We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the kids at home. Very romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018 (Camelback East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Leave the kids at home. Very romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been celebrating our anniversaries and our relationship at the Royal Palms for years. We typically book summer time as the rates are a bit lower. The service is impeccable and starts from the moment you arrive when the bellman welcomes you and takes your car. They charge a resort charge that covers tips and I like that as they encourage you not to tip every time you get your car from valet service which is mandatory. I like it because they cool your car and have it waiting when you call from the room. I love the original old fashion feeling of a small family estate and how it would have been years ago yet with modern amenities and service. The last time we stayed I opted for the rose peddle turn down service and it was a hit. While we were at dinner they put candles and roses on the bed and nightstand with chilled champagne. The restaurant T Cooks is awesome for dinner but we have also had awesome breakfast and lunch choices and they always have a special wine selection. The resort has many options to chose from when it comes to rooms ranging from high end houses where President Bush stayed many times to regular hotel type rooms. We always go for the Alvadora Spa Terrace Suite as it is larger and has a wonderful free standing claw foot tub along with a wonderful steam shower. Check on their website for their rooms and decide before you come as they all offer something a little different. The Alvadora Spa is amazing and I have had several treatments but highly recommend the couples massages and the mud wraps. We have stayed at JW Marriott a couple times also but this is a totally different level and more for couples in my mind than kids. Lazy river and large pools are at the JW for a reason and I like this place for the opposite reasons. At The Royal Palms there is one smaller sized pool and hot tub more like you would find at a person's house. Remember this was originally a family residence and has a long history. It is romantic slow paced relaxation for adults. Yes kids are welcomed but personally I would not take them. If you want high end service and an awesome selection of rooms and that old time luxury feeling then this is the place. Treat yourself and your relationship. Happy Travels.

Room Tip: Check on their website and sign up for their specials. I like spa suites and not the casitas as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Todd! We love to hear stories like this and appreciate you making the effort to relay your thoughts about your trip. We can only say how thrilled we are to read this and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    144
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
115
499
46
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews, we were expecting more. Upon arrival on Saturday night, we thought the grounds and reception area were beautiful and quaint. Unfortunately, as we checked in we were told that our reservation for 2 double beds could not be honored, and they blamed it o. The fact that we booked thru Expedia. The room type was viewed as a request. Offered my daughter a roll away for the week, which actually may have been a more comfortable option than the saggy double beds (actually full size) that they eventually gave us after we persisted. We had a view of the parking lot and no balcony. I have never slept in a more uncomfortable bed.
Service continued to be an issue as requests were ignored. For instance, we reserved a table for Easter brunch 2 weeks before arrival. We asked for an outdoor table, yet were shown to an indoor table when seated. The hostess was argumentative when we asked to be reseated. We seemed to be viewed as a bother instead of as guests.
The food is excellent, but pricy. Service was slow.
We have stayed at other 4 and 5 star resorts and Royal Palms is just not up to that level of service.
We would recommend the JW Marriott Desert Ridge for this price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate the honest feedback. We are very, very sorry your experience did not match your expectations throughout your stay with us. We strive to provide exceeding, memorable experiences for all guests and take feelings to the contrary very seriously. We know there is always room to improve and we share all reviews with our entire team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Royal Palms again in the near future, allowing us to change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is something very special about this hotel. Everyone from the attentive and friendly and efficient valets, to Mona and Lonnie and Jenna in the front office, to Matt and Christine at the pool.
All of these people made us feel like the only people in the resort., for so many of us, the last few years have been difficult and stressful and no vacation was more longed for than this one, my expectations were sky high and I could have been let down at any turn- food, service, room,. But there was not one moment when the tranquility of the property itself wasn't equalled by the people who make it run. Thank you sincerely for creating this serene feeling and carrying it through every detail. We have already marked our calendars to return next spring break. I feel like I will be returning to friends,

Room Tip: We loved our room by the pool with a balcony. All rooms are a bit dark but so little time is spent i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin L, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the not too distant future! We will absolutely share this with our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I came here for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. We had seen the excellent reviews and thought it was the place for us.
First of all the grounds and landscaping are beautiful. Better than the pictures even. Service has been exceptional. We were surrounded by smiling helpful staff. The room we stayed in was in the Designer Casitas. It has a small, secluded back patio and a front porch area where we chose to enjoy our 'in room' breakfast every morning looking out at the beautiful foliage.
We were here while the orange trees were blossoming and the air was filled with their fragrance. There are several areas on the grounds that would be a beautiful venue for a wedding.
The pool area is somewhat small and they allow locals to purchase memberships so sometimes it can be a challenge to get a good chair. However, the pool staff is exceptional and very willing to accommodate. When someone leaves, they are quick to change the chair towels for another guest. They constantly come around and serve ice water to keep guests hydrated. Also the poolside bar & grill has excellent food.
The restaurant, T. Cooks is on site and and we enjoyed very good meals dining inside and out, both in beautiful settings.
The spa on site is small but is nice. We enjoyed a couples massage on the first day and was excellent.
It's not a cheap place to stay, but for special occasions, it proved to be a memorable treat and, value for service, money well spent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

One of the best hotels/resorts we've stayed in, would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. It's a very relaxed scene, the property is beautifully designed/decorated/landscaped, full of attractive nooks and crannies, and the level of service is remarkable, from reception and concierge to the valet parking staff. We stayed in an Estate Suite, which is not one of their best rooms but it was comfortable and suited us well as we were traveling with our 16 year-old (and it was actually quite a bargain compared to what we would have paid for 2 rooms elsewhere). I was a little worried that it would be too quiet for our teenager but she complained the loudest when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

So when i got to the prectegious royal palms i was greeted by a door man who was chewing on gun and also on his cell phone ... great right . So i got in and it was beautiful and all but once again the service was terrible. Did not enjoy m small room i did like the pool though it was tranquil.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sescobedo, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the exemplary service throughout the property, your meal in T.Cook's, our quiet rooms and lush landscaping. The casitas offer a beautiful gas fireplace for our guests to enjoy in the winter months and do require ventilation in these particular guestrooms. We will look into your comments regarding the lighting and heating system. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my second stay at the Royal Palms, and recently stayed for 4 nights. The only disappointing part of the stay was that we originally had a suite, and the pull out sofa was quite uncomfortable (more-so than most). However, they quickly gave us another room w/ two beds, which was a much better option for us.

The grounds of the place are beautiful, and very well maintained. The pool is nice, and the scene there is pretty low-key.

I really thought the service, from check-in, to the valets, to the pool staff, and bartenders, was excellent. They are all helpful, both in their jobs, and in giving any local recommendations you might ask for.

I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I would avoid the suites if someone is required to sleep on the pull out sofa. If not, it is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg V, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Welcome back! We understand you have many wonderful options when making travel plans and are thrilled to know you chose us - thank you so much for the kind words and loyalty. We appreciate you taking the time to share. We all hope to continue seeing you, again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#8 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.