedding Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 174 hotels in Phoenix
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Staycation for our 5th Wedding Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just a very nice, quaint and charming property with beautiful grounds! We stayed one night and had the best spa services we have experienced in some time. If anyone has the chance they need to do the citrus ritual and add an additional massage at the end. Absolutely awesome treatment! As mentioned the rooms are very very nice and the staff was welcoming and their service was pretty much as great as great can get. I would totally recommend this property to all of my family and friends and even though we live in Phoenix we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you Brian! We are thrilled to learn that you not only enjoyed your stay with us, but also chose Royal Palms as part of your anniversary celebration! We appreciate the time taken to leave us the great note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    670
    112
    39
    18
    7
See reviews for
98
441
43
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I totally agree with all the recent reviews of this old world, charming property. When you arrive, you are "home" and surrounded by calmness and light. Perfect for couples or just a few friends looking for the ultimate in pampering and attention. The staff is almost invisible, but always there to help and make your stay entirely what you want it to be. The rooms and amenities are luxurious and yet quaint. You can feel yourself let go of stress the second you step out of your cab or car. So many little "secret" gardens and nooks and crannies where you can read, or text privately. This hotel is on my top five list of chillax. I will be returning to this oasis many times and bringing my companions.

Room Tip: Go with your budget...there isn't an "economy" room in the entire complex, just bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are always happy to hear such things - and appreciate you taking a quick moment to share your thoughts with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Royal Palms sometime again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradbury, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got our room on Expedia and it was a discount and maybe that is why they stuck us way in the back with a terrible view out of the bedroom only of some bushes and a wall. It was like a dark hole with noisy people above us. There are beautiful rooms in this hotel, I could see them, the grounds are gorgeous. We just didn't get one of them. I called the front desk and asked to be moved and was told they had nothing any better. There was only one sink for both of us. a very uncomfortable couch and a little TV in sitting room, Also the pool is very small and was crowded and cold. I recommend that you eat at T Cooke's and take a walk around the property and enjoy the grounds but don't stay here unless you want to spend a lot of money,,Like $600 a nite

Room Tip: bring a lot of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
555 reviews 555 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I live part time in Phoenix so I've never spent more than a weekend here, but I can vouch for the rooms, the spa, the restaurant and the grounds as being as nice as any intimate resort I've ever stayed at. The restaurant is open to the public so there is often a crowd for special occasions but even then it is worth any wait you might encounter. A little hard to find, it hides in plain sight on Camelback Road at the foot of it's namesake mountain. It's worth the trouble if gracious living is on your mind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate the kind note. We are happy you chose Royal Palms for your local romantic getaway and hope to see you again for your next staycation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Second time staying here. This small (119 room) resort nested against the Cambelback Mtn range is steeped in ambiance. Quiet romantic, accommodating and luxurious the staff couldn't be more responsive. The spa is exquisite and well attended with separate areas for hot tub steam and sunning in privacy. The food is acceptable but the wine list is lacking in variety or excitement. Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc is $50 which is 4x the store. A great place to get away for a few days. Golf is right down the road at the Phoenician if that's your thing.

Room Tip: If you want a tub make sure you ask for one. We had a handicapped room so no tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you! We love that you chose Royal Palms for your special girls getaway and happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to see you and all of your friends again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have traveled the world and this place is on top of my list. My daughter and I stayed here a couple of weeks and it was fabulous. The staff is incredible, the food at Cooks Restaurant is fabulous our suite was incredible. It was my daughters birthday and they surprised her with a wonderful treat of chocolate strawberries, champagne and a lovely desert with Happy Birthday written in Chocolate. I can't say enough about this Fabulous Resort!

Room Tip: Corner suite was large, sunny and had a beautiful vies of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, we appreciate the very kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. The room was beautiful and they had turned down the room with music, rose petals, champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. And in the morning breakfast in bed. Everything was so great and they did a great job at welcoming us to celebrate there. We would love to stay there again longer to experience more of the resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Green Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.